You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-24 09:25:16

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Chromium print function not working

Hello,

I try to figure out why my print function in Chromium is not working. When I use CTRL-p to print, Chromium crashes and becomes unresponsive.

However, there is nothing relevant in the shell output:

[orschiro@thinkpad ~]$ chromium
[20014:20034:0224/102037:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(624)] Failed to get name owner. Got org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NameHasNoOwner: Could not get owner of name 'org.chromium.Mtpd': no such name
[20014:20034:0224/102037:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(624)] Failed to get name owner. Got org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NameHasNoOwner: Could not get owner of name 'org.chromium.Mtpd': no such name
[20014:20014:0224/102037:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(529)] Failed to call method: org.chromium.Mtpd.EnumerateStorages: object_path= /org/chromium/Mtpd: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.chromium.Mtpd was not provided by any .service files
[20014:20014:0224/102037:ERROR:omnibox_view_gtk.cc(431)] Not implemented reached in virtual void OmniboxViewGtk::ApplyCaretVisibility()
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Did anyone have the same problem?

Offline

#2 2013-02-24 11:21:51

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

Make sure the CUPS daemon is running; it's a known bug.

Offline

#3 2013-02-24 11:38:22

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: Chromium print function not working

I can confirm above.

I know it's not an answer to your question, but firefox is unaffected.


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#4 2013-02-25 08:14:08

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

Thanks guys.

So, Firefox does not rely on CUPS to print PDFs?

Offline

#5 2013-02-25 12:49:31

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: Chromium print function not working

orschiro wrote:

Thanks guys.

So, Firefox does not rely on CUPS to print PDFs?

No idea, I do not own a printer, therefore no CUPS.

The only reason I use the print function is for "print to file" of cinema tickets purchased online.

As detailed above, if I try to do this in chrome it causes application freeze, but no problem at all with firefox.

(as explained previously, I have obviously not offered this as a "solution", merely a temporary alternative)

Last edited by flipper T (2013-02-25 12:50:43)


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#6 2013-02-25 12:53:48

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

I know. I was just interested to know how or what Firefox uses to implement the "Print to file" feature. Apparently not CUPS as Chromium does.

Offline

#7 2013-02-25 16:02:35

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: Chromium print function not working

I have just re-read my last post & realized that it sounds very ,very defensive.

I was only trying to clarify & no offense meant.

smile


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#8 2013-02-25 16:25:59

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

No worries. I did not regard it as an offence. wink

Last edited by orschiro (2013-02-25 16:26:21)

Offline

#9 2013-02-25 22:07:35

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

I filed a bug report in the Chromium tracker: https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu … ?id=178235

I am curious to know what the developers say on this CUPS dependency.

Offline

#10 2013-02-26 04:33:34

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

There are already bug reports about this issue upstream.

GTK+ bug report: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=686838
Chromium issue: http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issue … ?id=160574

Firefox handles printing through GTK+ as well, but calls gtk_enumerate_printers() in a separate thread (or something to that effect) and, therefore, doesn't freeze.

Offline

#11 2013-02-26 06:28:18

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

Thank you. That makes it clear. So it can indeed be considered a bug in Chromium.

Hopefully it will be fixed.

Regards

Offline

#12 2013-02-26 07:07:24

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: Chromium print function not working

orschiro wrote:

So it can indeed be considered a bug in Chromium.

I wouldn't consider it a Chromium bug; the actual bug is in GTK+.

Firefox is just fortunate enough not to be affected by it in any significant way.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB