You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-03 00:04:03

b4bblefish
Member
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 5

[Solved] Change shell in script and keep child processes in new shell?

Hi all,

I have been trying to replicate the following in a script:

# optirun bash
# wine steam

I have tried using

 optirun bash -c "command" 

but apparently wine spawns programs as a child process and then terminates which exits the bash shell with optirun on it.  Is there a way to keep the child processes inside the same shell too?

Thanks!

Last edited by b4bblefish (2013-03-04 00:50:45)

Offline

#2 2013-03-03 08:59:32

Procyon
Member
Registered: 2008-05-07
Posts: 1,819

Re: [Solved] Change shell in script and keep child processes in new shell?

Aren't they still optirun'd?

Online

#3 2013-03-03 20:03:58

b4bblefish
Member
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Change shell in script and keep child processes in new shell?

Don't think so.  I have tried the nvidia fix for it, but it doesn't work, but that might be because i'm using the bumblebee-nvidia package

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bu … display_:8

https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bu … leshooting

Last edited by b4bblefish (2013-03-03 20:19:08)

Offline

#4 2013-03-04 00:11:42

Procyon
Member
Registered: 2008-05-07
Posts: 1,819

Re: [Solved] Change shell in script and keep child processes in new shell?

Try something like

optirun bash -c 'wine steam; while pgrep wine; do sleep 5; done'

Online

#5 2013-03-04 00:50:33

b4bblefish
Member
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Change shell in script and keep child processes in new shell?

Awesome that works!  Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB