You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-01 18:33:19

ali_archi
Member
From: Sunny Sheffield
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 8

Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

Hi:

So, I've followed all the steps of the installation guide, and I have issue with GRUB.
Essentially, when I 'unmount and reboot', after I picked the standard kernel, I get an error message telling me that the partition can't be found because such UUID (not typing it all) doesn't exist, and then it cycles back to the choice screen.

So, I pressed 'e' for edit, and I noticed that the config file points to the wrong partition, as the UUID pointed is a different one than any that is listed in /etc/fstab.

1) am surprised GRUB just invented a partitiion out thin air.
I rechecked my partition, and everything looks to be in order, with the correct boot flag on /boot and all matches to /etc/fstab

2) How do I get out of this ?
Is it just a matter of replacing the offending UUID with the correct one ?

Any ideas to save me all that typing is obviously welcome

Cheers,
Ali

Last edited by ali_archi (2013-03-31 22:30:20)


_________________________________________________________________
"The journey is the reward"
SJ

Offline

#2 2013-03-01 19:07:11

s1ln7m4s7r
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 262

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

Normally, it is.

Offline

#3 2013-03-01 19:11:03

s1ln7m4s7r
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 262

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

you can use your root partition name insted of uuid:

root=/dev/sdxx

Examples:

/boot/grub/menu.lst
default=0
timeout=5

title  Arch Linux Stock Kernel
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 ro
initrd /initramfs-linux.img

title  Arch Linux Stock Kernel Fallback
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 ro
initrd /initramfs-linux-fallback.img

or

/boot/grub/grub.cfg
set default='0'; if [ x"$default" = xsaved ]; then load_env; set default="$saved_entry"; fi
set timeout=5

menuentry 'Arch Linux Stock Kernel' {
  set root='(hd0,1)'; set legacy_hdbias='0'
  legacy_kernel   '/vmlinuz-linux' '/vmlinuz-linux' 'root=/dev/sda2' 'ro'
  legacy_initrd '/initramfs-linux.img' '/initramfs-linux.img'
  
}

menuentry 'Arch Linux Stock Kernel Fallback' {
  set root='(hd0,1)'; set legacy_hdbias='0'
  legacy_kernel   '/vmlinuz-linux' '/vmlinuz-linux' 'root=/dev/sda2' 'ro'
  legacy_initrd '/initramfs-linux-fallback.img' '/initramfs-linux-fallback.img'
}

Last edited by s1ln7m4s7r (2013-03-01 19:12:32)

Offline

#4 2013-03-01 19:21:59

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,385
Website

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

s1ln7m4s7r wrote:

you can use your root partition name insted of uuid

This will likely introduce more headaches...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2013-03-01 20:58:47

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

Try following the Beginners' Guide rather than the official installation guide.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2013-03-01 21:24:59

s1ln7m4s7r
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 262

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

jasonwryan wrote:
s1ln7m4s7r wrote:

you can use your root partition name insted of uuid

This will likely introduce more headaches...

I tought he wanted a faster way for booting into the system whithout having to write the UUID. Then, once in the system he can copy-paste the uuid. This wasn't meant to be permanent.

Offline

#7 2013-03-03 19:10:13

ali_archi
Member
From: Sunny Sheffield
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 8

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

OK, ran the whole installation from scratch again, and dug even deeper into the documentation, and sorted it.
I can boot now. I've lost all network, but at least, I can boot and log in as root.
Getting there.


_________________________________________________________________
"The journey is the reward"
SJ

Offline

#8 2013-03-03 19:14:29

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,442

Re: Installing: GRUB issue [SOLVED]

ali_archi wrote:

I've lost all network, but at least, I can boot and log in as root.
Getting there.

Check the output of ip link.  It is likely the network names have changed.  If this continues to be a problem, I suggest you mark this thread as solved and spawn a new thread.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB