You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-05 16:32:54

sutro_droid
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 7

Arch does not show up in Grub when dual booting with windows 8

I just installed Arch linux, dual booting with windows 8 using the beginners guide[https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners'_Guide] itself. Now Grub is installed and i can only find Windows 8 and I cannot find Arch. Is there a way I can find if arch linux has been installed and show up in Grub.
Sorry, I am a newbie, but i chose to post this topic here and not newbie corner as it is installation related.
My windows 8 is installed on /dev/sda1 with ntfs partition type. Arch Linux is installed on /dev/sda6 and it is ext4 partition. I dont know if this info helps.  I am using Thinkpad R61

Last edited by sutro_droid (2013-03-06 00:30:48)

Offline

#2 2013-03-05 18:11:39

sutro_droid
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 7

Re: Arch does not show up in Grub when dual booting with windows 8

the WindowsArchDualBoot[https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … _Dual_Boot] page says, in old motherboards the /boot partition should be in the first 8.5gb before Windows partition. I have not done it that way. This could be the problem.

Last edited by sutro_droid (2013-03-05 18:12:25)

Offline

#3 2013-03-09 01:28:04

ivokosir
Member
Registered: 2013-03-08
Posts: 15

Re: Arch does not show up in Grub when dual booting with windows 8

It may be that you didn't install os-prober before running grub-mkconfig. This happened to me once, I hope I'm not too late to warn you.

Offline

#4 2013-03-16 19:34:09

sutro_droid
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 7

Re: Arch does not show up in Grub when dual booting with windows 8

ivokosir wrote:

It may be that you didn't install os-prober before running grub-mkconfig. This happened to me once, I hope I'm not too late to warn you.

I am sorry, yes you are too late. I have wiped windows 8 and performed clean install. No regrets. And as a matter of fact, I did grub-config and then installed os-prober. That could be the problem. Thanks. I will try this again another time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB