You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-06 15:53:25

Kooothor
Member
From: Paname
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 222
Website

awesome + pcmanfm :: can't open pcmanfm if it's the only client

Hello,

If you are running awesome WM + pcmanfm, can you repeat this ? :

- go to a fresh tag with no clients
- open pcmanfm with your keyboard shortcut
Does it fail ? Me it fails.

BUT

- go to a tag with already open clients
- open pcmanfm with your keyboard shortcut
It should work.

Also, it works fine from command line or the Run prompt (with or without other clients).
I launch pcmanfm with "dbus-launch pcmanfm".

Maybe it's something in my rc.lua, but maybe it's a bug of pcmanfm, so please help me troubleshoot smile

Thanks,
~ktr

Offline

#2 2013-03-06 23:23:39

jimmydafletch
Member
Registered: 2013-03-01
Posts: 2

Re: awesome + pcmanfm :: can't open pcmanfm if it's the only client

I have no trouble opening pcmanfm in awesome.   I launch it from the awesome menu like this

myawesomemenu = { 
  { "pcmanfm", "pcmanfm"} 
  } 

I tested "dbus-launch pcmanfm" and did not have any trouble

Last edited by jimmydafletch (2013-03-06 23:33:19)

Offline

#3 2013-03-07 03:56:00

tdy
Member
From: Sacremende
Registered: 2008-12-14
Posts: 438

Re: awesome + pcmanfm :: can't open pcmanfm if it's the only client

Check stderr to see the errors being thrown when the launch fails. Use `ls -l /proc/$(pidof awesome)/fd/2' if you don't know where your stderr is being sent.

Offline

#4 2013-03-07 11:18:53

Kooothor
Member
From: Paname
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 222
Website

Re: awesome + pcmanfm :: can't open pcmanfm if it's the only client

jimmydafletch wrote:

I have no trouble opening pcmanfm in awesome.

But did you try the things I suggested ? (with or without another open client)

tdy wrote:

Check stderr to see the errors being thrown when the launch fails. Use `ls -l /proc/$(pidof awesome)/fd/2' if you don't know where your stderr is being sent.

Thank you, unfortunately it goes to /dev/tty1 and I need to killall X to see it. (which I did) -> there is no errors.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB