You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-06 22:04:39

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 716

Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

I have a machine which has the wired interface as enp0s25 and is working by enabling and starting dhcpcd@enp0s25, which works fine and I have no problems with the network. However the KDE Network Monitor widget shows the interface but does not show any download or upload and the graph remains flat at the bottom of the plot window.

Systemctl status shows the interface:
[root@pavilion ~]# systemctl status dhcpcd@enp0s25
dhcpcd@enp0s25.service - dhcpcd on enp0s25
          Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dhcpcd@.service; enabled)
          Active: active (running) since Tue 2013-03-05 17:53:08 GMT; 1 day 4h ago
        Main PID: 358 (dhcpcd)
          CGroup: name=systemd:/system/dhcpcd@.service/enp0s25
                  └─358 /usr/sbin/dhcpcd -q -w enp0s25

Mar 06 09:53:08 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: leased 10.0.0.66 for 28800 seconds
Mar 06 13:53:08 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: renewing lease of 10.0.0.66
Mar 06 13:53:08 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: acknowledged 10.0.0.66 from 10.0.0.1
Mar 06 13:53:08 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: leased 10.0.0.66 for 28800 seconds
Mar 06 17:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: renewing lease of 10.0.0.66
Mar 06 17:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: acknowledged 10.0.0.66 from 10.0.0.1
Mar 06 17:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: leased 10.0.0.66 for 28800 seconds
Mar 06 21:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: renewing lease of 10.0.0.66
Mar 06 21:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: acknowledged 10.0.0.66 from 10.0.0.1
Mar 06 21:53:14 pavilion dhcpcd[358]: enp0s25: leased 10.0.0.66 for 28800 seconds

I don't see any errors for the network monitor - yet other machines with KDE have the network monitor widget working fine when running the network via networkmanager.  So the question is whether the KDE network monitor widget "should" also work when running dhcp the way I do it on this machine?

If necessary I can of course get the network up using networkmanager but it would be nice in this case not to need it, and just start the dhcpcd service as I describe above.

Thanks.


Mike C

Offline

#2 2013-03-07 08:06:49

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,185

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

Try lowering the priority of NetworkManager in the solid kcm ('kcmshell4 solid'), move 'fake net' to the top.

Offline

#3 2013-03-07 19:48:37

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 716

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

I have tried to look up info about kcmshell4 solid but could not find anything useful.

I have only found the following files:
[root@home1 ~]# find / -name *kcmshell4*
/usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kcmshell4.so
/usr/bin/kcmshell4

So I don't know how to do what you are suggesting. Could you give me a pointer on which files to change to change the priority you are suggesting?

Thanks.

Edited: OK  -  I found it - in KDE system settings -> Information Sources!  That was not immediately obvious but I put fake net at the top of the list and relogged in - but it made no difference.

Last edited by mcloaked (2013-03-07 21:33:21)


Mike C

Offline

#4 2013-03-07 21:32:44

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 716

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

Maybe it is easier to switch to NetworkManager instead though it would be nice to have a solution to the original problem.

Last edited by mcloaked (2013-03-07 21:35:29)


Mike C

Offline

#5 2013-06-25 22:19:29

jimmm
Member
Registered: 2013-06-25
Posts: 1

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

I have the exact same problem, both my network interfaces (wired enp0s25, wireless wlp12s0) don't show any traffic (up/dl) in the kde system monitor. I use network manager (with the NM plasmoid) and the solid's priority are:
- fake net
- fake networkmanager 0.9
- networkmanager 0.9
- wicd

Any hint on how solve this?

Offline

#6 2013-06-25 23:18:32

saultdon
Member
From: Treaty 08
Registered: 2013-06-25
Posts: 31

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

Can't find the link right now, but this could be a bug in KDE - apparently, it can't get those stats from devices that use the new naming system, enp0s17, etc.
It can only work if your devices use the old naming convention of eth0, eth1, wlan0, wlan1.

You can see this problem on some of the plasmoids like the Bubblemonitor where no traffic is seen as well.

I'm new to Arch so when I installed and went through the "beginners guide" and also the "installation guide" I didn't notice how to manually setup these network names instead of them being assigned a default "new name".

To get around this, I started using conky with a very basic configuration to get the network up/down speed and totals otherwise I would of just setup my network devices with the old names like eth and wlan. But I don't know how to set up network using my own custom names instead of them being auto-assigned.

Last edited by saultdon (2013-06-25 23:20:09)


"We don't inherit the land from our ancestors - we borrow it from our children."

Offline

#7 2013-06-25 23:21:52

saultdon
Member
From: Treaty 08
Registered: 2013-06-25
Posts: 31

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

mcloaked wrote:

I don't see any errors for the network monitor - yet other machines with KDE have the network monitor widget working fine when running the network via networkmanager.  So the question is whether the KDE network monitor widget "should" also work when running dhcp the way I do it on this machine?

What are the device names on the machines where the traffic monitor in NM is working?
Are they using the old names like eth0 and wlan0 instead of the new style names?


"We don't inherit the land from our ancestors - we borrow it from our children."

Offline

#8 2013-06-27 12:41:14

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 716

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

saultdon wrote:
mcloaked wrote:

I don't see any errors for the network monitor - yet other machines with KDE have the network monitor widget working fine when running the network via networkmanager.  So the question is whether the KDE network monitor widget "should" also work when running dhcp the way I do it on this machine?

What are the device names on the machines where the traffic monitor in NM is working?
Are they using the old names like eth0 and wlan0 instead of the new style names?

Since the original post in March I have moved to 6 machines all with arch linux and all running KDE - none of these machines have the original problem and the original machine on which the problem occurred with the specific named interface is no longer in active service. All my machines use the new network naming convention and none have a problem - however none use the name enp0s25 either.

On the machine that I am writing this post the ethernet interface is eno1 and the Network monitor shows traffic graph and numbers just fine.  However it seems that the original problem may still be there according to recent posts from other users.  For people who still have this issue it would certainly be nice to get a resolution.

Last edited by mcloaked (2013-06-27 12:42:40)


Mike C

Offline

#9 2013-06-30 22:48:04

saultdon
Member
From: Treaty 08
Registered: 2013-06-25
Posts: 31

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

mcloaked wrote:

[For people who still have this issue it would certainly be nice to get a resolution.

I'd be one of 'em.

I'll check the KDE forums to see if there is something misconfigured on my archbox.


"We don't inherit the land from our ancestors - we borrow it from our children."

Offline

#10 2013-07-09 18:58:03

maerowinger
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 3

Re: Network Monitor Widget in KDE 4 doesn't see activity

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB