You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-18 20:10:19

unlimitedbacon
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 17

Mounting existing directory as a ramdisk

I get bored in class.

For most people, this means browsing facebook, but I couldn't care less about that. Since my laptop has minimal graphics abilities, I've reverted to playing games in Dosbox. Problem: Nobody cared about power consumption in that era and those games tend to keep the hard drive spun up. This burns up my battery.

Eventually I'll get an SSD, but in the mean time I realized that the whole DOS C: drive is so small I could just mount it in a ramdisk. But then I would have to mount the ramdisk in some other directory, copy everything over, edit dosbox.conf, and then copy it back when I'm done.

So wouldn't it be cool if you could just remount an existing directory as a ramdisk, and have all its original contents automatically coppied to ram and then coppied back to the hard drive when you unmount it? Wouldn't that also be handy for your firefox profile, and other stuff that expects things to be in a specific directory? Anyone know an easy way to do this?

Offline

#2 2013-03-18 20:16:19

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,454
Website

Offline

#3 2013-03-18 20:16:30

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,619

Re: Mounting existing directory as a ramdisk

See profile-sync-daemon and anything-sync-daemon by graysky.

Edit: @graysky: If you had waited 10 seconds, you could have avoided the shameless self-promotion... tongue

Last edited by alphaniner (2013-03-18 20:17:59)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#4 2013-03-18 20:51:20

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,454
Website

Re: Mounting existing directory as a ramdisk

tongue


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2013-03-18 22:41:37

unlimitedbacon
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 17

Re: Mounting existing directory as a ramdisk

Excellent. That does the trick.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB