You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-25 19:58:44

davidgnin
Member
Registered: 2013-03-25
Posts: 2

Error booting the sytstem just installed

Hi, I'm newby in ArchLinux and just yesterday I downloaded and installed the most recent version of it. To achieve that, I followed the official installation guide, but when I had to reboot the system and boot the just installed system the following error appears after GRUB selection screen (I didn't wrote my UUID but I verified with blkid that it is correct):

ata1: prereset failed (errno=-19)
ata1: reset failed, giving up
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
ERROR: devie ´UUID=<uuid>´ not found. Skipping fsck
ERROR: Unable to find root device ´UUID=<uuid>´.
You are being dropped to a recover shell
         Type 'exit' to try and continue booting
sh: can't access tty=job control turned off
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
ata2: reset failed, giving up

I suspect that I forgot something, probably related with GRUB. These are all the commands I executed in the installation process.

loadkeys es
fdisk /dev/sda ( I just created a root / partition)
mkfs -t ext4 /dev/sda1
mnt -t ext4 /dev/sda1 /mnt
wifi-menu (to connect to my wifi)
pacstrap /mnt base base-devel
genfstab -p /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab
arch-chroot /mnt
[I created the file /etc/hostname and I wrote my hostname inside]
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/Madrid /etc/localtime
[I configured locales without problem]
mkinitcpio -p linux (I didn't modified the file /etc/mkinitcpio.conf)
pacman -S grub-bios
modprobe dm-mod
grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
passwd
exit
umount /mnt
shutdown -r now

Also, in my fstab only appears this line (with other comented lines, of course)

/dev/sda1           /         ext4         rw,relatime,data=ordered      0 1

Thank you for your help and attention.

Last edited by davidgnin (2013-03-26 09:00:38)

Offline

#2 2013-03-25 22:35:44

s1ln7m4s7r
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 262

Re: Error booting the sytstem just installed

What is this?

mnt -t ext4 /dev/sda1 /mnt

Don't you mean?

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt

It also seems that you are having some king of hard drive issues, you may have your hard drive configured in bios to IDE mode, i advise you to change it to AHCI if you haven't yet. Also it can be a cable issue.

ata1: prereset failed (errno=-19)
ata1: reset failed, giving up
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
ata2: SRST failed (errno=-16)
...

About not being able to boot, you must check your grub.cfg to see if the uuid in the file corresponds to the one in fstab. At least it seems to only have "´UUID=<uuid>" written instead of the real uuid.

ERROR: devie ´UUID=<uuid>´ not found. Skipping fsck
ERROR: Unable to find root device ´UUID=<uuid>´.

Last edited by s1ln7m4s7r (2013-03-25 22:52:03)

Offline

#3 2013-03-26 03:00:02

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Error booting the sytstem just installed

mount -t ext4...

would also be fine but "mnt..." would not.

If you used the Official Installation Guide, don't. Use the Beginners' Guide instead.

Last edited by cfr (2013-03-26 03:00:40)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2013-03-26 10:00:04

davidgnin
Member
Registered: 2013-03-25
Posts: 2

Re: Error booting the sytstem just installed

I meant "mount -t ext4 /dev/sda1 /mnt". I transcribe it wrong but I executed it correctly. Also, I wrote "<uuid>" because yesterday I was a little busy and I didn't copy the real UUID (I thank it wasn't relevant). But in the error appears the real UUID, I checked it with the command blkid and is the same that appears (commented) in the fstab.

It also seems that you are having some king of hard drive issues, you may have your hard drive configured in bios to IDE mode, i advise you to change it to AHCI if you haven't yet. Also it can be a cable issue.

In fact my hard drive is SATA, so this observation makes a lot of sense. I would check it this afternoon. Thank you.

By the way, sorry for appending the spanish version of a paragraph, I was translating it and I forgot to remove it tongue And sorry if my english isn't perfect, I hope at least it be understandable.

Thank you for your attention and help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB