You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-26 12:32:57

parazyd
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 259
Website

[SOLVED] Can't run anything in X

Hi.
Just installed a fresh Arch in Virtualbox and everything worked perfectly. Installed X and DWM + dmenu. The problem is... I can't seem to start any application while I'm in X. No Firefox, Thunar, nothing. Not even urxvt.

The last I did was installation of fontconfig-ubuntu, freetype2-ubuntu and cairo-ubuntu from AUR.

Can you help me?

Last edited by parazyd (2013-03-26 15:35:33)

Offline

#2 2013-03-26 12:36:42

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,235
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't run anything in X

What error messages do you get?  Did you install those programs?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2013-03-26 12:42:28

parazyd
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 259
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't run anything in X

Those are the last three I installed.

I don't get any errors.

Alt + P for dmenu, type in the command, but nothing opens...

Offline

#4 2013-03-26 12:45:11

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,235
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't run anything in X

The errors would come out with the output from X, which may be on tty1 depending on how you launch it.

To troubleshoot, I'd put a "urxvt &" before "exec dwm" in your xinitrc.  Then when dwm starts, you'll have a terminal, and you can try to run programs and see output clearly.

Also, dmenu clearly words.  Do you have other launchers in your dwm config.h that you've tried?

Last edited by Trilby (2013-03-26 12:46:22)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2013-03-26 12:46:44

parazyd
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 259
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't run anything in X

I'll be sure to try that later. I'm at work now...
Thanks.

EDIT: Seems like those three packages ruined everything. I reverted back with

pacman -S --asdeps freetype2 cairo fontconfig

Seems like everything's okay now.

Last edited by parazyd (2013-03-26 14:46:50)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB