You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-31 06:15:15

eshizhan
Member
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 21

virtualbox problem

Host: Win7, vbox 4.6.2, 3d accelerator
Guest: arch, linux 3.6.10-1, virtualbox-guest-utils 4.6.2-1, virtualbox-guest-modules 4.6.2-3

My X doesn't running.

$ grep 'EE' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[     4.720] (EE) Failed to load module "modesetting" (module does not exist, 0)
[     4.720] (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
[     4.796] (EE) AIGLX error: vboxvideo does not export required DRI extension

Is OK after I remove virtualbox-guest-utils and virtualbox-guest-modules.
Is bug?

Last edited by eshizhan (2012-12-31 06:45:07)

Offline

#2 2012-12-31 09:22:26

zrianc
Member
Registered: 2012-12-29
Posts: 15

Re: virtualbox problem

This is probably related to this bug: https://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do … k_id=33229

Offline

#3 2012-12-31 09:40:22

eshizhan
Member
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 21

Re: virtualbox problem

Is OK after I remove vboxvideo.
maybe vboxvideo modules problem.

Offline

#4 2013-01-02 18:12:44

mbone
Member
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 9

Re: virtualbox problem

FWIW:
virtualbox-guest-modules-4.2.4-2 and virtualbox-guest-utils-4.2.4-2 don't work with glibc-2.17 either.  Ignoring gcc, gcc-libs, glibc, binutils, and valgrind, works.  (Thankfully I had taken a recent snapshot)

Offline

#5 2013-01-06 10:11:12

sugarvenom
Member
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 6

Re: virtualbox problem

I also have this bug. How do you remove the vboxvideo module? Just remove it from virtualbox.conf in modules-load.d?

EDIT: I can confirm that yes, the above is the way to stop the vboxvideo module.

Also is there a way to downgrade to the previous glibc?

Last edited by sugarvenom (2013-01-06 11:06:04)

Offline

#6 2013-01-06 12:36:30

eshizhan
Member
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 21

Re: virtualbox problem

yeah, downgrade could be solved this problem. removing vboxvideo module just lost 3d accelerator, I think it's easy way ;-)

Offline

#7 2013-01-08 16:52:04

Antoine
Member
From: Picton Ontario
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 90

Re: virtualbox problem

eshizhan wrote:

yeah, downgrade could be solved this problem. removing vboxvideo module just lost 3d accelerator, I think it's easy way ;-)

In the end, you're right, and not just because it's easy. "Ignoring" glibc et al is not the best solution -- the latest upgrades to systemd, for instance, rely on the latest upgrades to glibc.

I guess we just have to wait until someone figures out what broke in Virtual Box. In the meantime, I've removed the vboxvideo module, and it seems to be working, through a reboot; I haven't tried relaunching the host application yet. (EDIT for spelling and punctuation).

Last edited by Antoine (2013-01-08 16:53:06)

Offline

#8 2013-02-13 09:40:23

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 780
Website

Re: virtualbox problem

I have the same problem: The guest's X server didn't work until I removed vboxvideo from the modules autoload file......
Now the screen does not resize and the performance sucks... hmm
No solution for this still?

Offline

#9 2013-02-13 17:21:22

mbone
Member
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 9

Re: virtualbox problem

You can track the bug here: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/33229
I installed Pierre Schmitz's xorg-server patched build and it works with the new version of everything.  Hopefully the patch makes it upstream soon.

Offline

#10 2013-03-27 10:18:26

wojtek
Member
Registered: 2011-04-23
Posts: 8

Re: virtualbox problem

Can someone confirm that latest upgrades to virtualbox and/or xorg-server resolve the issue? mentioned ticket FS#33229 stopped at Pierre's patched version link...

ok, went ahead with the upgrade and it works ok smile shouldn't mentioned bug be closed tho?

Last edited by wojtek (2013-03-27 10:53:26)

Offline

#11 2013-03-27 19:15:34

s1ln7m4s7r
Member
Registered: 2013-02-22
Posts: 262

Re: virtualbox problem

I had the same issue with virtualbox some time ago. Now i have latest virtualbox and all is working OK!!!

EDIT: Ok i just saw that you already had solved it...SORRY

Last edited by s1ln7m4s7r (2013-03-27 19:16:43)

Offline

#12 2013-03-27 19:26:27

wojtek
Member
Registered: 2011-04-23
Posts: 8

Re: virtualbox problem

No problem - so we have 2 confirmation that it's working smile

Offline

#13 2013-03-27 19:57:15

parazyd
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 259
Website

Re: virtualbox problem

Everything works absolutely fine for me too in vbox.

Offline

#14 2013-03-28 13:13:00

pawelmhm
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 2

Re: virtualbox problem

Hey guys,

new ArchLinux User from Poland/U.K here.

I've just installed the system on VirtualBox 4.2.10 for Windows 7 host, it works fine in most respect, but I am unable to set the correct resolution of my display. My host's resolution is 1366x768 but I cannot set Arch for anything other then 1024x768.

I'm posting it here, because it is apparently related to the thread, namely problems with vboxvideo and general issues with virtualbox.

In my other LInux distro (Ubuntu) on VirtualBox the screen resolution was correctly set only after I have added Vbox additions, so building upon this experience I've tried to install VirtualBox additions. I've run into multiple trouble when doing this. I've read a separate thread on the forum about problems with installing VirtualBox additions.  After a while I've solved my trouble and apparently installed additions.

It didn't solve my resolution problems tough. Additions were installed (after some strange adventures), but I was unable to load my Xfce desktop. I had to revert back to vesa as my default driver for my monitor and device in xorg in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf. I still cannot set correct resolution.

Now, concerning the patch by Pierre, from ticket 3329 : when I try to install it it tells me:

pacman -U xorg-server-1.13.2-1.1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
loading packages...
warning: downgrading package xorg-server (1.14.0-2 => 1.13.2-1.1)
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
:: xorg-server and xf86-input-evdev are in conflict. Remove xf86-input-evdev? [y/N] y
:: xorg-server and xf86-video-intel are in conflict. Remove xf86-video-intel? [y/N] y
:: xorg-server and xf86-video-vesa are in conflict. Remove xf86-video-vesa? [y/N] y
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: xorg-server: requires xf86-input-evdev

As far as I can understand  this exchange of messages the patch is for older versions of Xorg whereas I have the most recent (I've installed the system yesterday), so in my case the patch won't be of much help. I am also worried that the patch tries to remove xf86-input-evdev.

For the record: I have configured Xorg as required. I am currently using  vesa as a driver of my monitor in Xorg conf (when I set vboxvideo as a driver there xorg doesn't work and I always see an error relating to vboxvideo in var/log/Xorg.0.log).

Hope this will contribute to solving this issue. If anyone else has a similar problems with resolution let me know. Maybe the answer is simple and I'm missing something obvious, if that is the case let me know, I'm a LInux user for about three days now so I may run into silly trouble sometimes.

cheers!

Offline

#15 2013-03-28 15:02:44

parazyd
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 259
Website

Re: virtualbox problem

You don't need any additional drivers except vboxvideo. The Wiki has an excellent guide on VirtualBox.
Also, you can create a 10-monitor.conf and try to set your resolution.

Offline

#16 2013-03-28 17:44:07

pawelmhm
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 2

Re: virtualbox problem

Hey parazyd!

Thanks for answer.

I have created 10-monitor.conf and set my resolution there. No effect.

I have also set my driver in 10-monitor.conf as vboxvideo, but when I load Xorg (command startx) I get an error "Failed to load module vboxvideo" (module does not exist, 0). I followed wiki article that you refer to and added vboxguest, vboxsf, vboxvideo in /etc/modules-load.d/virtualbox.conf I've also manually loaded modules with modprobe. No effect. I can only use vesa as a driver for monitor (and have lower resolution and 16 bits instead of 32) but there seems to be some kind of conflict between xorg and vboxvideo.

Do you have newest Vritualbox on Windows 7 and vboxvideo works completely fine for you (in other words vboxvideo is your driver and you enjoy the default maximum resolution of your monitor)?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB