You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-05 00:07:03

cdown
Member
From: London, England
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 46
Website

[SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

When running pacman -Qkk after the upgrade to 4.1.0, I am now getting "no mtree file" for all packages on my system. These errors did not occur prior to the upgrade, and I upgraded no other packages. Does this indicate breakage? How should I fix this?

Last edited by cdown (2013-04-05 02:05:35)

Offline

#2 2013-04-05 00:09:37

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

The only way to fix this is to rebuild all packages using makepkg from pacman-4.1....

Offline

#3 2013-04-05 00:13:49

cdown
Member
From: London, England
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 46
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

Allan wrote:

The only way to fix this is to rebuild all packages using makepkg from pacman-4.1....

So this is not breakage that I can fix on my end, then?

I looked at the libalpm source for information about mtrees, it looks like they are used to provide package integrity validation, but it's possible I'm wrong since I only read a small part of the code on mtrees. I'd appreciate information about what they are and what issues lacking them could cause.

Offline

#4 2013-04-05 00:21:41

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,095
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

Issues resulting from lack of mtree files include:

1) errors when running pacman -Qkk

Offline

#5 2013-04-05 00:24:04

cdown
Member
From: London, England
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 46
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

falconindy wrote:

Issues resulting from lack of mtree files include:

1) errors when running pacman -Qkk

So they serve no other practical purpose in daily use? Am I right in reading from the libalpm source that they only provide integrity validation?

Offline

#6 2013-04-05 00:39:15

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

Yes - it is a new feature of pacman-4.1 which requires a file in the package that is added but makepkg in pacman-4.1.

Offline

#7 2013-04-05 02:05:07

cdown
Member
From: London, England
Registered: 2013-02-09
Posts: 46
Website

Re: [SOLVED] -Qkk shows "no mtree file" for all packages

Allan wrote:

Yes - it is a new feature of pacman-4.1 which requires a file in the package that is added but makepkg in pacman-4.1.

Great, thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB