You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-29 11:07:16

r4ptor
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 28

Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Hey guys,

i recently installed Arch on my MacBook, to move away from OS X.

Overall, my impression of Arch is very positiv, so I'm planning to go Linux all the way. My current installation of arch is on the HDD, OS X is installed on the SDD and Data also is stored on the HDD.

HDD:

 Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1      409639      204819+  ee  GPT
/dev/sda2   *      409640   599406431   299498396   af  HFS / HFS+
/dev/sda3       599406592   972838911   186716160   83  Linux
/dev/sda4       972838912   976773119     1967104   82  Linux swap / Solaris

SDD:

  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1      409639      204819+  ee  GPT
/dev/sdb2   *      409640   498848615   249219488   af  HFS / HFS+
/dev/sdb3       498848616   500118151      634768   ab  Darwin boot

Of course I want to use the SDD as system drive when I remove OS X, use the HDD for data(pics, music etc.) and for the logs.


So my question: Would it be possible to simply move my Arch installation to the fresh formated and partitioned SDD(and update Grub and so on), or would this completly mess things up, so a clean new install would be the better choice?

Thanks smile

Offline

#2 2013-03-29 11:12:21

dontbugme
Banned
Registered: 2011-11-04
Posts: 166
Website

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

It should work with some minor editing. I did exactly that when I installed my samsung 840 pro into my Asus UX32VD. If the partitions are exactly the same (offsets etc.), you could just dd them over to the new ssd, edit the fstab entries, reinstall grub and off you go (if I didn't miss anything). In the case they aren't matching I suggest you to use rsync to move the data to each new partition (you need to conserve all permissions etc.). The rest, like editing the fstab entries etc. is the same.

Offline

#3 2013-03-29 12:14:46

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Here's how you can transfer (or "back up") your system to another drive or partition:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fu … with_rsync


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#4 2013-03-29 12:41:44

r4ptor
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 28

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Perfect thanks, I'll give it a try as soon as I'm home again and backup everything.

Worst that can happen that it fails and i have to do a clean install.

Offline

#5 2013-03-29 13:28:12

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Hello

In addition to those suggestions above, I've often used Clonezilla or FSArchiver for restoring or cloning an HDD system to SSD, and both worked quite well.  You do of course still need to tweak the new SSD system to suit your own requirements.


oz

Offline

#6 2013-03-30 10:55:01

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

r4ptor wrote:

Worst that can happen...

It won't. I have written this article based on it, and it works even going to a different system (emulated hardware). Linux is awesome.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#7 2013-03-30 11:06:06

r4ptor
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 28

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Awesome thank you. Didn't think it will be this easy smile

I'll keep you updated as soon as i migrated the files next week.

Offline

#8 2013-03-30 11:13:05

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,446

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

I usually use some GUI partition tool on a live CD (k... the kde thing :-), but gparted should do the trick as well), copy the partition to the other disk, mount the new partition, edit /etc/fstab and the boot loader config file (sometimes you'll have to chroot into the system and recreate the bootloader, see bootloader wiki entries) and be done with it. I do not expect any trouble, since you would copy partitions from GPT to GPT.

Online

#9 2013-04-08 08:19:36

r4ptor
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 28

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

One last question, as I'm planning to do the jump this week:

I will also set up a windows partition for some games. Is there anything I need to consider when installing Windows 7 after I set up Arch? I guess Windows will fu** up the bootloader(at least this was the case with my first linux experience ten years ago). Is this still the case?

Also i want to encrypt my system, so I flew over the wiki yesterday. This should not be a serious problem regarding my setup, or shoult it?
thx

Last edited by r4ptor (2013-04-08 08:29:39)

Offline

#10 2013-04-08 08:37:49

phil
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 72

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

You will have to install GRUB, or whatever bootloader you use, again.
But with a live arch CD/ USB stick, it should not be a problem.

Offline

#11 2013-04-08 08:50:26

Opanos
Member
Registered: 2012-09-16
Posts: 42

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

And what about /home ?
How can one "move" it to a new hdd or ssd drive.
Assuming that / and /home are separate partitions.
If that helps -to help me- both disks can be present.

Offline

#12 2013-04-08 09:09:06

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,446

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

You are flying critically low under the DYI rader right now. Use the information provided in the thread to move both partitions, edit your /etc/fstab and be done.

Online

#13 2013-04-09 14:30:57

r4ptor
Member
Registered: 2012-12-30
Posts: 28

Re: Move Arch from HDD to SSD

Just wanted to say thanks, today I migrated to the SSD and it wasn't a problem after all.

Just rsync /* as suggested, chrooted, installed the bootloader and bam! Here we have a snappy Arch installation.

Thank you guys!

Not forward to set up a windows partition for gaming big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB