You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-09 14:02:00

Jebususu
Member
Registered: 2011-02-27
Posts: 74

Fresh install; Cannot boot

Hello.

Today I have followed the beginners guide to make a fresh installation of arch from a flash drive.

The install itself seems to work fine, no errror's, all steps followed etc. Yet when I come to the 'unmount partitions and reboot' section, it falls down.

I issue the reboot command as per normal, and grub shows up and starts to boot the first entry(the new arch inst).

But upon selecting that entry, I see some 'unable to enumerate usb device on port X' messages spammed as per normal, but after about 5/6 of the messages, the computer just freezes. (nothing happens when any key is pressed or w/e.)

Have i missed some crucial part of the installation? In the past I have used the same methods and everything has gone flawlessly, really pulling my hair out with this one. I have tried both 32/64bit installations, yet both still yeild the same result.

Can anyone share any information about it?

Offline

#2 2013-04-09 14:19:26

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,273

Re: Fresh install; Cannot boot

Are you sure it's freezing? You can't switch to tty2 or anything?

Try Try using debug kernel parameters to get some useful information about the freeze. As it stands there's not enough information for us to help you.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#3 2013-04-09 14:22:54

Jebususu
Member
Registered: 2011-02-27
Posts: 74

Re: Fresh install; Cannot boot

WorMzy wrote:

Are you sure it's freezing? You can't switch to tty2 or anything?

Try Try using debug kernel parameters to get some useful information about the freeze. As it stands there's not enough information for us to help you.

As far as I remember, the only keypresses that worked were ctrl+alt+del x2 to reboot the machine

Offline

#4 2013-05-01 17:49:09

hardywu
Member
Registered: 2010-08-27
Posts: 3

Re: Fresh install; Cannot boot

Mine is even worse. The last few lines of the output I could get were

 
input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP, pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00002.0/0000:0.1:00.1/sound/card1/input14
input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP, pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00002.0/0000:0.1:00.1/sound/card1/input15
input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP, pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00002.0/0000:0.1:00.1/sound/card1/input16
input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP, pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00002.0/0000:0.1:00.1/sound/card1/input17

Then it just hung there forever.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB