You are not logged in.

#1 2005-11-27 20:43:11

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

grub menu.lst and video mode

I have the feeling I've mistyped something and have looked at it too often.

I just did a fresh install of Arch, on a box that had a relatively new installation of it. 

Last time, just using the generic Arch kernel, if I added the vga=773 to my kernel line, it would boot up using framebuffer.

However, this time, my Arch section looks like this


# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root   (hd1,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hdb2 ro  vga=773 
initrd /boot/initrd26.img


When I boot, after the decompressing the kernel I get

You have passed an undefined mode, hit space to continue or return for a list of modes.

I'm not sure what I missed, or if I accidently left something out during the installation (most of the base packages, a few things like lilo, nano, wireless stuff eliminated).


I haven't yet tried installing a custom kernel and including framebuffer support.  I'm just wondering if I've forgotten something obvious.

Thanks for any help

Scott

Offline

#2 2005-11-28 02:40:49

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

Solved, in a way, anyway.  Changing it to vga=788 gives me 800x600 which works well on the monitor I have (a 15" LCD).

Not sure why the 1024x768 isn't working, but this is ok.

Thanks

Offline

#3 2005-11-28 03:43:04

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

For my 1024 x 768 laptop monitor, I use:
vga=792
in my lilo.conf for the framebuffer.

Offline

#4 2005-11-28 04:53:54

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

Hrmm 792 didn't work either.  I guess that something in there, either monitor or video card can't support 1024x768.

Actually, that's alright--on another install, running a Slack derivative,
booting with lilo, I get 1024x768 and it's a bit small for my aging eyes.

Thanks though.

Offline

#5 2005-11-29 17:08:59

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

Try using video=vesafb:1024x768-32 instead of the vga= line. Remember to change vesafb to whatever fb-device you are using.

Offline

#6 2005-11-30 02:51:13

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

vga=0x318 doesn't work?

Offline

#7 2005-11-30 04:31:34

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: grub menu.lst and video mode

No the 0x numbers didn't work either.  However, as I said, I'm going to leave it at 800x600 which I actually find better for my eyes than 1024x768.  (In console, in X I need the 1024x768, which I get with no problem.)

I do thank everyone for their suggestions, but at present, I'm just going to leave it at 788.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB