You are not logged in.

#176 2013-03-16 05:04:19

computerquip
Member
Registered: 2009-08-11
Posts: 19

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

What you probably need to do is setup an SSH server where weston is being launched so you can use "killall weston" to restore your input.

Explain what your goal is. Are you wanting to launch weston over Xorg? How are you wanting to launch weston?
What driver are you using?
Provide any info you can.

On a seperate note, the xwayland package I provided is broken. Instead, copy the official xorg-server package from the official repos and adapt it to fetch and compile xwayland (it's literally the exact same thing anyways, just with wayland routines).
Also, I brought up rebasing xwayland on their IRC channel, supposedly someone is working on it. If that's the case, I'll host my own PKGBUILD again. Outside of that, I think its pointless since most people don't use it enough.

Last edited by computerquip (2013-03-16 05:05:06)

Offline

#177 2013-03-27 20:09:46

giucam
Member
Registered: 2009-02-01
Posts: 12

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

You must build mesa with --disable-gallium-llvm to fix/hide that problem.

Offline

#178 2013-03-30 08:04:18

gujiejie
Member
Registered: 2013-03-29
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

when i run weston-launch the system freezes and can't even switch to another VT  so i must reset my pc.

wayland and weston version is 1.0.6 . system freezes and not any error output in screen .

Offline

#179 2013-03-30 19:49:30

smph
Member
Registered: 2013-03-30
Posts: 4

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Building Mesa with "--with-llvm-shared-libs" seems to fix the llvm assertion on radeon at least. For the first time I can run weston on Arch using the drm backend. cool

Offline

#180 2013-04-01 07:20:57

gujiejie
Member
Registered: 2013-03-29
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Is there any browser under wayland ??

Offline

#181 2013-04-02 18:10:25

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 637

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

gujiejie wrote:

Is there any browser under wayland ??

I'd guess that you could run a GTK3 browser like midori or epiphany, but haven't tried it.

Offline

#182 2013-04-06 09:55:29

jukkan
Member
Registered: 2010-09-08
Posts: 39

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Any NVIDIA user who might be looking to test wayland without having to make changes to their main system or needing to recompile a bunch of packages, could try the latest RebeccaBlackOS live media. For the first time I was able to launch it without instant segfault and a variety of apps seem to be working, including Firefox.

Last edited by jukkan (2013-04-06 10:04:25)

Offline

#183 2013-04-08 19:30:44

marekjm
Member
Registered: 2013-04-08
Posts: 1

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hey guys, I have a question concerning Wayland/Weston.

I installed the packages from repository (and reinstalled to be sure every dependency is satisfied).
As X client it launches and runs happily (except for GTK+ applicatons' segfaults).

But when I tried launching Weston from console (without X running) using "weston-launch" it didn't work - failed while creating input devices. What it said is:

...
[21:18:17.307] opening input device '/dev/input/event12' failed.
[21:18:17.307] failed to create input devices
[21:18:17.313] fatal: failed to create compositor

Full output: http://www.pastebay.net/1197673

It seemed strange to me that failure to create input device would prevent Weston from launching so I tried to investigate what the mysterious "/dev/input/event12" device is. It turned out to be:

I: Bus=0019 Vendor=0000 Product=0000 Version=0000
N: Name="Acer BMA150 accelerometer"
P: Phys=wmi/input1
S: Sysfs=/devices/virtual/input/input12
U: Uniq=
H: Handlers=event12 js0 
B: PROP=0
B: EV=9
B: ABS=7

Any ideas why it may be preventing Weston from launching?

My machine has integrated Intel graphics with "xf86-video-intel" and "intel-dri" drivers installed.

Offline

#184 2013-04-08 19:41:01

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

jukkan wrote:

Any NVIDIA user who might be looking to test wayland without having to make changes to their main system or needing to recompile a bunch of packages, could try the latest RebeccaBlackOS live media. For the first time I was able to launch it without instant segfault and a variety of apps seem to be working, including Firefox.

Thanks for the suggestion! Over this past weekend I downloaded and tried out RebeccaBlackOS. It ran perfectly, and it was really neat getting to see Wayland / Weston in action.

I then went to work on Monday and told all of my coworkers that I installed RebeccaBlackOS. My favorite part of the OS is the default home page. big_smile

Offline

#185 2013-04-11 00:54:38

solar
Member
Registered: 2011-03-01
Posts: 75

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I have to ask.. lol.. I noticed it saying something about a celebrity.. where? I mean.. who the f*** is Rebecca Black? lol.


I am hilariously insane. yup. you won't notice though.. I promise...I think.

Offline

#186 2013-04-11 01:02:09

triplesquarednine
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 630

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

solar wrote:

I have to ask.. lol.. I noticed it saying something about a celebrity.. where? I mean.. who the f*** is Rebecca Black? lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfVsfOSbJY0

lol.

EDIT: there is even a bad-ass rap by some dude driving an expensive car... if you can make it that far into the video...lol wink

Last edited by triplesquarednine (2013-04-11 01:03:30)

Offline

#187 2013-04-11 01:11:15

solar
Member
Registered: 2011-03-01
Posts: 75

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

im in bed with an old laptop , wasnt loading but saw rebecca black xfactor ... right.. dont really need ot know more. is it erm.. that singing thing in england? I heard this couple , a lass and a lad sing.. the bloke was pretty big but sang like an uber Pavarotti.. was so cool. but ok.. I don't follow the normal world's way of thinking what is a celeb or not thing.. but thanks for linking.. wasn't bothered enough to start googling for obscure women.


I am hilariously insane. yup. you won't notice though.. I promise...I think.

Offline

#188 2013-04-11 01:13:11

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

triplesquarednine wrote:

rap by some dude driving an expensive car

He wrote the song. And this is totally relevant to Wayland. wink

Offline

#189 2013-04-13 13:22:34

frony0
Member
From: London, United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 43
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

So say I set up xwayland, could I then use that just like X, but with the benefit of wayland protocols being available? I wanna try out using it as my normal display system, if possible.


Make it idiot-proof, and someone will breed a better idiot.
-- Oliver Elphick

Offline

#190 2013-04-18 16:53:32

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,541

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I ran weston-launch and got this,

Date: 2013-04-18 EDT
[12:47:15.206] weston 1.1.0
               http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
               Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Wayland&component=weston&version=1.1.0
               Build:  
[12:47:15.207] OS: Linux, 3.4.38-1-lts34, #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 3 17:36:42 EDT 2013, i686
[12:47:15.207] Loading module '/usr/lib/weston/drm-backend.so'
[12:47:15.208] initializing drm backend
[12:47:15.218] using /dev/dri/card0
[12:47:15.278] failed to choose EGL config
[12:47:15.278] EGL error state: EGL_SUCCESS (0x3000)
[12:47:15.278] failed to initialize egl
[12:47:15.322] fatal: failed to create compositor

I'm in groups lp wheel games video audio optical storage power users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#191 2013-04-18 16:56:58

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

fsckd wrote:

I'm in groups lp wheel games video audio optical storage power users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch.

Why are you in all of those groups? Also, you're in the group fskcd?

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#192 2013-04-18 17:04:07

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,541

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

HalosGhost wrote:
fsckd wrote:

I'm in groups lp wheel games video audio optical storage power users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch.

Why are you in all of those groups? Also, you're in the group fskcd?

All the best,

-HG

Why not? tongue Asides from weston-launch, my user has been in those groups since I first installed Arch Linux.

I heard weston required being in certain groups. I'm fuzzy on this. Free feel to tell me what weston needs. smile


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#193 2013-04-18 18:23:31

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

@fsckd
Not sure when did you install Arch (presumably a looong time ago), but things change: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sy … nformation

Adding your user to groups (sys, disk, lp, network, video, audio, optical, storage, scanner, power, etc.) is not necessary for most use cases with systemd.

I know nothing about wayland, but if you're using systemd, you may want to remove yourself from these groups.

Offline

#194 2013-04-18 19:29:34

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,541

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Thanks karol, I changed groups to wheel games users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch. The problem with weston persists.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#195 2013-04-18 19:33:17

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

fsckd wrote:

Thanks karol, I changed groups to wheel games users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch. The problem with weston persists.

No really, why are you in the fsckd group? As far as I'm aware, that is not a real group, that's just your username. (sorry, I know this probably won't help with your issue, but that doesn't make a lot of sense).

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#196 2013-04-18 20:19:37

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,541

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

HalosGhost wrote:

No really, why are you in the fsckd group? As far as I'm aware, that is not a real group, that's just your username. (sorry, I know this probably won't help with your issue, but that doesn't make a lot of sense).

It's offtopic  to the thread but since you are persistent I'll oblige you. smile An admin creates the groups as needed by the system. I have GID 1000 for interoperability between my systems. If you have more questions or want details, feel free to email me. Now let's keep this thread about wayland/weston. smile


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#197 2013-04-21 22:04:02

Daverix
Member
Registered: 2013-04-21
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hi,

I have just installed Arch with Weston and Wayland and have problems with a black screen with a cursor that doesn't blink at top left. It seems the laptop has frozen but I can still reach it by ssh. How do I get debug logs through ssh? Tried weston-launch > debug.txt but that didn't get me anything.

I have installed X and get two ugly terminals, launching weston in one of them makes weston take up just a part of the screen. There I can run weston-gears and other stuff and it works as it should. The cursor is very sensitive though.

I have a laptop with a Nvidia Geforce 8400M graphics card. Would be really glad if I could run it without X! Tried to install Wayland, Weston, mesa, drm etc from git, but there was a lot of packages missing that I probably only could get through AUR. (Haven't learned how AUR works yet)

Cheers!

Last edited by Daverix (2013-04-21 22:04:41)

Offline

#198 2013-04-27 10:46:47

bhante
Member
Registered: 2008-05-20
Posts: 22

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

PULSEAUDIO with wayland
tested with mpv player

switching to a terminal and running weston-launch  - NO pulseaudio output

inside a running X session weston + pulseaudio works well

any idea?

Offline

#199 2013-04-27 11:11:31

Earnestly
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Posts: 804

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Probably because you don't have a valid logind session on the second tty or are starting weston on another tty where you don't.

Offline

#200 2013-04-28 05:30:53

bhante
Member
Registered: 2008-05-20
Posts: 22

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Thanks, weston-launch with pulseaudio works now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB