You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-22 20:51:35

Volunder
Member
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 3

gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

My after the Gnome 3.8 upgrade, my system now hangs completely when GDM tries to start.  I can't reach other consoles via ctrl+alt+f2, and the hitting the power button on the tower, which usually starts a graceful shutdown, does nothing.

/var/log/gdm/:0.log is created but is empty.  Perversely if I first start lxdm, stop it, then start gdm, it's fine.

I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this further, any help would be greatly appriciated.

Offline

#2 2013-04-22 22:07:23

elkoraco
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 121

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

I just did the upgrade, Gnome is refusing to start. As far as I can tell, it takes down the entire interface. I can't even switch to ttys. I haven't tried another DM yet and am currently booted into dwm via xinit. I'd like to offer more info and will do so as soon as a kind soul tells me which logs I should be looking at. journalctl reports

-- Logs begin at Mon 2013-02-18 13:14:55 CET, end at Tue 2013-04-23 00:02:52 CEST. --
Apr 23 00:02:46 mrarch kernel: usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
Apr 23 00:02:46 mrarch kernel: usbhid: USB HID core driver
Apr 23 00:02:46 mrarch kernel: logitech-djreceiver 0003:046D:C52B.0003: hiddev0,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Device
Apr 23 00:02:46 mrarch kernel: input: Logitech Unifying Device. Wireless PID:101d as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:
Apr 23 00:02:46 mrarch kernel: logitech-djdevice 0003:046D:C52B.0004: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [Logi
Apr 23 00:02:52 mrarch dbus-daemon[324]: dbus[324]: [system] Reloaded configuration
Apr 23 00:02:52 mrarch dbus[324]: [system] Reloaded configuration
Apr 23 00:02:52 mrarch dbus-daemon[324]: dbus[324]: [system] Reloaded configuration
Apr 23 00:02:52 mrarch dbus[324]: [system] Reloaded configuration
Apr 23 00:02:52 mrarch passwd[670]: password for 'gdm' changed by 'root'

This password for gdm changed by root seems like a promising lead, but I have no idea how to correct it.

Well, now that I've posted, I added myself to the gdm group and things seem to work. But only for one boot lol. So I'm still on the ropes.

Last edited by elkoraco (2013-04-22 22:24:52)

Offline

#3 2013-04-22 22:26:46

Pumpino
Member
Registered: 2011-06-09
Posts: 46

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

I run XFCE but login using GDM. Since installing the latest updates, my laptop hangs on the black screen with white text listing the partition /dev/sda6. I hadn't realised it was a GDM error though, as I can't even get to a console to login. I had to restore a Clonezilla backup from 10 days ago. I upgraded the system again and encountered the same problem. I'm lucky I always maintain recent Clonezilla backups and I'll resist upgrading my deskstop machine until we have some answers.

Offline

#4 2013-04-22 22:36:42

elkoraco
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 121

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

huh, same here.

Offline

#5 2013-04-22 22:42:22

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

I'm having the same problem. Could you share your system specs? I'm on an Intel Core i5 2400 with Intel onboard graphics. How about you?

EDIT: See this topic: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161955 , they seem to be having the same problem. Their current solution is switching to a different login manager, such as SLiM

Last edited by UnsolvedCypher (2013-04-22 22:45:48)

Offline

#6 2013-04-22 23:18:11

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,421

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

See https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161967
I am strongly considering merging these threads.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2013-04-22 23:19:25

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

ewaller wrote:

See https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161964
I am strongly considering merging these threads.

I am for it, as the problem is the same and a solution can be known about more quickly if everything is in one thread.

Offline

#8 2013-04-22 23:22:14

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,421

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Merged.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2013-04-22 23:32:25

elkoraco
Member
Registered: 2013-02-18
Posts: 121

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Yeah, sorry for jumping on the thread frenzy. Seeing the other threads, this seems like a problem that will be fixed in a day or so by regular upgrades. xinit or Slim seem are good alternatives in the meantime.

Offline

#10 2013-04-22 23:46:00

drachensnapper
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

same problem here,

anyone fixed it yet?

got x220i thinkpad and samsung ssd 840

Last edited by drachensnapper (2013-04-22 23:48:29)

Offline

#11 2013-04-23 00:01:59

drachensnapper
Member
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Okay, I solved it

i changed my from GDM to slim

systemctl disable gdm.service
systemctl enable slim.service

Offline

#12 2013-04-23 00:59:51

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

SLiM doesn't work for me, nor does xinitrc. I get a black screen after I enter my credentials for SLiM, and I get a black screen instantly with .xinitrc. I really don't know what to do other than wait. I'm unable to find the error again, but I remember something along the lines of "Fatal Error: Resource unavailable (X Server)"

Offline

#13 2013-04-23 01:01:31

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Disable rc6 if you're using the intel driver, which all of you probably are.

Offline

#14 2013-04-23 01:06:51

UnsolvedCypher
Member
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 198

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Jodell wrote:

Disable rc6 if you're using the intel driver, which all of you probably are.

Thank you for the suggestion, but I'm not really sure how to do that. Could you let us know or maybe point us to a relevant wiki page? Also, this thread seems to be having the same issue as well: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161955 .

Offline

#15 2013-04-23 01:58:49

rgorrell
Member
From: Gorrell
Registered: 2012-07-15
Posts: 7

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Enabling SNA acceleration for Intel graphics worked for me, per: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method

Offline

#16 2013-04-23 02:05:44

Volunder
Member
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 3

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

I am using intel drivers.  It's my work computer, so I won't be able to test until tomorrow, but I found instructions for disabling rc6 here: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/PowerManagementRC6

* Hold down Left-Shift key to enter the Grub menu on boot
* Hit 'e' to edit the kernel command line
* Append i915.i915_enable_rc6=0 as a kernel boot parameter
* For example: linux /boot/vmlinuz quiet i915.i915_enable_rc6=0
* Press Ctrl-x to boot

I think you should also be able to do it by creating /etc/modprobe.d/disable_rc6.conf with

options i915 i915_enable_rc6=0

Offline

#17 2013-04-23 09:40:33

JoKoT3
Member
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Volunder wrote:

* Append i915.i915_enable_rc6=0 as a kernel boot parameter

Hello, it works for me (I also bricked my work laptop wink)

edit :

Volunder wrote:

options i915 i915_enable_rc6=0

did the trick (just tested it to be sure).

Last edited by JoKoT3 (2013-04-23 09:46:29)

Offline

#18 2013-04-23 10:48:48

nullie
Member
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Thanks, disabling rc6 fixed problem for me too (did it with modprobe config).

Offline

#19 2013-04-23 10:50:14

gturtle
Member
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 23

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

rgorrell wrote:

Enabling SNA acceleration for Intel graphics worked for me, per: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method

Worked for me. Thank's!

Last edited by gturtle (2013-04-23 10:50:22)

Offline

#20 2013-04-23 12:25:50

Pumpino
Member
Registered: 2011-06-09
Posts: 46

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method worked for me too.

However, the new GDM looks ugly. Running pacman -Rs made me realise how many dependencies GDM has in order to run it alongside XFCE. I installed LXDM and it didn't pull in any deps, so I guess I've found my new display manager.

EDIT: Actually, I think I'll use SDDM instead.

Last edited by Pumpino (2013-04-23 12:40:26)

Offline

#21 2013-04-23 14:09:47

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Pumpino wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method worked for me too.

However, the new GDM looks ugly. Running pacman -Rs made me realise how many dependencies GDM has in order to run it alongside XFCE. I installed LXDM and it didn't pull in any deps, so I guess I've found my new display manager.

EDIT: Actually, I think I'll use SDDM instead.

It looks the same as 3.6...

Offline

#22 2013-04-23 16:41:29

raymondcal
Member
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 45

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Thanks, it works for me too.
I think this Sandy Bridge RC6 thing is of no use on a desktop computer, so I don’t care disabling it.
But on laptops, it can be useful, I guess…

Offline

#23 2013-04-23 16:41:34

barryob
Member
Registered: 2013-03-21
Posts: 1

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

rgorrell wrote:

Enabling SNA acceleration for Intel graphics worked for me, per: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method

This worked for me. Thank you!

Offline

#24 2013-04-23 17:13:28

adamhenry
Member
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 3

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

I'm also running XFCE and GDM.   Here's my work-around for the black screen with cursor problem.  System boots into XFCE fine now.
From the wiki - To enable automatic login with GDM, add the following to /etc/gdm/custom.conf (replace username with your own)

# Enable automatic login for user
[daemon]
AutomaticLogin=username
AutomaticLoginEnable=True

Offline

#25 2013-04-23 20:32:27

Pumpino
Member
Registered: 2011-06-09
Posts: 46

Re: gdm hangs system after (3.6.2-2 -> 3.8.1.1-1)

Jodell wrote:
Pumpino wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ion_method worked for me too.

However, the new GDM looks ugly. Running pacman -Rs made me realise how many dependencies GDM has in order to run it alongside XFCE. I installed LXDM and it didn't pull in any deps, so I guess I've found my new display manager.

EDIT: Actually, I think I'll use SDDM instead.

It looks the same as 3.6...

On my laptop (with XFCE), GDM became white text on a black background that occupied a larger portion of the screen. Previously, GDM was a grey dialogue box on a dark blue background.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB