You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-23 23:05:30

LinuxFTW
Member
Registered: 2012-03-17
Posts: 30

Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

I  am having probs with Cinnamon since Gnome 3.8, the recent patch made it not freeze right away (or fully). Its and works fine but then after like 5 min the panel freezes and and I can't alt tab... it's weird.

Offline

#2 2013-04-24 02:26:39

jiewmeng
Member
Registered: 2012-02-09
Posts: 117

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

Same, for me, it freezes after I can see my desktop ... thats like few seconds after startup? I am guessing theres some problem with GNOME 3.8 atm. I am on KDE for now


Computer Science Student, Web Developer

Offline

#3 2013-04-24 05:58:09

kahlil88
Member
From: Mendocino, CA
Registered: 2010-08-10
Posts: 132
Website

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

I'm getting this too...I can switch workspaces and open the menu or a run dialog from the keyboard, but the panel is frozen after a few minutes of inactivity.


There is no system but GNU and Linux is one of its kernels.

Offline

#4 2013-04-24 23:57:14

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

Thank god, I thought it was me.  Just installed linux on Sunday, and then reinstalled today because of the panels freezing.
I read somewhere today, can't remember, that there is an issue with gnome 3.8. 

--nixIT


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#5 2013-04-25 02:47:04

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

It has been fixed in cinnamon 1.7.4-3. If you still experience this problem, then try to reset these settings:

$ gsettings reset org.gnome.desktop.wm.keybindings switch-applications
$ gsettings reset org.gnome.desktop.wm.keybindings switch-windows

My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#6 2013-04-25 15:47:47

LostPW
Member
Registered: 2012-10-24
Posts: 15

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

I have the same problem -.-

@City-busz nope it dosent help

Offline

#7 2013-04-26 02:16:28

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

City-busz wrote:

It has been fixed in cinnamon 1.7.4-3. If you still experience this problem, then try to reset these settings:

$ gsettings reset org.gnome.desktop.wm.keybindings switch-applications
$ gsettings reset org.gnome.desktop.wm.keybindings switch-windows

Updated
Tried cinnamon, panel freeze within 5 minutes
reboot
make the settings you suggest
Alt-F2 r
cinnamon panel freeze within 5 minutes


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#8 2013-04-30 00:36:55

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

Yeah, it still freezes after I drag and drop something. But I can't fix it, it's an upstream bug. Ask the upstream developers to fix this problem:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/1934


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#9 2013-05-01 19:48:08

Xzorg6
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 1

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

jiewmeng wrote:

Same, for me, it freezes after I can see my desktop ... thats like few seconds after startup? I am guessing theres some problem with GNOME 3.8 atm. I am on KDE for now

I had this exact problem, I can see my desktop a few seconds and then "Oh, no! Something gone wrong!" since last upgrades of Cinnamon.
It's a new bug (https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/1945) and can be resolve by :

gsettings set org.cinnamon.overrides workspaces-only-on-primary false

Offline

#10 2013-05-02 17:46:26

skypixel
Member
Registered: 2011-10-01
Posts: 4

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

Now it should be fixed, according to the muffin package changelog..

Fix unresponsive panel on DND

https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … &showmsg=1

I'm going to try and let you know...

EDIT: it seems fixed now

Last edited by skypixel (2013-05-03 17:39:56)

Offline

#11 2013-10-18 12:02:34

bogdan2011
Member
Registered: 2012-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: Cinnamon runs fine but then freezes

I'm having the same problem with v2.
It simply freezes and I have to pkill it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB