You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-23 01:58:11

aport
Member
From: San Diego
Registered: 2008-02-20
Posts: 97

No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

Problem is as described in title. Upgraded to GNOME 3.8 and I have no mouse cursor. Thankfully GNOME lets me see where the cursor is located by pressing CTRL but it's quite a pain.

Anyone else experiencing this issue? I verified via Gnome Tweak Tool that the mouse cursor is default (Adwaita)

Last edited by aport (2013-08-30 03:58:08)

Offline

#2 2013-04-23 02:12:22

aport
Member
From: San Diego
Registered: 2008-02-20
Posts: 97

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

Okay, well I feel stupid... I rebooted and now it's back. Which is strange, because I rebooted after the upgrade. I also logged out/in several times to no avail.

Offline

#3 2013-04-23 03:32:53

meowfaceman
Member
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I'm having this issue now too -- it looks as though it appears momentarily after logging in through gdm, and then when shell starts the cursor disappears.  I've tried rebooting as well, but I'll give it a few more goes and see what happens I guess?

Offline

#4 2013-04-23 04:03:04

meowfaceman
Member
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

Looks like if I enable zooming it, the cursor is visible.  Otherwise, it's invisible.  It's invisible during both gdm and the actual gnome shell, but in the intervening period between the two, it's visible.

If I use lightdm and xfce, the cursor is visible the entire time.  If I use gdm and select xfce as the desktop, the cursor is visible.  HWCursor on or off seems to have no effect.  In other words, this seems to be explicitly localized to the new Gnome.

Offline

#5 2013-04-23 16:27:07

Revelation60
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 149
Website

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I am having the same problem as well after a reboot, which means that this problem is not solved. Does anyone have some ideas?

Offline

#6 2013-04-24 03:26:38

meowfaceman
Member
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

On a hit from the Arch Linux developers after I made a bug report about this, this seems to stem from the fact that I use Synergy and, without a mouse connected, Gnome seems to assume you're using a tablet.  My solution was to buy a cheap ass mouse and just leave it connected, which seems to solve the issue.

Offline

#7 2013-04-24 13:12:02

Visp
Member
From: Valencia (Spain)
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 11

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

Other with the same problem, and i not use Synergy on this PC. After reboot the problem persists...


Edit: Omg... after unplug & plug USB and works fine...

Last edited by Visp (2013-04-24 13:13:59)

Offline

#8 2013-08-30 03:59:18

aport
Member
From: San Diego
Registered: 2008-02-20
Posts: 97

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

Hi, I just wanted to update. I removed the [SOLVED] from the title because the problem is still happening.

I get the same results as Visp, where unplugging and plugging the mouse back in fixes the issue. But that's a workaround to a bug which is clearly related to the GNOME software doing something stupid.

Offline

#9 2013-09-24 16:16:31

brevity
Member
From: ENS, Paris
Registered: 2011-07-02
Posts: 15

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I'm having this problem too. The unpluging and plugging the mouse also fix my issue.

Offline

#10 2013-09-25 16:28:53

skoczo
Member
Registered: 2012-09-12
Posts: 52

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I have the same issue(new installation). After boot there is no cursor array(but buttons are highlights when i move tochpad). After plug and unplug usb mouse cursor appears.

Offline

#11 2013-09-25 21:38:09

dros
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 3

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I am getting this too, it is driving me nuts :-/

Offline

#12 2013-09-27 14:13:57

bmanuel
Member
Registered: 2011-10-06
Posts: 103

Re: No mouse cursor after 3.8 upgrade

I've this problem as well: to reproduce, i need to move the mouse cursor in-between the login, after the login.
I found out that i can bring the mouse up again with this:

xinput enable "your device name"

Where the device name is your mouse's name as listed in the "xinput --list" command.

Last edited by bmanuel (2013-09-27 14:14:11)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB