You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-17 06:42:46

MutantJohn
Member
Registered: 2012-12-17
Posts: 95

Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

Hello Arch Linux Community,

I am a recent convert from Ubuntu 12.10 and I must say, Arch is rather nice. However, I'm having some trouble making lm_sensors detect all that it should so that I may use the graphical utility Psensor to display all my info. Last time, I'm pretty sure it was displaying the CPU, RAM, GPU, HDD, MoBo temperatures and so far, I think Arch is just showing me CPU, RAM and MoBo or RAM twice, my room is very cold. I was gonna play some Heroes of Newerth as a type of stress test.

And every time I run lm_sensors, it doesn't suggest that I install any extra modules. I swear to God I had this working perfectly in Ubuntu but Arch doesn't want to cooperate.

Is there any sort of useful test I can run?

Offline

#2 2012-12-17 08:37:56

kunev
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 4

Re: Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

You might be missing some drivers for some hardware. I don't think lm_sensors will tell you what you're missing.
If you give some more information on your hardware maybe someone will know what you need to get for it. Output from `lscpi` or `inxi -v7` will probably give people some more information so that they can help you.

Offline

#3 2012-12-17 16:18:15

MutantJohn
Member
Registered: 2012-12-17
Posts: 95

Re: Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

Okay, so here's the weirdest thing. Everything works separately. I have hddtemp working (not with Psensor but that's kind of eh) and the nVidia control panel works fine as well.

This reminds me, the outupt of lspci does tell me that my computer is recognizing my GPU, a VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF104 [GeForce GTX 460], as a literal copy-paste from the terminal. Also, installing the driver worked flawlessly as well so go Arch for that!

But if I go to System Settings -> Details -> Graphics, it tells me that my driver is unknown and my experience is standard.

So everything seems to be working independently of each other, just not all through the same program.

And apparently I have a USB 3.0 plug which is surprising to me because my MoBo was bought over a year ago now. O_O

Offline

#4 2013-04-24 18:16:56

MutantJohn
Member
Registered: 2012-12-17
Posts: 95

Re: Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

To resurrect a dead thread, I finally typed in 'inxi -v7' and Arch recognizes my GPU. Here's the output:

Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF104 [GeForce GTX 460] bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0e22 

So it seems like Arch recognizing the card, just my sensors aren't probing for the right driver, right?

Offline

#5 2013-04-24 20:48:37

fr0z3d
Member
From: Venezuela
Registered: 2013-04-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

Did you read the wiki page? Try sensors-detect

Offline

#6 2013-04-25 17:06:04

MutantJohn
Member
Registered: 2012-12-17
Posts: 95

Re: Can't get all my temperatures to display T_T

Lol yes, I do know what sensors-detect is. Here's the relevant output:

# sensors-detect revision 6085 (2012-10-30 18:18:45 +0100)
# System: MSI MS-7599 [3.0]
# Board: MSI 870A-G54 (MS-7599)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): y
Module cpuid loaded successfully.
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           Success!
    (driver `k10temp')
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   No
AMD Family 15h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 15h power sensors...                             No
Intel digital thermal sensor...                             No
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): y
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               Yes
Found `Fintek F71889ED Super IO Sensors'                    Success!
    (address 0x600, driver `f71882fg')

Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don't find it
there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such
interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI
interfaces? (YES/no): y
Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0...                      No
Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8...                     No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (yes/NO): y
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): y
Using driver `i2c-piix4' for device 0000:00:14.0: ATI Technologies Inc SB600/SB700/SB800 SMBus
Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.

Next adapter: SMBus PIIX4 adapter at 0b00 (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y
Client found at address 0x28
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM80'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM96080'...             No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D'...                            No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D'...                            No
Probing for `Winbond W83627HF'...                           No
Probing for `Winbond W83627EHF'...                          No
Probing for `Winbond W83627DHG/W83667HG/W83677HG'...        No
Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.1)'...                      No
Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.2)'...                      No
Probing for `Asus ASB100 Bach'...                           No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1029'...                     No
Probing for `ITE IT8712F'...                                No
Client found at address 0x51
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
Client found at address 0x53
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 0 at 1:00.0 (i2c-1)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y
Client found at address 0x4a
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75A'...               No
Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS75'...                  No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM77'...                No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7410'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7411'...                     No
Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1621/DS1631'...         No
Probing for `Maxim MAX6642'...                              No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM73'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM92'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM76'...                No
Probing for `Maxim MAX6633/MAX6634/MAX6635'...              No
Probing for `NXP/Philips SA56004'...                        No
Client found at address 0x4b
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75A'...               No
Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS75'...                  No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM77'...                No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7410'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7411'...                     No
Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1621/DS1631'...         No
Probing for `Maxim MAX6642'...                              No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM92'...                No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM76'...                No
Probing for `Maxim MAX6633/MAX6634/MAX6635'...              No
Probing for `NXP/Philips SA56004'...                        No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7481'...                     No

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 2 at 1:00.0 (i2c-2)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 6 at 1:00.0 (i2c-3)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 8 at 1:00.0 (i2c-4)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): y

Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:  

Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
  * Chip `AMD Family 10h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `f71882fg':
  * ISA bus, address 0x600
    Chip `Fintek F71889ED Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Do you want to overwrite /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors? (YES/no): y
Unloading i2c-dev... OK
Unloading cpuid... OK

As you can see, I don't think it's probing for the right stuff for my GPU. Before when I using Ubuntu, it totally was and Psensor would display my GPU temps and even my HDD temps as well but Arch has no such luck and Idk why.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB