You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-25 22:03:44

Azd325
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2012-12-21
Posts: 31
Website

Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Hey,

I had some problems that chromium not are responsible enough for me, slow in page load and flash streaming.
I was then try Google Chrome and thus problems was not appearing. What I can change that I can use chromium.

Offline

#2 2013-04-25 23:13:43

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

I think you need to provide more info here.

Offline

#3 2013-04-25 23:15:29

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 801

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

I haven't experienced this problem. I do use the flash from google chrome in chromium with the aur package "chromium-pepper-flash-stable" if that helps.

Offline

#4 2013-04-25 23:39:56

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 97

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Hi yeah we probably need more info, but I can't say I've had this problem. Some bugs in Chromium for sure but I expect this in what is essentially a development branch, but performance is usually on par.


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (MATE GTK3)  | Fedora 25 - ASUS Core-i7 Optimus Laptop

Offline

#5 2013-04-26 02:34:25

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Azd325 wrote:

Hey,

I had some problems that chromium not are responsible enough for me, slow in page load and flash streaming.
I was then try Google Chrome and thus problems was not appearing. What I can change that I can use chromium.

Chrome and chromium has essential the same code. when you mean slow, can you give us any clear numbers for comparison sake?

Last edited by hadrons123 (2013-04-26 04:01:47)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#6 2013-04-26 06:55:23

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Is it possible that chrome stores its files in another folder? If so, you had a clean start of chrome, whereas chromium has a long browsing history etc. So please start chromium with a clean config and see if there's still a difference.

Offline

#7 2013-04-26 18:40:46

Azd325
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2012-12-21
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Ahh, I can give  it a try.

How can I measure that also?

Last edited by Azd325 (2013-04-26 18:41:02)

Offline

#8 2013-04-26 18:52:58

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

Measure? Well, in this case I think it's enough to listen to your feeling. If it seems like both browsers behave the same, just ditch chrome and stick with chromium.

Offline

#9 2013-04-26 19:02:35

Azd325
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2012-12-21
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

I hear on my feel. smile

Maybe I can check the flashplayer settings and improve this ones. Or clean some cache and try around

thanks for some infos

Offline

#10 2013-04-29 11:15:04

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,769

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

For flash: chrome has a newer flashplugin than what is available in the repos. You can get it for chromium too by installing phromium-pepper-flash from aur.
If you are on i686, chrome is built with sse3, while chromium in arch is not, which can make a difference in some cases.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#11 2013-09-01 23:50:44

Jeroen)Mathon
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 63

Re: Why runs Google Chrome better then Chromium

I believe its more up to date.
And it does seem to go faster for me as well.


Also i not sure if this is a font related question.
But i have the same font on both Firefox and Chrome.
And Chrome does not seem to be able to show Japanese text to me.
While firefox does.

Chrome just gave me Unicode errors. hmm

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB