You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-17 18:47:38

kuben
Member
Registered: 2013-03-17
Posts: 4

MacBook Air not detecting external display

Hi, first of all I'm new to the forum and I don't know if this is the right sub-forum to post this, but anyway:

I installed Arch on my mid-2012 MacbookAir a few months ago. I have an extrernal monitor which I used to connect with an VGA to Mini-DP adaptor. Arch couldn't detect the right screen resolution (1920x1200) but I could set it with a couple of xrandr commands, so I didn't bother much. However some time ago, after I updated a bunch of packages, it stopped working. Now nothing happens when I plug the monitor in, and I couldn't find anything about it on Google.

This is the output of xrandr, whether the display is connected or not. It only shows the internal display as connected

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1440 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
eDP1 connected 1440x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 30mm x 179mm
   1440x900       60.0*+
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   640x480        59.9  
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

The only other information I could find which is relevant is the output in dmesg after i plug in the display:

[46863.406822] [drm:intel_dp_i2c_aux_ch] *ERROR* too many retries, giving up
[46863.413005] [drm:intel_dp_i2c_aux_ch] *ERROR* too many retries, giving up
[46863.419195] [drm:intel_dp_i2c_aux_ch] *ERROR* too many retries, giving up
[46863.425084] [drm:intel_dp_i2c_aux_ch] *ERROR* too many retries, giving up
[46863.431281] [drm:intel_dp_i2c_aux_ch] *ERROR* too many retries, giving up

I'd appreciate any help with this

Thanks in advance,
kuben

Offline

#2 2013-03-21 03:43:38

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

It seems that the latest stable kernel brought with it a few bugs for Intel graphics.  I have no idea if this is related or not, but just a thought.

Also, I have VGA out on my HD4000 graphics card, and if I hotplug a monitor to it, the detected resolutions are all wonky.  If I boot with it plugged in, it gives me all the available resolutions... funky eh?

Offline

#3 2013-03-24 12:09:58

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

I just wanted to add that I am having the same issue on my Thinkpad X1C, with Intel HD4000 as well; I recall that connecting an monitor to my DP1 (mini-display) used to work just fine but however, recently I am experiencing whilst the system is bootet it now gives me "DP1 is disconnected", when connecting an external monitor. So the possible work-arounds that I have found are so far:

1. Reboot with the external monitor connected, works sometimes.
2. If the first work-around doesn't work, if I then boot into my Live ISO of ubuntu 13.04 (from a ISO in GRUB), it then gets detected during modeset, and I can proceed to reboot into Arch again. And everything is fine.

On a side note, when I have done the above mentioned workarounds to get the external display working and then disconnecting the display, and performing a "xrandr --auto", I then have to switch back and forth another tty, while the display is connected to get xrandr to detec the display again. While this is somethign I can somewhat live with, the other mentioned workarounds are somewhat a pain hmm

Last edited by liq^ (2013-03-24 12:19:22)

Offline

#4 2013-03-24 19:35:10

kuben
Member
Registered: 2013-03-17
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

So no clean solutions for this hmm

I'll try to reboot with the monitor connected and see if that fixes it. I'm also installing Gentoo right now, so I'll see if maybe it works there.

Offline

#5 2013-03-25 01:23:20

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

I had experienced the problem with kernel v 3.7.x and now the 3.8.x in Arch - and the kernel which the liveCD that I use to "kickstart" the output use the 3.8.0, so I do not beleive it is related to the kernel. But I could still be wrong.

I'd like to hear how it turns out with Gentoo!

Last edited by liq^ (2013-03-25 01:26:38)

Offline

#6 2013-03-27 21:17:34

kuben
Member
Registered: 2013-03-17
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

I still haven't managed to get X working on gentoo yet hmm I'll update this post when it works

Booting with the display plugged in doesn't work either..

EDIT: I couldn't get gentoo to work, but I installed ubuntu and it had the same error. This must be a bug with the newer kernel and intel drivers.

Last edited by kuben (2013-04-09 12:42:00)

Offline

#7 2013-04-23 03:44:24

rawf
Member
Registered: 2012-08-21
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

I am experiencing this same problem, on Lenovo ThinkPad T61p, Nvidia card.

Fresh arch linux installation (only base system installed)
Turn laptop on with VGA plugged in.
BIOS messages appear on the VGA monitor, follows by the syslinux menu and early Arch Linux output
VGA turns off, rest of Arch Linux boot messages appear on laptop monitor. --normally this text would appear cloned on both VGA and LVDS
(when continued on a system with X setup + nouveau)
xrandr lists the VGA port as disconnected, regardless whether or not the cable is plugged in.

update: switching from linux to linux-lts fixed this problem for me

Last edited by rawf (2013-04-23 17:09:05)

Offline

#8 2013-04-26 13:45:20

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

@Rawf - no offence, but it doesn't sound like the same problem at all.

@Kuben - I found out that pluggin the display in during my GRUB menu turns both outputs blank, however continuing the boot process it will work as intended, with cloned display. Until you change this ofcourse :-) This way, I do not need to boot random live distros to get the DP1 "kickstarted".

Offline

#9 2013-04-29 12:26:55

kuben
Member
Registered: 2013-03-17
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

@liq^

It didn't work for me sad Nothing happens when I plug the display in at GRUB

Offline

#10 2013-05-08 14:32:30

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

So I am coming closer to an explanation of why I cannot get the display working.

I found out that my DP-1 port is reported as disabled by cat'ing /sys/class/drm/card0-DP-1/enabled, changing this, which I am not allowed, is mostlikely due to KMS. Trying to change the permissions is a fools errand. I also tried to see if it was related to the power settings under ../power/control - and settings this value, you are allowed to. However it doesn't change a thing, since the port will be "disabled" after a while of inactivity. I was going to fix up a udev rule, but since the port is set as "disabled" I do not get any udev event, when pluggin in the display.

So my issue is somehow related to KMS, and the fact that the system is not picking up on the attached monitor automatically, or the very least have some method of enabling it manually, where I am currently not allowed to (presumably because of KMS) change the state of the port from userspace hmm 

However, if I attach my monitor during GRUB, it will be detected during boot, and afterwards the udevadm monitor is able to pickup the DP1 change - But I'd really like to know what or how to manually ensure that DP-1 is always (or on demand) enabled, even when using KMS (which is req. by Intel now).

I have yet to find a method to enable the DP-1 port, through kernel space - switching TTY's doesn't help a thing.

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-08 23:35:28)

Offline

#11 2013-05-09 14:48:10

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

*EDIT* After having tested different adapter configurations, I am not that sure that this post has made any significant impact.

So I have figured out why I couldn't detect when a display is connected.  Apparently, display has been refering to the display buffer, instead of the KMS device "DRM". I solved this issue by copying a udev rule, from another distro.:

You can either place this in /lib/udev/rules.d/ or /etc/udev/rules.d - just note that rules placed in /etc/ will override those of /lib/ :-)

# do not edit this file, it will be overwritten on update

ACTION!="add", GOTO="graphics_end"

# Tag the drm device for KMS-supporting drivers as the primary device for
# the display; for non-KMS drivers tag the framebuffer device instead.

SUBSYSTEM!="drm", GOTO="drm_end"
KERNEL!="card[0-9]*", GOTO="drm_end"
ENV{DEVTYPE}!="drm_minor", GOTO="drm_end"

DRIVERS=="i915", ENV{PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY}="1"
DRIVERS=="radeon", ENV{PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY}="1"
DRIVERS=="nouveau", ENV{PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY}="1"

LABEL="drm_end"

SUBSYSTEM!="graphics", GOTO="graphics_end"

DRIVERS=="i915", GOTO="graphics_end"
DRIVERS=="radeon", GOTO="graphics_end"
DRIVERS=="nouveau", GOTO="graphics_end"

KERNEL=="fb[0-9]*", ENV{PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY}="1"

LABEL="graphics_end"

I am now able to use xrandr and set up scripts to automate the screen proportions and output etc. However, it's a mystery to me, why this rule is not, or was not included with my install.

I hope you are able to get closer to a resolution of your current challenges, based on some of my findings. Good luck :-)

Liq^over an out!

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-13 10:50:21)

Offline

#12 2013-05-10 12:34:30

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

So, another update; the solution I created the other day, with udev seems to only be working with a mini-dp to DVI adapter. My cheap miniDP to VGA converter is still giving me a headache. I will be getting a few adapters to test around with. But there might be an issue when using a mini-dp converted to an analog output , or it might just be my cheap-ass converter which is pure crap. Time will tell smile

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-11 12:24:03)

Offline

#13 2013-05-13 07:24:49

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

So far I have tested with:

Mini-DP to VGA = Not working, unless I apply work-around. Reboot with display connected.

Mini-DP to HDMI = Works.
.
Mini-DP to DVI  = Works.

and even Mini-DP->HDMI->DVI = Works.

So maybe the very first comment, from WonderWoofy - that it might be a bug, can still be the case. However, I guess I'll just avoid using analog converters smile

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-13 07:25:12)

Offline

#14 2013-05-20 08:36:34

Roldenburg
Member
Registered: 2013-05-20
Posts: 1

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

Hi all. I'm not running archunix but Ubuntu 13.04 on a macbookair mid-2012 and I experince exactly the same problems described above.

I can confirm that the udev rule helps somewhat. Unfortunaletly, the workaround to boot with the display connected only works by random for me, so in some cases it does, in others not. This is a very unpleasent because I have to use a variety of VGA projectors.   

Is there any other strategy? I bought a USB 2.0 external vga card. This works, but is so slow that it is not feasible for what I want to show.

Any ideas,
Reinhard

Offline

#15 2013-05-20 16:37:09

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

Roldenburg wrote:

Hi all. I'm not running archunix but Ubuntu 13.04 on a macbookair mid-2012 and I experince exactly the same problems described above.

I can confirm that the udev rule helps somewhat. Unfortunaletly, the workaround to boot with the display connected only works by random for me, so in some cases it does, in others not. This is a very unpleasent because I have to use a variety of VGA projectors.   

Is there any other strategy? I bought a USB 2.0 external vga card. This works, but is so slow that it is not feasible for what I want to show.

Any ideas,
Reinhard

These forums are for Arch Linux support only.  This is because Arch Linux users tend to have software that is far more up to date than that of other distributions.  I think that in this case, it actually might be that ubuntu is running a kernel that might be in line with Arch Linux for 13.04.  But typically, when other distribution users come here asking for help, they are often asking about things that are of a totally different version, and therefore totally different problems.

Not only that, but the entire base of the operating system, the init, is entirely different in ubuntu.  You all use upstart, which is something that was actually created by ubuntu, while here we have been using systemd for a bit.  I think that just really exemplifies the vast differences between any two distributions.  Sure you can go on a mint forum and the support will be the same because the underlying system is the same.  But that is not the case here.

I wish you luck in solving your problem, and this thread might cetainly be one to watch.  It might even be the solution for you.  But I think your participation in this thread will actually just potentialy derail this thread from being about Arch Linux support.

Sorry.

Offline

#16 2013-05-22 08:01:50

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

So I just tested again, after the recent updates. And oddly enough, my VGA converter worked with only switching TTY this time. No reboot or work-around required. 

I haven't tested this any futher, as I am at work - but I just wanted to let you know, so you could test again and possibly report back on your findings :-)

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-22 16:58:09)

Offline

#17 2013-05-22 14:47:09

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

No reboot, eh?  I would be curoius to know what pakages were updated in that particular round.  Can you check your pacman.log and see what it did?

Offline

#18 2013-05-22 17:00:28

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

*Update*

Wow, I seriously have no clue what is going on here - now I am not able to reproduce the working external display, with my VGA converter w/o having to apply the work-around *Shrug*

Incase you wanted to see, I have included the lastest of my pacman log - however, I think it was just a fluke. One which I'd love to be able to reproduce.

Pacman log:

[2013-05-15 10:59] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-15 10:59] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded evince (3.8.0-1 -> 3.8.2-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded firefox (20.0.1-5 -> 21.0-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded glib2 (2.36.1-3 -> 2.36.2-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded gnupg (2.0.19-7 -> 2.0.20-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded gtk-vnc (0.5.2-1 -> 0.5.2-2)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded gvfs (1.16.1-2 -> 1.16.2-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded libwbclient (4.0.5-2 -> 4.0.5-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded libsasl (2.1.23-10 -> 2.1.26-2)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded libldap (2.4.35-2 -> 2.4.35-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded smbclient (4.0.5-2 -> 4.0.5-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded gvfs-smb (1.16.1-2 -> 1.16.2-1)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded libcap (2.22-4 -> 2.22-5)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> You may need to run 'rm -rf ~/.libvirt'
[2013-05-15 11:00] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> libvirt runs qemu from nobody:nobody by default
[2013-05-15 11:00] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> change it in /etc/libvirt/qemu.conf
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded libvirt (1.0.5-3 -> 1.0.5-4)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded mplayer (35920-2 -> 35920-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded pcmciautils (018-6 -> 018-7)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded php (5.4.15-1 -> 5.4.15-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded qemu (1.4.1-2 -> 1.4.1-3)
[2013-05-15 11:00] [PACMAN] upgraded sudo (1.8.6.p8-1 -> 1.8.6.p8-2)
[2013-05-15 11:02] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S gparted'
[2013-05-15 11:02] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] If you use a lightweight windowmanager, remember to run
[2013-05-15 11:02] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 to enable
[2013-05-15 11:02] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] graphical authentication, which may be needed for pkexec to work.
[2013-05-15 11:02] [PACMAN] installed gparted (0.16.1-1)
[2013-05-15 11:02] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S ntfs-3g'
[2013-05-15 11:02] [PACMAN] installed ntfs-3g (2013.1.13-3)
[2013-05-16 01:04] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-16 01:04] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-16 01:04] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-16 01:05] [PACMAN] upgraded jre7-openjdk-headless (7.u21_2.3.9-2 -> 7.u21_2.3.9-3)
[2013-05-16 01:05] [PACMAN] upgraded jre7-openjdk (7.u21_2.3.9-2 -> 7.u21_2.3.9-3)
[2013-05-16 01:31] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-16 01:31] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-16 01:31] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-16 13:31] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S dnsmasq'
[2013-05-16 13:31] [PACMAN] reinstalled dnsmasq (2.66-1)
[2013-05-16 13:49] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S net-tools'
[2013-05-16 13:49] [PACMAN] installed net-tools (1.60.20120804git-2)
[2013-05-16 13:53] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S lsof'
[2013-05-16 13:53] [PACMAN] installed lsof (4.87-1)
[2013-05-16 13:56] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wireshark'
[2013-05-16 13:57] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wireshark-gtk'
[2013-05-16 13:57] [PACMAN] installed lua51 (5.1.5-3)
[2013-05-16 13:57] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] /tmp/alpm_Ck9z8w/.INSTALL: line 4: /usr/sbin/setcap: No such file or directory
[2013-05-16 13:57] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] NOTE: To run wireshark as normal user you have to add yourself into wireshark group
[2013-05-16 13:57] [PACMAN] installed wireshark-cli (1.8.6-2)
[2013-05-16 13:57] [PACMAN] installed wireshark-gtk (1.8.6-2)
[2013-05-16 14:06] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Rns net-tools'
[2013-05-16 14:06] [PACMAN] removed net-tools (1.60.20120804git-2)
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] upgraded ca-certificates (20130119-1 -> 20130119-2)
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] upgraded hwids (20130228-1 -> 20130512-1)
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] upgraded inetutils (1.9.1-4 -> 1.9.1-5)
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] upgraded logrotate (3.8.4-1 -> 3.8.4-2)
[2013-05-17 00:23] [PACMAN] upgraded util-linux (2.23-1 -> 2.23-2)
[2013-05-18 21:35] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-18 21:35] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-18 21:35] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded alsa-utils (1.0.27-4 -> 1.0.27-5)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded cracklib (2.8.22-1 -> 2.8.22-2)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded keyutils (1.5.5-3 -> 1.5.5-4)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded krb5 (1.11.2-1 -> 1.11.2-3)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded libcups (1.6.2-1 -> 1.6.2-2)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded cups (1.6.2-1 -> 1.6.2-2)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded freetype2 (2.4.11-2 -> 2.4.12-1)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded gnupg (2.0.20-1 -> 2.0.20-2)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded groff (1.22.2-2 -> 1.22.2-3)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded iputils (20121221-1 -> 20121221-2)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded libdrm (2.4.44-2 -> 2.4.45-1)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded python2 (2.7.4-1 -> 2.7.5-1)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded xf86-input-synaptics (1.7.0-1 -> 1.7.1-1)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded xorg-fonts-alias (1.0.2-2 -> 1.0.3-1)
[2013-05-18 21:36] [PACMAN] upgraded xorg-xrefresh (1.0.4-3 -> 1.0.5-1)
[2013-05-19 17:28] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-19 17:28] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-19 17:29] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded automake (1.13.1-1 -> 1.13.2-1)
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded cifs-utils (6.0-1 -> 6.0-2)
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded dosfstools (3.0.16-1 -> 3.0.16-2)
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded efibootmgr (0.6.0-1 -> 0.6.0-2)
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded parted (3.1-1 -> 3.1-2)
[2013-05-20 01:31] [PACMAN] upgraded gparted (0.16.1-1 -> 0.16.1-3)
[2013-05-20 01:32] [PACMAN] upgraded icu (51.1-1 -> 51.1-2)
[2013-05-20 01:32] [PACMAN] upgraded vpnc (0.5.3.svn516-3 -> 0.5.3.svn527-1)
[2013-05-20 01:32] [PACMAN] upgraded networkmanager-vpnc (0.9.8.0-1 -> 0.9.8.0-2)
[2013-05-20 02:52] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S slrn'
[2013-05-20 02:52] [PACMAN] installed slrn (1.0.1-1)
[2013-05-20 02:52] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S metamail'
[2013-05-20 02:52] [PACMAN] installed metamail (2.7-6)
[2013-05-20 22:36] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-20 22:36] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-20 22:36] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM] warning: /usr/lib/avahi/service-types.db installed as /usr/lib/avahi/service-types.db.pacnew
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded avahi (0.6.31-7 -> 0.6.31-9)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] updating font cache... done.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded fontconfig (2.10.92-4 -> 2.10.93-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded gparted (0.16.1-3 -> 0.16.1-4)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded gpm (1.20.7-2 -> 1.20.7-3)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded jre7-openjdk-headless (7.u21_2.3.9-3 -> 7.u21_2.3.9-4)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded jre7-openjdk (7.u21_2.3.9-3 -> 7.u21_2.3.9-4)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> Updating module dependencies. Please wait ...
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> Generating initial ramdisk, using mkinitcpio.  Please wait...
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'default'
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux.img
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Starting build: 3.9.3-1-ARCH
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [base]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [udev]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [modconf]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [block]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [fsck]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Generating module dependencies
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Creating gzip initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Image generation successful
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'fallback'
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img -S autodetect
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Starting build: 3.9.3-1-ARCH
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [base]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [udev]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [modconf]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [block]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: bfa
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [fsck]
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Generating module dependencies
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Creating gzip initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Image generation successful
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded linux (3.9.2-1 -> 3.9.3-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded linux-headers (3.9.2-1 -> 3.9.3-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded man-db (2.6.3-1 -> 2.6.3-3)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] 
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> The sshd daemon has been moved to /usr/bin alongside all binaries.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Please update this path in your scripts if applicable.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] 
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded openssh (6.2p1-1 -> 6.2p2-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded procps-ng (3.3.7-1 -> 3.3.7-2)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded sqlite (3.7.16.2-1 -> 3.7.17-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] vde config files should be placed in /etc/vde, sample files are provided.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] iptables and dhcpd sample files have been installed to '/usr/share/vde2'.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] Merge those examples, if needed to the according config files.
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded vde2 (2.3.2-2 -> 2.3.2-3)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded weechat (0.4.0-3 -> 0.4.1-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded wireshark-cli (1.8.6-2 -> 1.8.7-1)
[2013-05-20 22:39] [PACMAN] upgraded wireshark-gtk (1.8.6-2 -> 1.8.7-1)
[2013-05-21 03:00] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-21 03:00] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-21 03:00] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-21 03:00] [PACMAN] upgraded fakeroot (1.18.4-1 -> 1.19-1)
[2013-05-21 16:43] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-21 16:43] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-21 16:43] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded pam (1.1.6-3 -> 1.1.6-4)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded cronie (1.4.9-2 -> 1.4.9-4)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded hdparm (9.43-1 -> 9.43-2)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded libwbclient (4.0.5-3 -> 4.0.5-4)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded mdadm (3.2.6-3 -> 3.2.6-4)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded pciutils (3.2.0-2 -> 3.2.0-3)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded smbclient (4.0.5-3 -> 4.0.5-4)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded udisks2 (2.1.0-1 -> 2.1.0-2)
[2013-05-21 16:44] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] vde config files should be placed in /etc/vde, sample files are provided.
[2013-05-21 16:44] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] iptables and dhcpd sample files have been installed to '/usr/share/vde2'.
[2013-05-21 16:44] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] Merge those examples, if needed to the according config files.
[2013-05-21 16:44] [PACMAN] upgraded vde2 (2.3.2-3 -> 2.3.2-4)
[2013-05-22 10:28] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-22 10:28] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-22 10:28] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-22 10:28] [PACMAN] upgraded chromium (26.0.1410.63-2 -> 27.0.1453.93-1)
[2013-05-22 10:28] [PACMAN] upgraded krb5 (1.11.2-3 -> 1.11.2-4)
[2013-05-22 18:06] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-22 18:06] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Suy'
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] upgraded alsa-lib (1.0.27-2 -> 1.0.27.1-1)
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] upgraded alsa-utils (1.0.27-5 -> 1.0.27.1-1)
[2013-05-22 18:15] [PACMAN] upgraded kbd (1.15.5-3 -> 1.15.5-4)

*Yet another update*

So actually I accomplished figuring out how to get it working, w/o rebootin! At first I thouht; "narh that's too far out". However the new workaround I have, is this: While transporting my laptop, the lid is ofc closed. If I insert my AC adapter and VGA converter, BEFORE I open the lid - it will work, with simply switching tty.

Some additional info I want to add; I have a script (enables and disables some power settings,  which runs on lid open and close according to battery state, and also I have recently enabled "Bootsplash on External Display, at boot" (some thinkpad option). Lastly I work and login from tty1, instead of tty7 - I do not know if this is a reason for me having to swtich tty's before xrandr picks up on the attached display output.


If I simply run my power management script  manually it doesn't seem to make any difference, which suggest it has nothing to do with it (which it shouldn't!). However opening the lid, after having plugged in the VGA converter enables me to detect monitors on the port w/o having to reboot. This sh*t is making me slightly confused right about now ^_^

Last edited by liq^ (2013-05-22 18:11:42)

Offline

#19 2013-07-04 06:58:03

liq^
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 15

Re: MacBook Air not detecting external display

I dunno what has changed, but it is non-issue for me now. No work arounds, like switching ttys or anything. I guess it might have been a bug which got cleaned out in some Intel package  neutral

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB