You are not logged in.

#1 2004-01-20 04:06:05

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

j2sdk has been split into j2re and j2sdk.  Problem is that a directory in the old j2sdk has become a symlink and pacman doesn't like that much.

You'll have to pacman -R j2sdk and then pacman -S j2sdk for the upgrade to go through properly.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#2 2004-01-20 08:30:45

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

hmm ... doesn't seem to solve things ...

[damir@Asteraceae damir]$ su
Password:
[root@Asteraceae damir]# pacman -R j2sdk j2re
error: this will break the following dependencies:
  j2sdk: is required by apache-ant
  j2sdk: is required by eclipse
  j2sdk: is required by jdom
  j2sdk: is required by jedit
[root@Asteraceae damir]# pacman -Rd j2sdk j2re
removing j2sdk... done.
removing j2re... done.
[root@Asteraceae damir]# pacman -S j2sdk

Targets: j2re-1.4.2_03-1 j2sdk-1.4.2_03-2

Proceed with upgrade? [Y/n]

checking package integrity... done.
loading package data... done.
checking for file conflicts... done.
installing j2re... done.
installing j2sdk... could not extract opt/j2sdk/jre: Is a directory
errors occurred while installing j2sdk
done.
[root@Asteraceae damir]#

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-01-20 08:32:53

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

what about directly installing the jre to  opt/j2sdk/jre --- and not at all needing to "ln"-it?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-01-20 15:42:41

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

I could do that... but I don't really like that solution.

The other option is to erase that directory (/ort/j2sdk/jre) before upgrade.  Mind trying that before I update the email?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#5 2004-01-20 17:54:44

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

Xentac wrote:

I could do that... but I don't really like that solution.

why not? this is actually the place it belongs ... symlink it to the other place you wanted it installed, if it is needed (never installed only jre)

Xentac wrote:

The other option is to erase that directory (/ort/j2sdk/jre) before upgrade.  Mind trying that before I update the email?

actually i'm not happy with the idea to have a preinstall script "rm"-ing anything in my system ... trying anyway ...


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-01-20 18:03:15

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

ok, it worked, but i had to reinstall my additional java libs, because rm-ing "jre" rm-ed also these files (jdom jdsl ... jdom can be found in the TUR's, jdsl is licenced not to be copied around)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#7 2004-01-20 22:46:07

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

Tha's why it didn't work!  I bet it'll work on most people's systems too!  Make your java packages install into the jre's directory instead of the j2sdk's.  In the end it's the same thing, but the problem was that the jre directory wasn't empty on your system.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#8 2004-01-20 23:50:20

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: j2sdk split into j2re and j2sdk

Xentac wrote:

Tha's why it didn't work!  I bet it'll work on most people's systems too!  Make your java packages install into the jre's directory instead of the j2sdk's.  In the end it's the same thing, but the problem was that the jre directory wasn't empty on your system.

i see ... ok, changed jdom to install to jre directly


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB