You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-15 03:34:23

12o
Member
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 79

[SOLVED] Resetting a package installation to change providers

I'm trying to install a lib32-glu package onto my desktop provided by nvidia. When I first attempted to install, I was given a list of providers to choose from: something like 1) lib32-glu-mesa, 2) lib32-glu-nvidia, etc. I chose mesa by mistake when I found out later I need the nvidia. I uninstalled the lib32-glu and attempted to re-install. However, now it doesn't provide a list of providers to choose from, it goes right to asking if I want to install the mesa provided package. I tried refreshing using pacman -Syu with no effect. I tried deleting the package from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg with no effect. I tried reinstalling pacman with no effect. No matter what I do, I still can't get back to that list of providers to choose the nvidia package. I read through the pacman wiki and there's nothing that shows how to fix this (searching for "providers" produced no results). I tried searching on google for "arch linux pacman change providers" and received nothing back. I searched through the forums but didn't find anything either.

Is there a way to set it all the way back so I can have that choice again? I really don't want to re-install Arch Linux just so I can go back to that point.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by 12o (2013-05-15 04:17:53)


Silence is golden.... duct tape is silver.

Time flies like the wind,
Fruit flies like bananas.

Offline

#2 2013-05-15 04:06:56

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,119

Re: [SOLVED] Resetting a package installation to change providers

I think you're thinking of lib32-libgl, not lib32-glu. There are no alternatives for lib32-glu.

Last edited by Scimmia (2013-05-15 04:07:27)

Offline

#3 2013-05-15 04:17:32

12o
Member
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 79

Re: [SOLVED] Resetting a package installation to change providers

Scimmia wrote:

I think you're thinking of lib32-libgl, not lib32-glu. There are no alternatives for lib32-glu.

I think that's what screwed me up. I installed both packages at once, but for some reason I read glu and not the libgl. I thought that one went in fine. That fixed it. Thanks. smile


Silence is golden.... duct tape is silver.

Time flies like the wind,
Fruit flies like bananas.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB