You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-15 23:10:28

hcra
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 56

[SOLVED] avahi-daemon.service fails to load

I enable avahi at startup using systemctl

systemctl enable avahi-daemon.service 

After upgrading to avahi 0.6.31-8 in Testing, avahi fails to load at boot.

dmesg 
...
[    1.595337] systemd[1]: [/usr/lib/systemd/system/avahi-daemon.service:25] Executable path is not absolute, ignoring: bindir@/avahi-daemon -s
[    1.595455] systemd[1]: [/usr/lib/systemd/system/avahi-daemon.service:26] Executable path is not absolute, ignoring: bindir@/avahi-daemon -r
[    1.595618] systemd[1]: avahi-daemon.service lacks ExecStart setting. Refusing.
[    1.614643] systemd[1]: Cannot add dependency job for unit avahi-daemon.service, ignoring: Unit avahi-daemon.service failed to load: Invalid argument. See system logs and 'systemctl status avahi-daemon.service' for details.

I tried disabling and reenabling avahi-daemon.service, but it still fails to load at boot.

systemctl status avahi-daemon.service 
avahi-daemon.service - Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD Stack
Loaded: error (Reason: Invalid argument)
Active: inactive (dead)

Neither Google or the Wiki pointed the way forward. I'm wide open to advice. Thanks so much for looking.

Last edited by hcra (2013-05-17 02:45:33)

Offline

#2 2013-05-16 00:59:03

Almehdin
Member
Registered: 2012-05-05
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] avahi-daemon.service fails to load

If you roll back to the previous version.. do you get it to work? The 'systemctl status' should have added a couple of lines with errors at the bottom. What did they say? Have you looked in the 'journalctl' log?

Offline

#3 2013-05-16 19:41:15

tobsen
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED] avahi-daemon.service fails to load

For me this is fixed by the latest avahi update.

Offline

#4 2013-05-17 02:48:46

hcra
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 56

Re: [SOLVED] avahi-daemon.service fails to load

tobsen wrote:

For me this is fixed by the latest avahi update.

Thanks, tobsen. After upgrading to avahi 0.6.31-9, the daemon loads correctly for me too.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB