You are not logged in.

#5276 2013-05-15 05:16:10

petecan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-02
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi all, I have a clevo P150EM: enduro with AMD 7970m + intel hd4000. Everything works great (thanks violo!) but the fan is noisy: if I switch to the igpu the dgpu fan is never completelly switched off, if I'm on dgpu (low performance) mode the fan spins on and off constantly. I'm not sure if these are more a BIOS setup problem than drivers. Anyway I wanted to ask a couple of questions:

- I cannot get/set the GPU fan speed. If I run "aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"" I get:
"PPLIB command execution has failed!
ati_pplib_cmd: execute "get" failed!"
Is this expected with my card?

- Is there a way to automatically set the low performance powerplay setting without opening amdccl? I need to do it manually each time I log in.

Thanks a mill

Offline

#5277 2013-05-15 05:19:49

mrman
Member
Registered: 2010-02-05
Posts: 26

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Thanks MadNoob. The script works great.

MadNoob wrote:

Guys i wrote a script to bypass brightness bug  with 13.4 drivers. Some levels still can't be set on my notebook, but it works for the most.

Newbies guide:

1] Create a file
2] Paste the code at bottom and save it as modify-brightness
3] Go super user
4] Write one of the following commands

Commands:

sh modify-brightness + | Increase brightness level
sh modify-brightness - | Decrease brighness level
sh modify-brightness set 3 | set level (any integer level value supported by your monitor)
sh modify-brightness show | show actual level

Code:

#!/bin/bash
screen="acpi_video0"
tries=20
brightnessMaxLevel=$(cat /sys/class/backlight/$screen/max_brightness);
brightnessActualLevel=$(cat /sys/class/backlight/$screen/actual_brightness);
brightnessFile="/sys/class/backlight/$screen/brightness"
i=0
case "$1" in
	"+")
		if [ "$brightnessActualLevel" -lt "$brightnessMaxLevel" ]; then
			brightnessNewLevel=$(($brightnessActualLevel+1));
			while [ "$i" -ne "$tries" ]; do
				echo $brightnessNewLevel > $brightnessFile;
				i=$(($i+1));
			done
		fi
	;;
	"-")
		if [ "$brightnessActualLevel" -gt "1" ]; then
			brightnessNewLevel=$(($brightnessActualLevel-1));
			while [ "$i" -ne "$tries" ]; do
				echo $brightnessNewLevel > $brightnessFile;
				i=$(($i+1));
			done
		fi
	;;
	"set")
			while [ "$i" -ne "$tries" ]; do
				echo $2 > $brightnessFile;
				i=$(($i+1));
			done
	;;
	"show")
			echo $brightnessActualLevel
	;;
esac

Hope it helps, sorry for my bad english! smile

Offline

#5278 2013-05-15 20:52:06

Anders H
Member
From: Reno, NV
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 43
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

draci2342 wrote:
Anders H wrote:

I am currently using Catalyst-hook 13.4-2 and last night I upgraded to Linux 3.9.2-1 and Linux-headers 3.9.2-1 after rebooting I was met with a black screen.

I ran into the same problem today. It seems that for some reason the nomodeset kernel parameter does not disable KMS in Linux 3.9

I found a really ugly workaround though. If you pass radeon.modeset=0 as kernel parameter, KMS will be disabled and you get to see your desktop environment.
(I know that we are not using the radeon driver here. It throws some ugly warnings, too.)

Does any one know a proper fix for this?

Thank you! big_smile

This seems to solve the issue, but I still don't get why "nomodeset" is not preventing this problem in the first place. Something changed in the new kernel. tongue

Anon11 wrote:

Just fyi , i dont have any problem with 3.9.2.1 kernel + catalyst latest + xorg 1.13 from repo
I have nomodeset set.
KDE works fine.
Have 6755g2 (mobile)

Hmmm..... I am using two 6870's maybe this issue is specific to a particular chip set. Draci2342 what card are you using?

Offline

#5279 2013-05-16 17:57:55

baldosa
Member
Registered: 2012-07-27
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Anders H wrote:

Hmmm..... I am using two 6870's maybe this issue is specific to a particular chip set. Draci2342 what card are you using?

I'm running 3.9.2.1 + catalyst total + xorg 1.13.4 + openbox with a 6870 and everything works without problems.

But I'm using 13.4-1, i don't see a 13.4-2 pkg in the AUR. It's from catalyst repo?

Offline

#5280 2013-05-16 19:50:41

rhqq
Member
Registered: 2013-05-16
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I just upgraded my arch and it decided to show me middle finger:
* gdm starts, changes resolution and then... blank screen, no cursor, sometimes I'm able to use ctrl+alt+f3 to switch to other tty
* when disabled gdm, started system and tried to run startx i have:

X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.8.10-1-ARCH x86_64 
Current Operating System: Linux zomgzator 3.9.2-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 11 20:31:08 CEST 2013 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda1 ro nomodeset
Build Date: 28 April 2013  06:27:40PM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.30.0
	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu May 16 21:22:53 2013
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@1:0:1) found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 52: twm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 53: xclock: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 56: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 54: xterm: command not found
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.

Please let me know what else do you need to make my arch running.

Offline

#5281 2013-05-16 20:26:52

adoa
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 22

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@rhqq: Have you seen this thread?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=163331

It seems to be some problem with gnome-shell + catalyst

Offline

#5282 2013-05-16 21:19:14

rhqq
Member
Registered: 2013-05-16
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@adoa: well, i have 50/50 success here wink at least i could start x'es, but still have issues:

X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.8.10-1-ARCH x86_64 
Current Operating System: Linux zomgzator 3.9.2-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 11 20:31:08 CEST 2013 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda1 ro nomodeset
Build Date: 28 April 2013  06:27:40PM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.30.0
	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu May 16 23:49:22 2013
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@1:0:1) found
/usr/bin/gnome-shell: error while loading shared libraries: libcogl-pango.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/gnome-shell: error while loading shared libraries: libcogl-pango.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
gnome-session[1443]: WARNING: App 'gnome-shell.desktop' respawning too quickly
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
>                   Ignoring extra symbols
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
/usr/lib/evolution/3.6/evolution-alarm-notify: error while loading shared libraries: libical.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/lib/tracker/tracker-miner-fs: error while loading shared libraries: libtracker-sparql-0.16.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/lib/tracker/tracker-store: error while loading shared libraries: libtracker-data.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

** (nautilus:1506): WARNING **: libtracker-sparql-0.16.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

** (nm-applet:1504): WARNING **: Could not initialize NMClient /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager: Unit dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service failed to load: No such file or directory. See system logs and 'systemctl status dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service' for details.

** (nm-applet:1504): WARNING **: Error connecting to ModemManager: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.freedesktop.ModemManager1: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.service failed to load: No such file or directory. See system logs and 'systemctl status dbus-org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.service' for details.
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area

** (nm-applet:1504): WARNING **: fetch_connections_done: error fetching connections: (32) Unit dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service failed to load: No such file or directory. See system logs and 'systemctl status dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service' for details..

** (nm-applet:1504): WARNING **: Failed to register as an agent: (32) Unit dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service failed to load: No such file or directory. See system logs and 'systemctl status dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service' for details.

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed

(gnome-settings-daemon:1463): wacom-plugin-CRITICAL **: gsd_wacom_device_get_device_type: assertion `GSD_IS_WACOM_DEVICE (device)' failed
gnome-session[1443]: CRITICAL: gsm_manager_set_phase: assertion `GSM_IS_MANAGER (manager)' failed
gnome-session[1443]: Gtk-CRITICAL: gtk_main_quit: assertion `main_loops != NULL' failed
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.

tried to downgrade everything to previous version from cache but all sucks now

Last edited by rhqq (2013-05-16 22:01:00)

Offline

#5283 2013-05-17 17:37:56

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I'm planning to add modified gnome 3.8.2 packages into catalyst repositories (or maybe it's better to create additional repo?), i'm now just waiting for a comment here

Offline

#5284 2013-05-17 18:45:24

rhqq
Member
Registered: 2013-05-16
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@up that would be great! any ETA after you receive all information required? also - as long as it is related somehow to drivers and its temporary - it should stay within the current repo. btw - what will you do once the issue is gone and "normal" gnomian packages are fine? will there be anything manual required in order to come back to proper ones?

Last edited by rhqq (2013-05-17 21:10:49)

Offline

#5285 2013-05-17 21:10:59

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

ok, so here's the temp repo:

[gnome-catalyst]
Server = http://catalyst.wirephire.com/repo/gnome-catalyst/$arch

edit: it's just a couple of packages, taken from [extra] and recompiled without messing options + pkgrel bump. Hmm... putting this repo above other repos could be a good idea.
I cannot tell when or even will it be fixed, but i'm pretty sure that we will notice it, and if this will happen I will remove the temp repo - so even if you won't follow this forum you would notice (if then after removing this temp repo from pacman.conf official packages won't update automatically you should find info here or just ask) .
Also: what do you mean by a "current repo", rhqq?

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2013-05-17 21:42:41)

Offline

#5286 2013-05-18 09:59:10

rhqq
Member
Registered: 2013-05-16
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Vi0L0: actually i thought about it for a while and i think you should have a separate repo for all the "hacks" over broken packages, that will be updated accordingly to current situation, so that after any issues with particular package, you'd just remove it from the repo. i've also tested packages prepaired by you - all is working fine - thanks for quick update! lemme know where do you live, so next time im in your city, we'll go for a beer... or copule wink

Offline

#5287 2013-05-18 20:05:58

draci2342
Member
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 4

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Anders H wrote:

Draci2342 what card are you using?

I am using a 7770

Offline

#5288 2013-05-19 07:27:42

Anders H
Member
From: Reno, NV
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 43
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

baldosa wrote:
Anders H wrote:

Hmmm..... I am using two 6870's maybe this issue is specific to a particular chip set. Draci2342 what card are you using?

I'm running 3.9.2.1 + catalyst total + xorg 1.13.4 + openbox with a 6870 and everything works without problems.

But I'm using 13.4-1, i don't see a 13.4-2 pkg in the AUR. It's from catalyst repo?

I just double checked version numbers to be safe and it is 13.4-2, I am using the catalyst repo as well as the xorg 113 repo that Vi0L0 is kind enough to maintain.


draci2342 wrote:

I am using a 7770

Ok, well maybe its not just one chip set. Maybe it is an issue with KDM? You are using the same catalyst version as me catalyst-hook 13.4-2 right?


Well at least my system is booting properly so unless someone can find a "better" fix for this I'm going to just call this another one of Catalyst's "charms" for now.

Last edited by Anders H (2013-05-19 07:29:58)

Offline

#5289 2013-05-19 10:39:00

draci2342
Member
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 4

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Anders H wrote:

Well at least my system is booting properly so unless someone can find a "better" fix for this I'm going to just call this another one of Catalyst's "charms" for now.

Yay! I fixed it. I still had radeon in the modules section in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf. No idea why that didn't cause problems before.
So after removing it and rebuilding the initramdisk I can now boot with only the nomodeset option just fine. smile

Last edited by draci2342 (2013-05-21 09:03:24)

Offline

#5290 2013-05-19 12:35:38

rhqq
Member
Registered: 2013-05-16
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Vi0L0: just noticed that fullscreen flash videos doesn't work. not sure if its either flash, gnome or catalyst problem - i've upgraded all at once. on openbox all works fine (except of vsync).

Offline

#5291 2013-05-19 13:43:40

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Sorry for late answer, I've been really busy this week

rhqq wrote:

@Vi0L0: actually i thought about it for a while and i think you should have a separate repo for all the "hacks" over broken packages, that will be updated accordingly
to current situation, so that after any issues with particular package, you'd just remove it from the repo.

Not a bad idea, but... until now there was no reason of creating such a "hacks only" repo, maybe it's not needed that much, for now i would like to wait and see how will gnome 3.8 case end up.

rhqq wrote:

i've also tested packages prepaired by you - all is working fine - thanks for quick update! lemme know where do you live, so next time im in your city, we'll go for a beer... or copule wink

I live in the boat city, feel invited wink

Anders H wrote:
baldosa wrote:
Anders H wrote:

Hmmm..... I am using two 6870's maybe this issue is specific to a particular chip set. Draci2342 what card are you using?

I'm running 3.9.2.1 + catalyst total + xorg 1.13.4 + openbox with a 6870 and everything works without problems.

But I'm using 13.4-1, i don't see a 13.4-2 pkg in the AUR. It's from catalyst repo?

I just double checked version numbers to be safe and it is 13.4-2, I am using the catalyst repo as well as the xorg 113 repo that Vi0L0 is kind enough to maintain.

Don't be bothered about the version - package on the repo was bumped to bring conflict with catalyst-dkms, there's no other difference

rhqq wrote:

@Vi0L0: just noticed that fullscreen flash videos doesn't work. not sure if its either flash, gnome or catalyst problem - i've upgraded all at once. on openbox all works fine (except of vsync).

I'm now on the GNOME now and it seems to work fine on both versions of flash - from the repo and from the chromium-dev

Maybe this will help:

$ cat /etc/adobe/mms.cfg
#Hardware video decoding
#EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=1
OverrideGPUValidation=true

Offline

#5292 2013-05-19 17:37:15

adoa
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 22

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I just added gnome-catalyst repo (above all other repos including xorg-113) but pacman shows me weird error messages when trying pacman -Syu:

error: cogl: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/cogl-1.14.0-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n]  
error: clutter: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/clutter-1.14.4-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: gnome-shell: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/gnome-shell-3.8.2-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: totem: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/totem-3.8.2-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

What  am I doing wrong?

Offline

#5293 2013-05-19 18:22:45

gonX
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2009-08-16
Posts: 110

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

adoa wrote:

I just added gnome-catalyst repo (above all other repos including xorg-113) but pacman shows me weird error messages when trying pacman -Syu:

error: cogl: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/cogl-1.14.0-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n]  
error: clutter: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/clutter-1.14.4-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: gnome-shell: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/gnome-shell-3.8.2-3-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: totem: missing required signature
:: File /var/cache/pacman/pkg/totem-3.8.2-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz is corrupted (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature)).
Do you want to delete it? [Y/n] 
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

What  am I doing wrong?

That has nothing to do with ATI/AMD, Try removing the mentioned files and run the command again.

Last edited by gonX (2013-05-19 18:22:55)


since 2009

Offline

#5294 2013-05-19 18:35:35

adoa
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 22

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Pacman already removes them upon pressing enter. Another pacman -Syu actually downloads the files again, but the error remains.

Offline

#5295 2013-05-19 21:30:08

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Maybe missing key?

# pacman-key --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xabed422d653c3094
# pacman-key --lsign-key 0xabed422d653c3094

Offline

#5296 2013-05-20 00:57:42

tehgeek
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 11

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Maybe missing key?

# pacman-key --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xabed422d653c3094
# pacman-key --lsign-key 0xabed422d653c3094

I'm getting the same thing (had key setup for your other repo's already), but I tried re-adding and still the same thing.  hmm

Offline

#5297 2013-05-20 08:26:29

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I will check this out after getting back home

Offline

#5298 2013-05-20 08:33:53

adoa
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 22

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I already had your key, too. Pacman still is not happy with the gnome-catalyst repo. Once again: Thank you Vi0L0 for all the time you spend making our graphics cards work.

Offline

#5299 2013-05-20 15:45:49

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,319
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

OK, temp repo is fixed now.



Plus we've got some tasty steaks:
- kernel 3.10 (tested on rc1 for now) support (via procfs workaround)
- fixed ttys (so no longer black screen after switching)

BIG THANKS for these goes to Krzysztof Kolasa :: https://github.com/kolasa


For now only catalyst-generator 13.4-3 got both patches, but I should to add the ttys fix into all 13.4 packages soon (tomorrow probably).
I will add 3.10 kernel support patch later (around 3.10 rc4-rc5) into all packages.

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2013-05-20 16:24:24)

Offline

#5300 2013-05-20 21:05:35

lano1106
Member
From: Canada, Montreal
Registered: 2012-11-22
Posts: 80
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi,

I just noticed the efi_enabled fix in catalyst-generator 13.4-3. Was the error responsible of a noticable problem? I guess possibly on non-efi platforms that fglrx was thinking efi was enabled.

but UEFI support is a new feature in catalyst 13.4 and I have no idea what is the value added of this support (Does someone know more about this feature?). I was even thinking about forcing KCL_EFI_IS_ENABLED() to return 0 even if I do run with UEFI enabled.

On a different side note in firegl_public.c

#if defined(CONFIG_AMD_IOMMU) || defined(CONFIG_DMAR)
    #define FIREGL_DMA_REMAPPING
#endif

I have noticed CONFIG_DMAR does not exist anymore. It has been replaced by CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU.
It is a bit tricky to include the fix in catalyst-generator because CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU is defined in most kernels but it doesn't mean that the Hardware Intel IOMMU will be on.

For people having a Intel chipset with VT-d. It might be worthwile to try. To enable FIREGL_DMA_REMAPPING,

1. replace CONFIG_DMAR by CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU in firegl_public.c and rebuild the driver
2. Enable VT-d in BIOS
3. Edit kernel command line param in grub.cfg by adding 'intel_iommu=on'

This could, in theory, improve DMA transfer and result into a small graphic performance boost.

Last edited by lano1106 (2013-05-20 21:07:43)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB