You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-18 03:06:34

zoran119
Member
Registered: 2009-03-10
Posts: 23

Starting another wm/de in a vt

On my Slackware box I can start up another window manager or desktop environment like this (for KDE for example): startx /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.kde -- :2 vt8.

Can I do something similar in Arch (I cannot find /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.* files)?

Offline

#2 2013-05-18 03:18:18

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

Arch Linux has a /etc/skel/.xinitrc file. You could copy it to your home folder and edit it to launch whatever environment you want.

You should be able to have multiple copies each named differently.

Offline

#3 2013-05-18 03:36:29

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,838
Website

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

Or just use one ~/.xinitrc that accepts parameters.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#4 2013-05-18 03:54:08

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,975

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

Trilby wrote:

Or just use one ~/.xinitrc that accepts parameters.

This is really easy if you do not use a graphical login manager.  Just switch to an unused console Ctrl-Alf-F(1-6), login in, and use startx to start an X session,

In my case, I issue a command like:  WM=kde startx
Here is my ~/.xinitrc:

setxkbmap -option ctrl:nocaps

case $WM in
openbox)
	exec dbus-launch openbox-session
	;;
gnome)
	exec gnome-session
	;;
e17)
     enlightenment_start
    ;;
vb)
    VirtualBox -startvm "Windows XP" -fullscreen
    ;;
xfce4)
    exec startxfce4
    ;;
compiz)
    .config/compiz/startup.sh&
    exec dbus-launch fusion-icon
    ;;
kde)
    conky &
    exec startkde
    ;;
*)
    exec dbus-launch openbox-session
#    conky &
#    exec startkde
    ;;
esac

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2013-05-18 04:46:07

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,356
Website

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

Doing

$ xinit /usr/bin/ratpoison -- :1

works fine for me. This opens the server on the first freely available VT.

Specifying a VT number works just as well.

Offline

#6 2013-05-18 05:36:33

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

@ewaller, you know that you can put that "setxkbmap" setting in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.conf?  In the keyboard catchall grouping, I just put 'Option "XKBOptions" "caps:super"' in teh end of that section, and blamo! no more pesky caps lock!

Edit: BTW, I use the "Super" key as the modifier key for i3.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-05-18 05:37:07)

Offline

#7 2013-05-18 07:13:44

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Starting another wm/de in a vt

Modifying /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.conf means one more .pacnew to deal with ;P

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB