You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-23 09:40:16

unilx
Member
From: Fredericton,Canada
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 183

(SOLVED) Trouble with kde & compiz-fusion

I was playing around with the virtual desktops on kde(The pager) and all but one of my VD's  turned black, i couldn't get them back, so i decided to format a day or two later... Big mistake. The install went alright, but when all was said and done, (kde full, Xorg installed etc...) I noticed that i couldn't auto login to my DE, and that i had no login manager(was unable to install one), also kde's shutdown & restart options were missing, as well as a few other glitches. Has anybody else experienced anything like this in the last few days/week? Is there some big issue/bug(s) with kde?  It seems very unstable. I also noticed that compiz-fusion has been removed from the repo's, what's up with that?
I haven't formatted in quite a while, so this was a unwelcome surprise.

Last edited by unilx (2013-05-24 12:08:09)

Offline

#2 2013-05-23 10:55:57

mythus
Member
From: MS Gulf Coast
Registered: 2008-05-15
Posts: 509
Website

Re: (SOLVED) Trouble with kde & compiz-fusion

Did you enable kdm.service? Did you check everything on the KDE wiki page?

systemctl enable kdm.service

Then restart.

For the record, I'm running KDE 4.10 and it runs very smoothly here on my end.


Legends of Nor'Ova - role playing community devoted to quality forum-based and table-top role play, home of the Legends of Nor'Ova Core Rule Book and Legends of Nor'Ova: Saga of Ablution steam punk like forum based RPG

Offline

#3 2013-05-23 16:14:21

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: (SOLVED) Trouble with kde & compiz-fusion

Mhh why would you use compiz with KDE? Kwin can all those funny wobbly window, cube stuff too.
There was some discussion on arch-dev-public about dropping compiz.

https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 24898.html

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-05-23 16:15:14)

Offline

#4 2013-05-24 03:37:49

unilx
Member
From: Fredericton,Canada
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 183

Re: (SOLVED) Trouble with kde & compiz-fusion

mythus wrote:

Did you enable kdm.service? Did you check everything on the KDE wiki page?

systemctl enable kdm.service

Then restart.

For the record, I'm running KDE 4.10 and it runs very smoothly here on my end.

My system was running well to, but after formating  every thing went to hell. I'll format again tomorrow, and follow the wiki to the letter to see if if i can figure out what's going on.


blackout23 wrote:

Mhh why would you use compiz with KDE? Kwin can all those funny wobbly window, cube stuff too.
There was some discussion on arch-dev-public about dropping compiz.

https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 24898.html

That's a shame, I've used both, and in my opinion, compiz is far superior.

Edit:  I was running this command ( systemctl enable kdm.service) from with in my desktop environment, which apparently, is a no go. Thanks for the help

Last edited by unilx (2013-05-24 12:09:42)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB