You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-02 23:09:13

nikron
Member
Registered: 2007-05-15
Posts: 130

Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

I wanted to create a second X11 server for a game that I can't tab out of.  I'm using gnome-shell.  Pulseaudio only plays audio when on display :0, anyway for it to play audio no matter what term/display you are on?

Thanks

Offline

#2 2013-05-25 13:08:01

artiom
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 108

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

Actually Pulseaudio only plays sound in an active session.
Look at this thread, we are discussing a similar issue: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=161245

Offline

#3 2013-05-25 20:57:42

mich41
Member
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 554

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

pacman -R pulseaudio

Offline

#4 2013-05-26 20:51:34

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,315
Website

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

mich41: if you haven't anything constructive to add to the thread, please reconsider. Your post could be construed as trolling...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2013-05-26 23:30:57

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,131

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

Oh, right in the face. I have wasted so much time, trying to get pulseaudio even close to outputting sound from different users over different X sessions at the same time. This gets gradually worse, the closer you come to trying to pull that off over HDMI.

You should read this explanation: http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/p … 12094.html
It will tell you, how your use case is too uncommon to be within the scope of PA. It will tell you, how annoying it would be, if more than one user could output sound at the same time and how wrong people are, when they misinterpret the term "multi-user". I could, but will not, rage all night about how people really think, audio and video can be compared in a meaningful way. *makes weird noises*

However, reading the post, you will notice, that the guy talks about running pulseaudio system-wide. This should be your query on your favorite crawler. I have stopped using PA, because it brought more abstraction for no effects.

Offline

#6 2013-05-27 09:05:36

Earnestly
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Posts: 804

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

Just login on the second tty so you have a valid logind session. That is all that's needed. PA is not hard, people just turn their brains off when using it.

I have stopped using PA, because it brought more abstraction for no effects.

The "effects" you seem to have missed are not really something a user would notice.
http://0pointer.de/blog/projects/pulse-glitch-free.html
An insightful post on Phoronix (eugh) by Paul Davis (Ardour and JACK developer)

Last edited by Earnestly (2013-05-27 09:10:31)

Offline

#7 2013-05-27 10:02:32

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,131

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

That's interesting. Will it play sound from both logins at the same time, or will I have to chose between, say, game and music?

Offline

#8 2013-05-27 10:24:40

Raynman
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 1,073

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

Awebb wrote:

That's interesting. Will it play sound from both logins at the same time, or will I have to chose between, say, game and music?

If I remember correctly, it will play from both logins at the same time. But switching from an active session to a tty where you do not yet have an active logind session, might result in losing sound from the active session (I think I had to switch back after logging in on the other tty and restart playback with mpd).

Offline

#9 2013-05-27 11:11:47

Earnestly
Member
Registered: 2011-08-18
Posts: 804

Re: Pulseaudio and multiple X11 sessions

Raynman wrote:

If I remember correctly, it will play from both logins at the same time.

Yep.

Raynman wrote:

But switching from an active session to a tty where you do not yet have an active logind session, might result in losing sound from the active session (I think I had to switch back after logging in on the other tty and restart playback with mpd).

Yep, however there is no need to restart mpd, simply switch back. Depending on how you've configured mpd, you may need to unpause the client.

Last edited by Earnestly (2013-05-27 11:17:34)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB