You are not logged in.

#126 2013-02-26 23:29:46

longint
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 28

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

$ vblank_mode=0 glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.111 FPS

As we've learned Ubuntu is different, vblank_mode seems not to work.

Suspend is working now by doing just nothing, strange.

Thungs getting better now...

Offline

#127 2013-03-04 21:38:43

mkasu
Member
Registered: 2013-03-04
Posts: 2
Website

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Right now I am very pleased with how well the rMBP works with Arch Linux. Most of the things worked out of the box.

Only thing I have a problem with: I currently use two external monitors for my work. As these have "normal" resolutions, I can not really use DPI/Zoom stuff to make stuff bigger. Therefore, the internal display is pretty much useless as third monitor, because of its 2880x1800 resolution. Is there any way I can get the internal monitor to run at 1680x1050 or something with the propretary nvidia drivers? I noticed the edid data for the display only lists the 2880x1800, so I can't set other resolutions with nvidia drivers. On nouveau, it works, but I can't switch to nouveau, as I work with OpenGL 4 and CUDA.

Offline

#128 2013-03-09 22:38:23

longint
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 28

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

mkasu, I've read about xrandr able to do this, but honestly, the only reason I bought Apple hardware the first time in my life is exactly the reasonable resolution! So personally I do not see any need to even think about lowering this.

News from my side: I got proprietary nvidia working running Arch, kernel 3.7 and I think the trick is, one HAS to use EFI to get it working (together with this DPLib setting). This is good to know as there are sources telling one is not allowed to use EFI to get it running. Anyway, now that I know it is working the way is open to merge back to Arch again...

Last edited by longint (2013-03-09 22:38:48)

Offline

#129 2013-03-14 14:41:42

mkasu
Member
Registered: 2013-03-04
Posts: 2
Website

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

longint, thanks for your answer. I don't really like the idea of lowering the resolution on internal display either, but I don't think there is another option, if you want to use external displays. I tried around with xrandr and found a post suggesting "xrandr --output DP-2 --scale .5x.5" or similar to reduce the resolution. Unfortunately, when I run this command, I get a black screen on all three displays.

Offline

#130 2013-03-14 16:57:15

longint
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 28

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

What about scaling before plugging in the external monitors?

Offline

#131 2013-04-04 12:25:48

growlizing
Member
Registered: 2012-05-07
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Anyone with suspend working running i915?

Mine just crashes (does not come back from suspend) running latest kernel from stable.

Offline

#132 2013-04-04 19:21:09

growlizing
Member
Registered: 2012-05-07
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Update:
Integrated intel card is not working at all for me. I see the error has been up here before, "i915: Invalid ROM content" at boot and no screens found attached by Xorg, with same xorg.confs as mentioned earlier in this thread.
I am running latest 3.8 kernel from stable, running with no kernel boot options set.

I tried downloading gfxcardstatus 2.1 in OS X and switching GPU before rebooting, but gfxcardstatus 2.1 says my macbook is not supported by this version and tells me to update. My macbook is the 15'' retina from October 2012.

Offline

#133 2013-04-07 11:29:50

growlizing
Member
Registered: 2012-05-07
Posts: 4

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Another bump and update. I found a google+ post today from greg kh which says the latest EFI update broke video for him. I have only tried after the latest EFI update that came with os x 10.8.3 which explains why it wasn't working for me at all. Awaiting new info before I try again tongue

Offline

#134 2013-04-07 13:31:32

jobraun
Member
Registered: 2013-04-07
Posts: 1

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

I have a mbp 15 2012 which is very similar to the retina mbp. I have problems with the integrated soundchip. Its not working. The card is detected correctly. When I open alsamixer I can choose this card, unmute it, but nothing happens. Alsa is working correctly. I have tested it with an external soundcard. I also tested to pass the model option to the snd_hda_intel module. No success, neither with 'mbp101' nor with 'mbp55' or 'mbp902'. I know this thread is only for the rmbp. But maybe someone has an advice for me?

Another point is the funny fancontrol. I have mentioned that the fans are starting to increase their speed when the cpu coretemps reaches about 90°C. Is this the normal behaviour? For example, when I compile a kernel, the coretemps are between 90°C and 100°C and the speed of the fans are about 5500rpm. Does someone run a custum fan daemon?

Offline

#135 2013-04-28 18:53:58

dispanser
Member
Registered: 2009-04-10
Posts: 20

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

I'm strongly consider gettting myself some Retina goodness.

There's a wealth of reports for every part of the system to work AND not work at the same time, so I'm a little confused.

I'm mainly concerned about battery life though. How much battery life  can I expect, depending on whether I'm using nvidia  or intel video?

Offline

#136 2013-04-29 06:12:21

aelman
Member
Registered: 2013-04-29
Posts: 1

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

dispanser wrote:

I'm strongly consider gettting myself some Retina goodness.

There's a wealth of reports for every part of the system to work AND not work at the same time, so I'm a little confused.

I'm mainly concerned about battery life though. How much battery life  can I expect, depending on whether I'm using nvidia  or intel video?

I use intel video and let KDE's power management keep screen brightness at around 60% (and winds down when idle). I get between 7 and 8 hours of constant use out of my 13" Retina. (Edit: I don't use the keyboard backlight to save power)

Every single feature I've tackled works perfectly. It just takes a bit of digging when you hit a wall. I would recommend Archlinux and KDE4 as the desktop environment. If you run into any issues, just post here and I'd be happy to help.

Last edited by aelman (2013-04-29 06:15:18)

Offline

#137 2013-05-26 07:44:58

tomgg
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 35

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Has anyone written/seen a kernel module that switches 'fn' and 'control' key behaviour? The keyboard is barely usable with the default OSX behaviour, and before somebody claims it can't be done, there are plenty of OSX hacks that work perfectly.

Offline

#138 2013-05-26 08:43:17

justforgetme
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-04-01
Posts: 41
Website

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

aelman wrote:

Every single feature I've tackled works perfectly. It just takes a bit of digging when you hit a wall. I would recommend Archlinux and KDE4 as the desktop environment. If you run into any issues, just post here and I'd be happy to help.

How did you solve xinerama? It doesn't work on mine with the intel driver and to get the nvidia driver to work i had to use bumblebee, which apparently makes gdm render through llvm or something in that form. Does kdm handle this?

Last edited by justforgetme (2013-05-26 08:43:53)


$> man life
No manual entry for `life'

$> nvm...

Offline

#139 2013-06-07 09:41:15

tomgg
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 35

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

For the sake of completeness: Yes, you can easily switch FN and Control key functionality; Even in X11. So for those with a hand size that favours such a switch, make the following change and recompile.

 $pwd
/home/userName/mess/linux-3.9.4
$ diff /usr/src/linux-3.9.4-1-ARCH/include/uapi/linux/input.h include/uapi/linux/input.h > fn_patch
$ cat fn_patch 
397c397
< #define KEY_F13			183
---
> #define KEY_F13			0x1d0
645c645
< #define KEY_FN			0x1d0
---
> #define KEY_FN			183

This will get your FN key presses detected by X11, and after a simple

$ xmodmap -e "add control = XF86Tools"

you're done. Obviously, you can choose a different substitute (so long as the substituted keycode is less than 255) but F13 seemed to have no conflicts for this laptop.

Offline

#140 2013-06-22 16:56:44

Baba Tong
Member
Registered: 2013-06-22
Posts: 7

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

I've managed to get Arch to run with Awesome on the rMBP and even boot it from Mac OS X's own bootmanager.
However, X refuses to acknowledge any DPI settings whatsoever, so at the high resolution it looks pretty terrible.
This is using the newest proprietary nvidia drivers.

Those of you who have it working, how did you adjust the DPI setting?

I tried setting

Option "UseEdidDpi" "false"
Option "DPI" "144 x 144"

in the Device section of the relevant xorg.conf file,
tried adding

Xft.dpi: 144

to ~/.Xdefaults or ~/.Xresources
also tried running startx -dpi 144,

none of these has had any effect whatsoever, everything remains tiny.

Offline

#141 2013-06-26 18:40:22

tmrtin
Member
Registered: 2013-06-26
Posts: 2

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

After updating to the latest kernel (3.9.7-1) and nvidia 3.19.23 I can't seem to wake up from a suspend anymore.

Also I've found I can change the screen brightness, but only before xserver is running. Editing "/sys/class/backlight/gmux_backlight/brightness" only does something before X is started.

Offline

#142 2013-07-04 03:44:56

es92
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 18

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

tmrtin wrote:

After updating to the latest kernel (3.9.7-1) and nvidia 3.19.23 I can't seem to wake up from a suspend anymore.

Also I've found I can change the screen brightness, but only before xserver is running. Editing "/sys/class/backlight/gmux_backlight/brightness" only does something before X is started.

same here...

Also, is anybody else trying out the new broadcom wl version 6 module? I'm getting the weirdest error - it works really well, but on some networks, it stops sending/receiving data after a few minutes, then starts working again after I scan for wireless networks.

Offline

#143 2013-07-11 07:13:22

tmrtin
Member
Registered: 2013-06-26
Posts: 2

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

es92 wrote:

...
Also, is anybody else trying out the new broadcom wl version 6 module? I'm getting the weirdest error - it works really well, but on some networks, it stops sending/receiving data after a few minutes, then starts working again after I scan for wireless networks.

I've noticed something like what you are describing with tx/rx stopping after a few mins and then resuming after a scan. wl-6 work fantastic for me. N mode works, 5ghz works, and I stay connected to APs.

Last edited by tmrtin (2013-07-11 07:13:46)

Offline

#144 2013-07-15 17:53:12

es92
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 18

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

tmrtin wrote:

I've noticed something like what you are describing with tx/rx stopping after a few mins and then resuming after a scan. wl-6 work fantastic for me. N mode works, 5ghz works, and I stay connected to APs.

Sounds exactly like what I'm getting. If it helps anyone, here's the terribly hacky script I made to sort of fix this:


#!/bin/bash
while true;
do
    time fping -p500 -B1.0 -c1 -t1000 -r0 <MY_SERVER_IP>
    rc=$?
    if [[ $rc -ne 0 ]];
    then
        sudo iwlist wlan0 scan;
    fi
    sleep 1s
done

Last edited by es92 (2013-07-22 19:55:09)

Offline

#145 2013-07-18 13:45:03

yawnt
Member
Registered: 2013-07-18
Posts: 1

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

hi guys!
i've managed to install arch on my 13" rMBP, but i'm having issues with b43
basically every time i reboot i have to run "rmmod b43 && modprobe b43" to get iwconfig to find my wlan card.. i also can't seem to be able to connect to wlans using anything except wifi-menu

any ideas?

thanks

Offline

#146 2013-07-22 19:56:52

es92
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 18

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

yawnt wrote:

hi guys!
i've managed to install arch on my 13" rMBP, but i'm having issues with b43
basically every time i reboot i have to run "rmmod b43 && modprobe b43" to get iwconfig to find my wlan card.. i also can't seem to be able to connect to wlans using anything except wifi-menu

any ideas?

thanks

try this instead: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/broadcom-wl-dkms

I never had that problem, but that module will probably work better for you than b43.

Offline

#147 2013-07-26 13:30:02

abruptadieu
Member
Registered: 2011-03-14
Posts: 10

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Anybody having issues with screen flickering? I'm using the nouveau driver (I've never been able to get the nvidia driver to work. I think it might be because I'm booting UEFI using rEFInd.) Over the past month or so, about 1/4 of the time, when I boot, my screen will occasonally flicker, like it can't find the correct resolution or refresh rate.

This manifested most dramatically when, when waking from sleep, the whole picture was squeezed onto the left half of the screen, flickering constantly, with the right half of the screen being a partial ghost of the left half of the screen. This has happened twice, but one time, this caused the whole screen to flicker after reboot for several hours before slowly returning to normal.

This could be a dealbreaker for me. I've happily run Arch on this system for the last year, and I much prefer KDE over OS X's interface. Somebody please tell me you have a solution for this problem!

Offline

#148 2013-08-09 23:58:48

es92
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 18

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

Just a warning - some recent updates made a lot of problems for me.

The kernel update (3.10.5) made it so sometimes the keyboard didn't work on boot, and the nvidia 3.25 update made X boot to a black screen

Last edited by es92 (2013-08-09 23:59:34)

Offline

#149 2013-08-10 02:03:10

tomgg
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 35

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

es92 wrote:

Just a warning - some recent updates made a lot of problems for me.

The kernel update (3.10.5) made it so sometimes the keyboard didn't work on boot, and the nvidia 3.25 update made X boot to a black screen

Is this an update through pacman? I haven't been able to boot 3.10 or 3.11 kernels on this machine.

Offline

#150 2013-08-10 07:02:06

es92
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 18

Re: MacBook Pro 2012 Retina

it is, yeah. I'm on 3.10.3 right now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB