You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-08 08:43:25

dnx
Member
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 14

[SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

Hello,

I tried to install Arch on my Thinkpad T430 for the first time but I cannot work out how to connect to internet via WiFi. I followed step by step the beginner's guide. I can scan the network but after having added the SSID and pswd to wpa_supplicant there was no sign of a connection (failed ping). I maybe should have actived or somewhat this driver: iwl6000, but I don't have any clue how to do this.

How do I connect to WiFi with an Intel N-6205 card?

Last edited by dnx (2013-06-08 19:55:09)

Offline

#2 2013-06-08 10:03:12

carukia
Member
From: ~/United_Kingdom/Liverpool
Registered: 2011-05-15
Posts: 162

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

This wiki page might be of some help.

Offline

#3 2013-06-08 11:06:55

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,047
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

This thread is about intel 6235, maybe your card has a similar issue.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=164764

Last edited by teateawhy (2013-06-08 11:07:37)

Offline

#4 2013-06-08 12:34:45

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,705
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

dnx wrote:

I can scan the network but after having added the SSID and pswd to wpa_supplicant there was no sign of a connection (failed ping).

If you can scan, the card is likely working fine and you should not need additional modules.  But can you give more detail about what you are saying about how you connect here?  What commands did you actually use?  What were their results?  What error did ping actually give?  Did you run dhcpcd/dhclient?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#5 2013-06-08 14:24:08

dnx
Member
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

Here are the commands I type (in order): dhcpcd, iw dev, ip link set wlp3s0 up, wpa_supplicant, ping www.google.com. But I got an unknown host error, I retries to do the wpa_supplicant command but without the -B (background) flag in order to see what he says, it gives me this error message: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6qma3kdnnajjs … .14.06.jpg

Offline

#6 2013-06-08 14:27:49

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,705
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

There's the problem - those commands are out of order.  Follow the steps in the wiki - at very least, dhcpcd needs to be run last.  Running it as you did it must have given messages that it could not get an address.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#7 2013-06-08 14:36:19

dnx
Member
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

In the beginner's guide, they talk about dhcpcd before setting up the wifi, actually the daemon is launched automatically. The commands are in the same order: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Be … e#Wireless.

Offline

#8 2013-06-08 15:21:24

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,705
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

Actually they don't have dhcpcd at all - it is discussed in the previous section for wired connections.  In any case, the connection has to be made before you run dhcpcd.

See here for more details: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … management


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#9 2013-06-08 19:45:57

dnx
Member
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] Connection to WiFi with Intel N-6205 impossible

I retried from the start and executed the dhcpcd command as last, and it works. Thank you very much, I have now install Arch on my laptop.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB