You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-13 20:28:16

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

[kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Hi all,
the first beta of the 4.11 series has been released.
As usual, you find the packages in the [kde-unstable] repo, which only contains beta/rc releases.
Read install instruction from here.

NOTE: It requires [testing] enabled.

There is a soname bump; this is the list of the packages that you need to rebuild:

 libkipi.so.10 -> libkipi.so.11
- digikam
- kipi-plugins
- kphotoalbum

Also, there are:
Two new strigi analyzers: kdenetwork-strigi-analyzers (at the moment for torrent only)
A new thumnailers: kdesdk-thumbnailers (at the moment for po files only)
A new runner: kdeplasma-addons-runner-translator.
kdeplasma-addons-applets-kdeobservatory has been removed from the KDE SC.
Please report any packaging bug to our bug tracker.

KDE bugs go in the upstream bug tracker.
Have a nice update and testing!

See the list of known issues.

Offline

#2 2013-06-13 21:43:25

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Thank you.

***

Be careful!

At least with nvidia I can't boot to the desktop.

Offline

#3 2013-06-13 21:45:48

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 314

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

kdenetwork package now splitted? kdenetwork-4.10.80 not found (need rebuild krdc and krfb with my changes)

Offline

#4 2013-06-13 21:46:19

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,206

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

As usual, thanks for the fast packaging!

kdenetwork-strigi-analyzer seems to be missing:

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: kde-meta-kdenetwork: requires kdenetwork-strigi-analyzers

Offline

#5 2013-06-13 22:08:12

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

ontobelli wrote:

At least with nvidia I can't boot to the desktop.

Try switching to nvidia/nouveau or kwin/kwin_gles

sl1pkn07 wrote:

kdenetwork package now splitted? kdenetwork-4.10.80 not found (need rebuild krdc and krfb with my changes)

Yes, it's.

arojas wrote:

kdenetwork-strigi-analyzer seems to be missing:

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: kde-meta-kdenetwork: requires kdenetwork-strigi-analyzers

Whops. Build failed and I missed it. Pushing it right now.

Offline

#6 2013-06-13 22:46:21

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 314

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

err...

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6596386/err.png

with effect activated (nvidia)

edit
test opengl modes on systemsettings>effects

opengl 1.2: with effects OK | wout effects = OK
opengl 2.0: with effects NOK | wout effects = OK
opengl 3.1: with effects NOK | wout effects = OK

OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23
nvidia gtx285

edit2 (segfaul fixed with rebuild smoothtasks)

Last edited by sl1pkn07 (2013-06-13 23:24:58)

Offline

#7 2013-06-14 00:53:42

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

A little delay in the start and not blending the background.

But working with OpenGL 3.1!

http://imm.io/19hbr

OpenGL 3.1: with effects OK | wout effects = OK
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23

Last edited by ontobelli (2013-06-14 01:04:42)

Offline

#8 2013-06-14 06:51:01

bhush
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 7

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

http://paste.kde.org/773186/ I am getting plasma crash, any help?


The problem is not the problem, Problem is your attitude about the problem.

-Captain Jack Sparrow

Offline

#9 2013-06-14 13:16:27

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,206

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Amarok crashes here

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=321144

Maybe worth adding to known issues if more people is affected?

Offline

#10 2013-06-14 13:58:59

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

arojas wrote:

Amarok crashes here

+1

Offline

#11 2013-06-14 16:07:58

xavier114fch
Member
Registered: 2013-06-14
Posts: 1

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Before upgrading, I was using 4.10.4 with desktop effects enabled (OpenGL 2/Native). After upgrading, only the mouse cursor was displayed and the whole screen is black. There were ghost-like menu animations if I click on the supposed area of the kickoff launcher or hidden notifications. Had to manually killed startkde in a virtual console and select failsafe mode to successfully load the desktop.

Tested that all OpenGL modes are borked with black screen when QT mode is native. Had to change to XRender/Native.

My card is an AMD Radeon 5700M. Even switching to kwin_gles did not work.

OpenGL vendor string:                   X.Org
OpenGL renderer string:                 Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD
OpenGL version string:                  OpenGL ES 3.0 Mesa 9.1.3
OpenGL shading language version string: OpenGL ES GLSL ES 3.0
Driver:                                 R600G
GPU class:                              EVERGREEN
OpenGL version:                         3.0
GLSL version:                           3.0
Mesa version:                           9.1.3
X server version:                       1.14.1
Linux kernel version:                   3.9.5
Direct rendering:                       yes
Requires strict binding:                no
GLSL shaders:                           yes
Texture NPOT support:                   yes
Virtual Machine:                        no

kwin(12576) KWin::EglOnXBackend::init: Cannot enable v-sync as max. swap interval is 0 
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::resetCompositing() to KWin::Compositor::restart()
kwin(12576): Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled 
kwin(12576): Consult http://techbase.kde.org/Projects/KWin/4.0-release-notes#Setting_up 
kwin(12576): Render targets aren't supported!

Offline

#12 2013-06-14 16:43:36

stressat
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 69
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

xavier114fch wrote:

Before upgrading, I was using 4.10.4 with desktop effects enabled (OpenGL 2/Native). After upgrading, only the mouse cursor was displayed and the whole screen is black.

+1
(Intel HD Graphics 3000)

Last edited by stressat (2013-06-14 16:44:14)

Offline

#13 2013-06-14 20:47:35

teekay
Member
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 270

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Recommended combinations are OpenGL/Raster or XRender/Native, reading http://userbase.kde.org/Desktop_Effects … ics_System
The default is Raster on most distributions. Any reason to use Native? Does Raster work for you?


The update went smooth here, no issues so far (beside Amarok crashing). Also OpenGL 3.1 works with nvidia, but I do not see/feel any difference smile

Offline

#14 2013-06-14 20:51:17

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

@scarpino

would it be possible to apply this[0] patch to amarok (and maybe put the patched version in kde-unstable if it conflicts with something else, which I doubt anyway) so that users of kde-unstable could rediscover their music again?

The patch fixes the bug reported by arojas in this same thread.

[0]: http://commits.kde.org/amarok/e899704b3 … 05fb9a2448

Last edited by Box0 (2013-06-14 20:54:03)

Offline

#15 2013-06-14 21:42:25

rascas
Member
Registered: 2010-11-02
Posts: 22

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Can someone confirm if this bug (https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=314919) is fixed in 4.11?

Specially the problem in comments 9/10 by Michael Lashkevich

Thanks

Offline

#16 2013-06-15 08:40:41

desaparecido
Member
From: Liège, Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-14
Posts: 140

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

hi, thanks for packages, I upgraded smootly and all works fine (nvidia card GT 440 with proprietary driver), only problem, like other is amarok crash.  I tried rebuilding from sources and still crash.  Now I installed amarok-git builded from AUR packages and all works fine now, can rediscover my music again wink


KF5 & Plasma5 (git versions) - Awesome WM
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX - AMD FX8350 - ATI Radeon HD 7970
[testing] repo

Offline

#17 2013-06-15 08:44:01

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Box0 wrote:

@scarpino
would it be possible to apply this[0] patch to amarok (and maybe put the patched version in kde-unstable if it conflicts with something else, which I doubt anyway) so that users of kde-unstable could rediscover their music again?

The patch fixes the bug reported by arojas in this same thread.

[0]: http://commits.kde.org/amarok/e899704b3 … 05fb9a2448

Done.

desaparecido wrote:

hi, thanks for packages, I upgraded smootly and all works fine (nvidia card GT 440 with proprietary driver), only problem, like other is amarok crash.  I tried rebuilding from sources and still crash.  Now I installed amarok-git builded from AUR packages and all works fine now, can rediscover my music again wink

It's fixed in amarok 2.7.1-2.

Offline

#18 2013-06-15 09:22:25

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

awesome, thank you

Offline

#19 2013-06-17 15:30:37

gbj13
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 109

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Anyone else having problems with kpowerdevil daemno.  I crashes her and power managment settings are not honored.

Offline

#20 2013-06-17 21:01:04

Druedain
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2011-12-27
Posts: 50

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

I can't see Clementine window. I set Clementine to be visible on all Activities. It also starts with system. But when I click in tray on Clementine icon I can see Clementine icon on task manager, but no window on screen.

Most of programs that I use are starting on specific Activity, but they are visible, everything works, only Clementine is a problem.

Offline

#21 2013-06-19 09:36:49

pepedopolous
Member
Registered: 2012-02-12
Posts: 73

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Thanks very much for these packages. Upgrade was smooth. I have nvidia proprietary drivers.

Some problem with zoom desktop (desktop doesn't fade in at start because effect wont' load. I tried it with all OpenGL options.

The Desktop Cube Rotation is really choppy. This seems weird as Desktop Grid is as smooth if not smoother than ever. The actual fade to the desktop cube is also smooth.

Cheers,

P

Offline

#22 2013-06-19 12:56:15

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Anybody got success with kde with wayland?
I was trying to start full KDE plasma session in wayland.

Last edited by murugan (2013-06-19 13:58:49)

Offline

#23 2013-06-19 15:20:03

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,206

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

murugan wrote:

Anybody got success with kde with wayland?
I was trying to start full KDE plasma session in wayland.

I don't think Wayland support is enabled in the [kde-unstable] package, you will need to rebuild kdebase-workspace adding wayland as makedepends

Offline

#24 2013-06-19 15:41:13

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

arojas wrote:

I don't think Wayland support is enabled in the [kde-unstable] package, you will need to rebuild kdebase-workspace adding wayland as makedepends

mesa already requires wayland.
Wayland support is enabled in our KDE.

Offline

#25 2013-06-19 19:18:04

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

scarpino wrote:
arojas wrote:

I don't think Wayland support is enabled in the [kde-unstable] package, you will need to rebuild kdebase-workspace adding wayland as makedepends

mesa already requires wayland.
Wayland support is enabled in our KDE.

Could you please tell us  how to enable Wayland?

EDIT:
Maybe is a good idea to make a kdm-wayland.service but I don't now how to. XD

Last edited by ontobelli (2013-06-19 19:23:06)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB