You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-20 15:09:32

tokoro
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-11-30
Posts: 51

[SOLVED] Isn't pacman supposed to update first?

Maybe I got this wrong, but I was under the impression that whenever pacman has to be updated it would update before any other package.
Today it got updated along everything else.

               automake-1.13.4-1  chromium-28.0.1500.52-1  cloog-0.18.0-2  gzip-1.6-1
               libdiscid-0.5.1-1  libdmtx-0.7.4-4  libiodbc-3.52.8-2  libltdl-2.4.2-10
               libqmi-1.4.0-1  libreoffice-common-4.0.4-1  libreoffice-es-4.0.4-1
               libreoffice-impress-4.0.4-1  libreoffice-writer-4.0.4-1  libtool-2.4.2-10
               pacman-4.1.2-1

I thought that the

HoldPkg   = pacman glibc

at /etc/pacman.conf was exactly for that.

Is something wrong? Did it get it wrong?

Last edited by tokoro (2013-06-20 15:16:45)


Non native English speaker [in, on, at are the same to me]

Offline

#2 2013-06-20 15:12:33

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: [SOLVED] Isn't pacman supposed to update first?

There used to be SyncFirst option but it has been removed.
https://projects.archlinux.org/pacman.git/tree/NEWS#n41

Read the man page for pacman.conf to learn what HoldPkg does.

Last edited by karol (2013-06-20 15:13:33)

Offline

#3 2013-06-20 15:15:53

tokoro
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-11-30
Posts: 51

Re: [SOLVED] Isn't pacman supposed to update first?

     HoldPkg = package ...
           If a user tries to --remove a package that’s listed in HoldPkg, pacman will ask
           for confirmation before proceeding. 

Oh I see. I should have read the manual first (To be fair I didn't know there was a man entry for pacman.conf)



Thanks for that smile


Non native English speaker [in, on, at are the same to me]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB