You are not logged in.

#51 2013-06-22 23:22:23

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

When in doubt, check the actual tool that you are using.

mkinitpcio -H encrypt wrote:

==> Help for hook 'encrypt':
This hook allows for an encrypted root device. Users should specify the device
to be unlocked using 'cryptdevice=device:dmname' on the kernel command line,
where 'device' is the path to the raw device, and 'dmname' is the name given to
the device after unlocking, and will be available as /dev/mapper/dmname.

For unlocking via keyfile, 'cryptkey=device:fstype:path' should be specified on
the kernel cmdline, where 'device' represents the raw block device where the key
exists, 'fstype' is the filesystem type of 'device' (or auto), and 'path' is
the absolute path of the keyfile within the device.

Without specifying a keyfile, you will be prompted for the password at runtime.
This means you must have a keyboard available to input it, and you may need
the keymap hook as well to ensure that the keyboard is using the layout you
expect.

==> This hook has runtime scripts:
  -> pre-mount hook

Offline

#52 2013-06-23 02:50:55

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

Neat. I didn't know mkinitcpio could do that...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#53 2013-06-25 04:23:56

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

I tried installing GRUB Legacy as /EFI/grub-legacy/grub.efi on my Mac OS partition. I got the grub.efi from srs' grub-efi-0.97-93.fc17.x86_64.tgz. Here is my grub.conf:

default=0
timeout=10
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
#hiddenmenu
title Arch
        root (hd3,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/lvmpool-slash cryptdevice=/dev/disk/by-partuuid/7678874f-238e-4b4d-a4dd-3e08e3178f29:crypt rootfstype=ext4 ro
        initrd /initramfs-linux.img
title Arch (fallback)
        root (hd3,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/lvmpool-slash cryptdevice=/dev/disk/by-partuuid/7678874f-238e-4b4d-a4dd-3e08e3178f29:crypt rootfstype=ext4 ro
        initrd /initramfs-linux-fallback.img
title Arch (terminal)
        root (hd3,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/lvmpool-slash cryptdevice=/dev/disk/by-partuuid/7678874f-238e-4b4d-a4dd-3e08e3178f29:crypt rootfstype=ext4 ro systemd.unit=multi-user.target
        initrd /initramfs-linux.img
title Arch (fallback, terminal)
        root (hd3,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/lvmpool-slash cryptdevice=/dev/disk/by-partuuid/7678874f-238e-4b4d-a4dd-3e08e3178f29:crypt rootfstype=ext4 ro systemd.unit=multi-user.target
        initrd /initramfs-linux-fallback.img

Edit: I was able to get GRUB Legacy to at least recognize my drive. It didn't work on the first try because it has very non-standard and non-persistent device numbering. After I figured out the correct device number, the result was the same as for the two other bootloaders: it hanged. Should I try GRUB 2 now? hmm

Last edited by Kudu (2013-06-25 04:45:01)

Offline

#54 2013-07-01 00:38:34

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

What should I do to get it to work? My next idea was to try using GRUB 2 but I can't find a binary for it.

Offline

#55 2013-07-01 00:44:57

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

I would hang on and hope srs5694 can suggest something wink.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#56 2013-07-01 04:00:35

srs5694
Member
From: Woonsocket, RI
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

If I understand correctly, you've now tried three boot loaders, and with all three of them the kernel has hung without producing any screen output. (You've reported some, but it's all been produced by the boot loaders themselves, not by the kernels.) This suggests that the problem is most likely not in the boot loaders, but in either the kernels or the EFI. You could check to see if Apple has an updated firmware for your model. If not, you could try another kernel. This might mean using a newer or older Arch installer than what you've got, or using something other than Arch. It's also possible that setting particular kernel options will get the computer booted, but I have no specific suggestions for what to try.

You could also try booting in BIOS/CSM/legacy mode rather than in EFI mode. It's conceivable that will work, and if you can finish the installation and boot normally, you'll be in a better position to experiment with EFI-mode booting by adjusting boot options, recompiling your kernel, etc.

Offline

#57 2013-07-01 15:22:26

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

Thanks. I have the latest EFI firmware. How would I boot in BIOS mode?

Offline

#58 2013-07-01 16:38:48

srs5694
Member
From: Woonsocket, RI
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

Kudu wrote:

Thanks. I have the latest EFI firmware. How would I boot in BIOS mode?

On a Mac, you should be able to select a BIOS-mode boot of an installation CD by using the Option (or Alt) key during the boot process, or by using rEFIt or rEFInd. Either way, you can select a BIOS-mode boot of the CD by selecting it from the menu. The trick is that it's not always obvious which boot option is the BIOS-mode one. With rEFIt and rEFInd, the icon is a usually generic gray one, or the boot loader may be misidentified as Windows or possibly correctly identified as being Linux. In rEFIt and rEFInd, the description is usually pretty generic; IIRC, it's something like "boot from HD" or "boot from CD" rather than something like "boot boot\vmlinuz from Arch".

Once you've installed Linux, you'll need to create a hybrid MBR with one partition marked as bootable. This should enable you to select the BIOS-mode boot loader on the hard disk. The icon is likely to be a generic Linux penguin icon, but the description will be a generic one rather than one that identifies a specific file.

Offline

#59 2013-07-02 16:33:54

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

My disk currently contains 2 partitions: one is a FAT32 /boot partition and the other is a LUKS partition with the rest of my data as LVM volumes inside it. If I use a hybrid MBR, do I need to move both partitions or just the /boot one? If I have to move both, why not just use a regular MBR instead?

Offline

#60 2013-07-03 00:45:52

srs5694
Member
From: Woonsocket, RI
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

Linux ignores the MBR side of a hybrid MBR. So does OS X. Thus, in a Linux/OS X dual-boot, the only point of the hybrid MBR is to signal the firmware to activate the CSM, and it doesn't really matter which partitions get hybridized. I recommend hybridizing whatever the last partition on the disk is, and nothing else. That will minimize the amount of space that's not covered by partitions in the hybrid MBR. Oh, and you may need to create a BIOS Boot Partition, too.

Offline

#61 2013-07-03 14:47:01

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

The last partition on the disk is my data partition and is almost 2TB. Is that the one I should hybridize? Also, what should I use to create the BIOS boot partition and which partition should I use?

Offline

#62 2013-07-03 16:50:11

srs5694
Member
From: Woonsocket, RI
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 719
Website

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

Kudu wrote:

The last partition on the disk is my data partition and is almost 2TB. Is that the one I should hybridize?

Probably; however, if your disk is over 2TiB in size, be aware that you really shouldn't create any hybrid MBR partitions that extend beyond the 2TiB mark. Thus, you might need to hybridize the partition before that 2TB data partition.

Also, what should I use to create the BIOS boot partition and which partition should I use?

You can use just about any GPT-aware Linux partitioning tool to create a BIOS Boot Partition -- GParted, parted, gdisk, etc. In GParted, parted, and other libparted-based tools, the BIOS Boot Partition is identified as having a "bios_grub" flag set. In gdisk and its relatives, the BIOS Boot Partition is identified via a type code of EF02. In any event, it's usually 1MiB in size and doesn't carry a filesystem. (GRUB just dumps data to it "raw.")

Offline

#63 2013-09-05 22:42:20

Kudu
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 20

Re: Can't boot installer using rEFInd

When I tried to boot my USB drive with the Arch installation image on it, rEFInd outputted some errors and complained about Macs' bad support for BIOS mode.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB