You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-26 21:45:05

Synek
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 16

Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

I'm new to Linux (and obviously Arch/Awesome), so maybe I'm missing something obvious here.

When I use mod+r to start firefox, for example, nothing happens after I press enter. Then if I try to press mod+r again and start firefox, I cannot input anything in the run prompt at the top of the screen. If I have a terminal open, the input goes into the terminal rather than the run prompt (it's the other way around on the first attempt)

The lua code prompt is the same.

edit: Sorry wrong section, you can ignore this. I'll ask in the right place.
edit2: Nevermind, the post in the right section was deleted. Don't ignore this.

Last edited by Synek (2013-03-26 22:54:36)

Offline

#2 2013-03-26 23:45:37

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

Does this problem occur if you use the default (non-modified) awesome rc.lua?

Does it change anything if you place the mouse cursor over the awesome bar before typing the command?

Offline

#3 2013-03-27 01:57:22

Synek
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 16

Re: Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

anonymous_user wrote:

Does this problem occur if you use the default (non-modified) awesome rc.lua?

Does it change anything if you place the mouse cursor over the awesome bar before typing the command?

I copied the rc.lua from /etc/xdg/awesome, as per the ArchWiki's page on AwesomeWM. I've made only one change since noticing this problem (changing the wallpaper), but the problem was there from the start.

Nothing changes if I place the mouse cursor over the bar at any point.

I forgot to mention in the OP that the escape key doesn't close the prompt when I open it a second time (after entering something). I can, however, press Mod+x to change it to a lua code prompt, but that behaves the exact same way.

Offline

#4 2013-03-28 02:07:29

Synek
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 16

Re: Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

Anybody know what's going on here? I've looked through the Wiki again but I can't find anything that helps.

Offline

#5 2013-03-28 13:28:41

cookies
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 253

Re: Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

Don't know if it helps, but try reinstalling awesome, lua and lua-lgi.

Offline

#6 2013-07-02 20:51:40

nicooga
Member
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2013-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Awesome WM run prompt doesn't work

I just ran into the same problem. It may not help, but try this: search this keybinding into the globalkeys block in your rc.lua:

  -- ...
  awful.key({ modkey },            "r",     function () mypromptbox[mouse.screen]:run() end),
  -- ...

If if isn't there add it to the globalkeys array.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB