You are not logged in.

#551 2013-06-19 11:04:12

ricrogz
Member
Registered: 2011-11-23
Posts: 8

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hi all,

Does anyone know how to change the background in the lockscreen that comes up after the screensaver?

Thanks!

Offline

#552 2013-06-20 15:51:59

Silex89
Member
From: Osorno, Los Lagos - Chile
Registered: 2011-10-16
Posts: 178
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

zAo wrote:

Is it possible to get global menus?

I'm interested in getting this feature too. Is this a possible thing to do within MATE?

Best Regards.

Last edited by Silex89 (2013-06-20 15:52:21)


"The way your heart sounds makes all the difference" John Myung

I love Dream Theater! ImL
Best Guitar Solo Ever

Offline

#553 2013-07-07 01:06:29

superchango
Member
From: Tenochtitlan
Registered: 2009-01-22
Posts: 131

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Well, after today repository update, pacman is ending with Pacman error: segmentation fault but if i deactive the Mate repo, it runs again without problem. Am i the only with this problem?.

The pacman.conf entry is:

[mate]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://repo.mate-desktop.org/archlinux/$arch

"Yo creo que los muertos son tiernos. ¿Nos besamos?"

Offline

#554 2013-07-07 01:52:32

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

superchango wrote:

Well, after today repository update, pacman is ending with Pacman error: segmentation fault but if i deactive the Mate repo, it runs again without problem. Am i the only with this problem?.

The pacman.conf entry is:

[mate]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://repo.mate-desktop.org/archlinux/$arch

It seems to be fine with me... Is it the same with the -Syy option?


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#555 2013-07-07 12:45:25

aimonas
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 1

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

superchango wrote:

Well, after today repository update, pacman is ending with Pacman error: segmentation fault but if i deactive the Mate repo, it runs again without problem. Am i the only with this problem?.

The pacman.conf entry is:

[mate]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://repo.mate-desktop.org/archlinux/$arch

same here, with the sole difference that my pacman.conf reads

[mate]
SigLevel = Never
Server = http://repo.mate-desktop.org/archlinux/$arch

I commented out mate repo as well, but don't think that's the proper solution. Might be some problem with the repo. We'll have to wait I guess.

p.s. my first post! cheers to all arch users!


"In order to arrive at what you do not know
      you must go by a way, which is the way of ignorance" T.S. Eliot

Offline

#556 2013-08-25 19:34:28

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I'm trying to running engrampa I get the message "GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.mate.caja.preferences' is not installed". Likewise if I try running mate-text-editor I get "GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.mate.lockdown' is not installed". Which package do I need to install to resolve these messages and similar? I'm not interested in running all of MATE, just a few individual programs.

Offline

#557 2013-08-25 20:09:34

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

anonymous_user wrote:

I'm trying to running engrampa I get the message:

GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.mate.caja.preferences' is not installed.

Likewise if I try running mate-text-editor I get

GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.mate.lockdown' is not installed.

Which package do I need to install to resolve these messages and similar? I'm not interested in running all of MATE, just a few individual programs.

It seems that someone had your issue before.

Have you installed Caja (mate-file-manager)?

PS: In future, could you please use code tags for terminal output?

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-08-25 20:10:55)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#558 2013-08-26 00:29:45

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Thanks for the solution though I was hoping for fewer dependencies.

Offline

#559 2013-08-26 00:40:24

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

anonymous_user wrote:

Thanks for the solution though I was hoping for fewer dependencies.

No worries. I'm not surprised you're saying this though because you are trying to pick bits out of a full desktop environment XD


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#560 2013-08-26 00:43:22

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

True but its not like file-roller or gedit depend on nautilus. I don't see why MATE has to be different.

Offline

#561 2013-08-26 00:48:22

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

anonymous_user wrote:

True but its not like file-roller or gedit depend on nautilus. I don't see why MATE has to be different.

Ask the developers why they've put in all the crazy dependencies, not me... It does seem quite odd though...

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-08-26 00:49:40)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#562 2013-09-27 19:36:11

cris9288
Member
Registered: 2013-01-07
Posts: 347

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hey guys, just installed MATE and am having trouble suspending my system when I close the lid. When I used to have xfce4, there was a conflict with xfce4-power-manager and systemd - when you closed the lid systemd would suspend the system. After waking, xfce4-power-manager would then have its turn and suspend the system as well. The solution was to tell xfce4-power-manager to stay out of it through the preferences menu.

The difference here is that MATE won't suspend, and systemd doesn't seem to want to handle it anymore once MATE is running. Is there some sort of conflict with mate-power-manager and systemd? If I tell the power-manager to do nothing when the lid is closed, systemd still won't suspend my system. Thanks for the help.

Offline

#563 2013-09-27 20:35:09

shmibs
Member
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 90

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

finishing up support for systemd is supposed to happen by next release. until then, i guess you could add a custom rule to suspend when your lid is closed. (i've just been typing "suspend" manually tongue)


[site] | [dotfiles] | あたしたち、人間じゃないの?

Offline

#564 2013-09-27 20:54:39

cris9288
Member
Registered: 2013-01-07
Posts: 347

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

ah i see. I read through a few pages in this thread - must've missed that. I'll just wait; I'm patient enough and the lid switch isn't that crucial right now.

Offline

#565 2013-10-20 14:15:26

silent
Member
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 51

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Recently the Suspend option has disappeared from Shutdown in Mate. upowerd and mate-power-manager are active. I can suspend with "systemctl suspend"  - for the moment I added a launcher to the panel - or as root with pm-suspend. The dbus-send method with org.freedesktop.UPower.Suspend no longer works, I get a "Method is deprecated" error.

Offline

#566 2013-10-20 19:10:44

shmibs
Member
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 90

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

/me checks
yep, it's gone for me as well. how recent is recently? (i don't use the panel and so hadn't noticed). too recent to be from one of these?

[2013-09-14 23:20] [PACMAN] upgraded mate-session-manager (1.6.1-1 -> 1.6.1-2)
[2013-09-23 07:09] [PACMAN] upgraded mate-power-manager (1.6.2-2 -> 1.6.2-3)
[2013-10-03 21:23] [PACMAN] upgraded systemd (207-5 -> 208-1)
[2013-10-16 07:35] [PACMAN] upgraded upower (0.9.20-2 -> 0.9.22-1)

[site] | [dotfiles] | あたしたち、人間じゃないの?

Offline

#567 2013-10-21 09:17:26

silent
Member
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 51

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

After the latest updates Suspend and Hibernate buttons are now included in "Shut down"

Last edited by silent (2013-10-23 16:45:12)

Offline

#568 2013-11-07 19:17:06

jcmeza
Member
Registered: 2012-07-28
Posts: 11

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

I don't know where else to ask this, what is the command to call the netowrk manager applet and the volume control applet for mate? and what package do you need to install to get them?

Thanks

Offline

#569 2013-11-07 19:30:49

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

jcmeza wrote:

I don't know where else to ask this, what is the command to call the netowrk manager applet and the volume control applet for mate? and what package do you need to install to get them?

Thanks

You need the gtk2 networkmanager applet, not the gtk3 one for networkmanager.

The volume control applet should already be in the mate-applets package, and is usually enabled by default.


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#570 2013-11-07 21:00:35

shmibs
Member
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 90

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

^you can't install network-manager-applet-gtk2 at the moment, though, because it depends on gnome-bluetooth, which requires the new bluez, which conflicts with obexd-client, which is still required by mate-bluetooth.

Last edited by shmibs (2013-11-07 21:02:31)


[site] | [dotfiles] | あたしたち、人間じゃないの?

Offline

#571 2013-11-07 22:08:25

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

shmibs wrote:

^you can't install network-manager-applet-gtk2 at the moment, though, because it depends on gnome-bluetooth, which requires the new bluez, which conflicts with obexd-client, which is still required by mate-bluetooth.

If you mean this package in the AUR, what happens if you remove any reference to gnome-bluetooth in the PKGBUILD and then build it? That should work, right?

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-11-08 14:30:14)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#572 2013-11-08 01:38:59

cb474
Member
Registered: 2009-04-04
Posts: 465

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

shmibs wrote:

^you can't install network-manager-applet-gtk2 at the moment, though, because it depends on gnome-bluetooth, which requires the new bluez, which conflicts with obexd-client, which is still required by mate-bluetooth.

You can work around this problem by simply not upgrading to the new version of bluez, but keeping the older version bluez4 instead.

Offline

#573 2013-11-11 16:55:38

flexiondotorg
Trusted User (TU)
From: Hamshire, UK
Registered: 2013-06-06
Posts: 13
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Hi,

You can use `network-manager-applet` from the official Arch repositories, it is the GTK3 version and work just fine with MATE 1.6 on my systems. The MATE packages were updated recently address the package conflicts arising from Bluez5 vs Bluez4.

Regards, Martin.


--
Regards, Martin.

Offline

#574 2013-11-29 17:29:27

wilberfan
Member
From: So. Cal
Registered: 2010-12-18
Posts: 240

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

This may not be the best place to ask this question, but are there any guides to getting MATE working with compiz under arch linux?   I haven't been able to find one yet...

And, I installed the 'network-manager-applet', but it's not showing up under the options to add it to panels.


Hey, be nice...I'm new at this!

Offline

#575 2013-11-29 20:01:56

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

wilberfan wrote:

This may not be the best place to ask this question, but are there any guides to getting MATE working with compiz under arch linux?   I haven't been able to find one yet...

My thoughts would be to ask the Fedora people how they got their mate-compiz package to work, maybe borrow it and modify it to run with Arch. You'd be looking to run it with Compiz 0.8 though, not 0.9.


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB