You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-30 10:52:37

ayekat
Member
From: B.b.B. BE CH
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 611
Website

inline [code]

Hello

I was wondering if there is a possibility to format text pieces in a forum post as inline monospace parts (like HTML's <code>). The current [code] tag is an equivalent to HTML's <pre>, but sometimes I would just like to highlight a piece of text as code without breaking the paragraph.

... such as right now, when I would like to highlight all those [code], <code>, <pre>, etc. wink

How can I achieve this? Or is it not supported?

Thanks in advance!

Offline

#2 2013-06-30 13:39:55

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: inline [code]

There's [ ins ] tag which looks like a highlighter, but it's pretty hard on the eyes. You can use bold, italics or underline, you can even use color, but I don't think you can use something like <pre>.

You can open a feature request upstream. If fluxbb devs will include it, Arch will too, as Arch uses vanilla software.

Offline

#3 2013-06-30 14:46:07

axper
Member
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 115

Re: inline [code]

https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php
There's a link to all possible forum tags at the bottom of "Quick post" area.

Offline

#4 2013-06-30 15:47:38

ayekat
Member
From: B.b.B. BE CH
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 611
Website

Re: inline [code]

karol wrote:

You can open a feature request upstream. If fluxbb devs will include it, Arch will too, as Arch uses vanilla software.

I've posted a request there, let's see what they think of it.
(I'm just puzzled that I'm the first one who misses that feature - am I just weird?)

Offline

#5 2013-06-30 15:54:36

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: inline [code]

Please post the link to your request.
There's already http://fluxbb.org/development/core/tickets/108/

Offline

#6 2013-06-30 16:01:57

axper
Member
Registered: 2013-01-25
Posts: 115

Re: inline [code]

ayekat wrote:
karol wrote:

You can open a feature request upstream. If fluxbb devs will include it, Arch will too, as Arch uses vanilla software.

I've posted a request there, let's see what they think of it.
(I'm just puzzled that I'm the first one who misses that feature - am I just weird?)

I have thought about that too, formatting the commands in forum just like in wiki would be very useful. Though the fact that request is 3 years old doesn't add much hope.

Offline

#7 2013-06-30 16:20:18

ayekat
Member
From: B.b.B. BE CH
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 611
Website

Re: inline [code]

I'm sorry, here's the post: http://fluxbb.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=7136

Perhaps I should also open a ticket? Or is it considered impolite?

But as axper said, when I look at the progress on the other request, I don't think they seriously consider it important enough to be implemented. And the fact that <pre> becomes [code] and <code> becomes... [what?] doesn't help either.

Last edited by ayekat (2013-06-30 22:27:21)

Offline

#8 2013-07-07 04:06:19

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: inline [code]

The lead developer has replied that he will add the feature in version 2.0. Let's see how long it take them to go from 1.5.3 to 2.0. If you open a ticket do post the link. I am interested to see it happening soon.

Offline

#9 2013-07-07 04:28:48

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,240

Re: inline [code]

I don't think you cado fancy things like that on these forums


(Hint: http://www.tektek.org/color/ )
Edit 2: On second read, I did not really answer your question.  It was fun anyway smile

Last edited by ewaller (2013-07-07 04:39:19)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#10 2013-07-07 22:01:36

ayekat
Member
From: B.b.B. BE CH
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 611
Website

Re: inline [code]

Given that, as karol already wrote, there is ticket #108 that has been marked as "2.0alpha3" (even if since 2011), I don't think they would consider it polite if I opened a new one.
But yeah, let's see how fast they get to FluxBB 2 (and whether they postpone it to 2.1 or 2.2... or 3).

(Muahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!)

Last edited by ayekat (2013-07-07 22:02:28)

Offline

#11 2013-07-07 22:25:10

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,123

Re: inline [code]

ayekat wrote:

And the fact that <pre> becomes [code] and <code> becomes... [what?] doesn't help either.

I'm all in for [what]!

Offline

#12 2013-07-07 22:57:07

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,359
Website

Re: inline [code]

[wtf]over[/wtf]


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB