You are not logged in.

#2476 2013-07-04 12:21:24

lordheavy
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 200

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Ledti wrote:

The latest upgrade to linux-agd5f-3.10.0-5 from 3.10.0-4 seems to have broken dpm for me. On my 6870, after the update, all I see are artifacts galore. I had to revert back to 3.10.0-4 to fix the problem.

It's kind of weird though because according to this user with the same card, the latest patches are working fine for him. I'm hesitant to report the regression in that thread because of this. Anyone else using linux-agd5f have the same problem with the latest patch set?

I've pushed a new version (linux-agd5f-3.10.0-6). Does it fix the problem ?

Offline

#2477 2013-07-04 14:37:49

Ledti
Member
Registered: 2010-07-31
Posts: 122
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

lordheavy wrote:
Ledti wrote:

The latest upgrade to linux-agd5f-3.10.0-5 from 3.10.0-4 seems to have broken dpm for me. On my 6870, after the update, all I see are artifacts galore. I had to revert back to 3.10.0-4 to fix the problem.

It's kind of weird though because according to this user with the same card, the latest patches are working fine for him. I'm hesitant to report the regression in that thread because of this. Anyone else using linux-agd5f have the same problem with the latest patch set?

I've pushed a new version (linux-agd5f-3.10.0-6). Does it fix the problem ?

Hey, thanks for the new build. I tested it but unfortunately I am still experiencing the same problem. I'm planning on posting a dmesg log to the Phoronix thread, though I honestly don't know if that will help with regards to this issue. I've also been watching agd5f's git repo and have been creating diffs to patch against 3.10 on my own. I suppose this has been a fun learning experience if anything.

The patches from the drm-next-3.11-wip-5 branch still work fine, so I've been using those for now.

Offline

#2478 2013-07-04 19:33:02

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,471
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

So with today's upgrade (or yesterday's, not sure); can I now use libvdpau (or something along those lines) to use HW acceleration for my graphics card? I have no clue if I can now, as I'm a complete noob still in all this graphic card drivers and libraries and whatnot. I've been looking forward to this ever since I read its announcement, but I have no idea how to enable it and I can not see the forest because of the trees.

Who can point me in the right direction?


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#2479 2013-07-05 09:48:25

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,206

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

I'm 99% sure the UVD code is in kernel 3.10 , and arch is now at 3.9.9 , so we'll have to wait a bit longer.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#2480 2013-07-05 10:42:21

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

3.10 = uvd
3.11 = power management

3.10 is in testing now


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2481 2013-07-05 17:06:42

Execute_Method
Member
From: Tennessee
Registered: 2008-07-26
Posts: 105

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

UVD is working great on my RV730 with 3.10 from testing.

Offline

#2482 2013-07-05 19:09:50

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,471
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Oke, so I gotta wait a bit longer. My question still remains though; how could I use it once I have 3.10? Is it just passing a flag to mplayer or do I have to add something to my Xorg configurations?


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#2483 2013-07-05 23:26:21

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2484 2013-07-06 14:44:26

dberg918
Member
Registered: 2009-05-11
Posts: 18

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Unia wrote:

Oke, so I gotta wait a bit longer. My question still remains though; how could I use it once I have 3.10? Is it just passing a flag to mplayer or do I have to add something to my Xorg configurations?

I believe you also need to have the latest mesa code (9.2, still in development), as well as upgrade a few firmware files in /usr/lib/firmware/radeon. I have been successful using [testing] to get the new kernel and then compiling mesa-git from the AUR. The firmware you can get from here: http://people.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/radeon_ucode/. If you don't know which files you need, the Gentoo wiki is helpful.

Once you have all that, just pass the vdpau flag to mplayer. I don't remember how to do it from the command line, but there's a drop-down menu you can use in SMplayer that makes it pretty simple.

Offline

#2485 2013-07-06 21:32:40

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,471
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

dberg918 wrote:
Unia wrote:

Oke, so I gotta wait a bit longer. My question still remains though; how could I use it once I have 3.10? Is it just passing a flag to mplayer or do I have to add something to my Xorg configurations?

I believe you also need to have the latest mesa code (9.2, still in development), as well as upgrade a few firmware files in /usr/lib/firmware/radeon. I have been successful using [testing] to get the new kernel and then compiling mesa-git from the AUR. The firmware you can get from here: http://people.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/radeon_ucode/. If you don't know which files you need, the Gentoo wiki is helpful.

Once you have all that, just pass the vdpau flag to mplayer. I don't remember how to do it from the command line, but there's a drop-down menu you can use in SMplayer that makes it pretty simple.

Thanks! I'm not going to run [testing] or use mesa-git, I prefer waiting a bit since I'm currently away from home so I need a stable system.

Passing the needed flag to mplayer should be simple enough to figure out myself when the time comes, so consider this solved! smile


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#2486 2013-07-10 05:35:43

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Is vdpau working for you with kernel-agd5f and power management enabled?

Without radeon.dpm=1, vdpau works nice using 3.10 and 3.11 kernels. But when i try to play some video with power options enabled,  my screen goes white and my system totally crash. RESUIB can't reboot my computer.

I 'am using radeonsi driver (7950)


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2487 2013-07-10 07:56:36

Stunts
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 297
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

agapito wrote:

Is vdpau working for you with kernel-agd5f and power management enabled?

Without radeon.dpm=1, vdpau works nice using 3.10 and 3.11 kernels. But when i try to play some video with power options enabled,  my screen goes white and my system totally crash. RESUIB can't reboot my computer.

I 'am using radeonsi driver (7950)

According to one of the DPM threads in phoronix, UVD is having some issues when enabling DPM in some asics. The AND devs have been slowly solving that sort of issue, so you might get lucky in the next code revision. If not, well, you might want to let them know there. (since AFAIK there is still no active bugtracker for these issues).

Offline

#2488 2013-07-10 08:17:18

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

OK thanks for your response.


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2489 2013-07-15 12:58:22

jones
Member
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 86

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Hello everybody in here,

I am a new Arch user and in the last steps of setting up my system. I have a Gigabyte OC 7870, the mb is the ASRock H67m. With the current state of things, it's quite annoying and just impossible to work with focus more more than 1 hour. sad
I rebuilt the initramfs after I added the 'radeon' module to mkinitcpio.conf. Then I booted in and first of I found that I needed to switch to 'su' to do the following (although my user can use sudo all the time):

echo "profile" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

But nothing changed, at least not by a big margin, the noise level pretty much stayed the same.

The thing is, the other fans must be running too fast as well. Since I use xfce4 I have xfce4-sensors-plugin in my upper right corner and I found that the CPU cores and mb are always way too cold and are all at about 40 °C. Under Win 7 x64 the CPU cores are right at about 44-46 °C (fan starts at 47 °C) and the graphics card is at 36 °C but the catch is with 25 % fan speed which is nearly silent.

Does anyone have any more pointers?

Offline

#2490 2013-07-15 14:27:44

Stunts
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 297
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

henrik wrote:

Hello everybody in here,

I am a new Arch user and in the last steps of setting up my system. I have a Gigabyte OC 7870, the mb is the ASRock H67m. With the current state of things, it's quite annoying and just impossible to work with focus more more than 1 hour. sad
I rebuilt the initramfs after I added the 'radeon' module to mkinitcpio.conf. Then I booted in and first of I found that I needed to switch to 'su' to do the following (although my user can use sudo all the time):

echo "profile" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

But nothing changed, at least not by a big margin, the noise level pretty much stayed the same.

The thing is, the other fans must be running too fast as well. Since I use xfce4 I have xfce4-sensors-plugin in my upper right corner and I found that the CPU cores and mb are always way too cold and are all at about 40 °C. Under Win 7 x64 the CPU cores are right at about 44-46 °C (fan starts at 47 °C) and the graphics card is at 36 °C but the catch is with 25 % fan speed which is nearly silent.

Does anyone have any more pointers?

All I can recommend is to try LordHeavy's repository with DRM-next and add radeon.dpm=1 to your bootloader's kernel line...
Otherwise, all you can do to reduce fan noise is to use catalyst...

Offline

#2491 2013-07-16 07:55:10

BasT
Member
Registered: 2010-08-28
Posts: 78

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Anybody know the status of GL 3.x for radeonsi?

In http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/tree/docs/GL3.txt there is very little mention of radeonsi. Does this mean 3.x support is still quite a ways off, or is the document simply not up to date wrt radeonsi?

Offline

#2492 2013-07-17 21:58:10

Ledti
Member
Registered: 2010-07-31
Posts: 122
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

The issue that I mentioned above with DPM was resolved with the latest patches posted today.

Here's the relevant bug report if anyone is curious. It seems the problem is caused by a bug in newer versions of GCC.

Offline

#2493 2013-07-19 15:42:56

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

agapito wrote:

Is vdpau working for you with kernel-agd5f and power management enabled?

Without radeon.dpm=1, vdpau works nice using 3.10 and 3.11 kernels. But when i try to play some video with power options enabled,  my screen goes white and my system totally crash. RESUIB can't reboot my computer.

I 'am using radeonsi driver (7950)

With the latest kernel from mesa-git repo and power options enabled, i can play finally videos using vdpau; but randomly when i resize the window of the video my system totally crash. RESUIB doesn't work.


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2494 2013-07-21 09:42:08

marazmista
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 15
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

The dpm is cool. VGA temps drops about 15C, but I have a problem. I can't boot with external monitor connected (hdmi). When I connect it after boot or even during the boot everything is ok. Any suggestions? Is there any logs to look into to find reason?

EDIT:
Forget it, with -rc2 everything is ok.

Last edited by marazmista (2013-07-21 21:08:09)


.: github :. ||  radeon-profile - radeon oss driver manager  ||  tar-backup - gui for create backups using tar

Offline

#2495 2013-07-22 03:40:44

Akuma
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 30

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Damn still not working here on a freshly compiled 3.11 RC-2 kernel, even with the new radeon.aspm=0 parameter that is supposed to help with hangs sad. It just keeps hanging at boot time if I set dpm=1.
@Stunts : Are you having any success on your HD3650 (If you tried) ?

Last edited by Akuma (2013-07-22 04:09:14)

Offline

#2496 2013-07-22 11:21:28

Stunts
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 297
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Akuma wrote:

Damn still not working here on a freshly compiled 3.11 RC-2 kernel, even with the new radeon.aspm=0 parameter that is supposed to help with hangs sad. It just keeps hanging at boot time if I set dpm=1.
@Stunts : Are you having any success on your HD3650 (If you tried) ?

I have not tried it yet since 3.11-rc1 came out. There are still many changes being introduced, and I figures I would wait until the official release until I try it again.
If it's still not working, maybe it's worth opening up a bug at freedesktop.org buzilla?
I will see if I get the chance to test again this week.

Offline

#2497 2013-07-22 16:34:17

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Anyone tried using vdpau on HD4570 or other RV710-based chip? For me the mplayer goes bananas when i try using it:

kaszak@localhost ~ (git)-[master] % VDPAU_DRIVER=r600 mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau smieci/\[Coalgirls\]_Kotonoha_no_Niwa_\(1920x1080_Blu-ray_FLAC\)_\[ED03F005\].mkv
MPlayer SVN-r36285-4.8.0 (C) 2000-2013 MPlayer Team
205 audio & 424 video codecs
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.

Playing smieci/[Coalgirls]_Kotonoha_no_Niwa_(1920x1080_Blu-ray_FLAC)_[ED03F005].mkv.
libavformat version 55.7.100 (internal)
libavformat file format detected.
[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0, H.264
[lavf] stream 1: audio (flac), -aid 0, -alang jpn, FLAC 5.1 24bit
[lavf] stream 2: subtitle (ssa), -sid 0, -slang eng, Styled Subs
VIDEO:  [H264]  1920x1080  0bpp  23.974 fps    0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 title: Kotonoha no Niwa
 creation_time: 2013-06-04 18:35:13
Load subtitles in smieci/


MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: preinit_libvo
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
libavcodec version 55.12.100 (internal)
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 6 ch, s32le, 0.0 kbit/0.00% (ratio: 0->1152000)
Selected audio codec: [ffflac] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg FLAC audio)
==========================================================================
[AO OSS] audio_setup: Can't open audio device /dev/dsp: No such file or directory
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch floatle (4 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]VDPAU decoding does not support video colorspace.
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]decode_slice_header error
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]no frame!
Error while decoding frame!
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Missing reference picture, default is 0
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]decode_slice_header error
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Reinit context to 1920x1088, pix_fmt: 72
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Missing reference picture, default is 0
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]decode_slice_header error
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Reinit context to 1920x1088, pix_fmt: 72
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Missing reference picture, default is 0
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]decode_slice_header error
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Reinit context to 1920x1088, pix_fmt: 72
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]Missing reference picture, default is 0
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]reference picture missing during reorder
[h264_vdpau @ 0x7fa0c3423040]reference picture missing during reorder
...

I think i did all the necessary steps, compiled mesa 9.2, kernel 3.11rc2 etc., but i still can't get it to work. On the other hand, DPM works perfectly. Later i'll check if it's DPM that's causing these errors.


'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

#2498 2013-07-22 17:20:10

Akuma
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 30

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Stunts wrote:

If it's still not working, maybe it's worth opening up a bug at freedesktop.org buzilla?

Well I wanted to be sure it wasn't an issue on my side first, but anyways a report is already open for that : https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66963

Offline

#2499 2013-07-22 18:13:05

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Vdpau is very unstable in my system (HD 7950). When I resize the window of the video, my system totally crash with a sound loop. Tested in kernel 3.10 and 3.11.


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2500 2013-07-24 07:32:58

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Oh boy, here i was, being excited for a gizmo that was dead to me... Turns out that UVD piece of bs is unable to stomach 10 bit H264 on the hardware level, so no acceleration for me, ever.


'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB