You are not logged in.

#201 2013-05-12 14:53:28

rymate1234
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 1

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Trying to run weston built from the weston-git AUR package.

I get the following output when run http://ix.io/5Bg

Any help will be appreciated smile

Offline

#202 2013-05-24 12:11:35

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Daverix wrote:

Hi,

I have just installed Arch with Weston and Wayland and have problems with a black screen with a cursor that doesn't blink at top left. It seems the laptop has frozen but I can still reach it by ssh. How do I get debug logs through ssh? Tried weston-launch > debug.txt but that didn't get me anything.

I have installed X and get two ugly terminals, launching weston in one of them makes weston take up just a part of the screen. There I can run weston-gears and other stuff and it works as it should. The cursor is very sensitive though.

I have a laptop with a Nvidia Geforce 8400M graphics card. Would be really glad if I could run it without X! Tried to install Wayland, Weston, mesa, drm etc from git, but there was a lot of packages missing that I probably only could get through AUR. (Haven't learned how AUR works yet)

Cheers!

I have the same problem with my 6150Go. When I do "weston-lauch --tty /dev/tty1" as regular user I can see it gets as far as "initializing drm backend" but stops after that. Only way is to press the power button and let it initiate a soft poweroff. The user is part of "video" group.

Ok this might be related to this problem.

# journalctl /usr/bin/weston-launch
-- Reboot --
Mai 24 01:28:51 archtop weston-launch[1686]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
Mai 24 01:28:51 archtop weston-launch[1686]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user tim by tim(uid=1000)
Mai 24 01:28:51 archtop weston-launch[1686]: pam_unix(login:session): session closed for user tim
-- Reboot --
Mai 24 01:39:53 archtop weston-launch[222]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
Mai 24 01:39:53 archtop weston-launch[222]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user tim by (uid=1000)
Mai 24 01:39:54 archtop weston-launch[222]: pam_unix(login:session): session closed for user tim
-- Reboot --
Mai 24 14:54:27 archtop weston-launch[1180]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
Mai 24 14:54:27 archtop weston-launch[1180]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user tim by (uid=1000)
-- Reboot --
Mai 24 14:58:54 archtop weston-launch[614]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
Mai 24 14:58:54 archtop weston-launch[614]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user tim by (uid=1000)
Mai 24 14:58:54 archtop weston-launch[614]: pam_unix(login:session): session closed for user tim

Not sure how to fix it though.

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-05-24 13:55:43)

Offline

#203 2013-05-26 15:29:44

nuc
Member
Registered: 2012-04-26
Posts: 115

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

@blackout23: Should work now with latest mesa packages from official repos.

Last edited by nuc (2013-05-26 15:30:05)

Offline

#204 2013-05-27 13:03:08

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

nuc wrote:

@blackout23: Should work now with latest mesa packages from official repos.

It does! smile

I downloaded "kmscon-git" from the AUR, which is a replacement for the kernel terminals and uses KMS, too. It still "freezes" the screen with a white course just like weston-launch did. sad

Does nouveau work with xwayland-git, yet? I was surprised it didn't replace my official "xorg-server" package.  There are xf86-video drivers for intel and amd/ati but no nouveau on the AUR.
I tried weston-launch with --modules=xwayland.so but couldn't start gedit or chromium.

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-05-27 13:24:16)

Offline

#205 2013-06-01 12:07:44

jrussell
Member
From: Cape Town, South Africa
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 510

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Could someone help me to get GTK apps to work in wayland/weston? Im not sure if I should start a new thread for this but here I go:
So I read the wayland wiki page and launching weston and weston-launch works 100%, but I cannot open any gtk apps, I get:

(chromium:2336): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: 
child 2336 exited

When trying to open chromium

Thunar says "Cannot open display"
I have no idea what that means

I have set the GDK_BACKEND environment variable to wayland, but perhaps Im not doing it correctly.
I did:

export GDK_BACKEND=wayland

bitcoin: 1G62YGRFkMDwhGr5T5YGovfsxLx44eZo7U

Offline

#206 2013-06-01 12:12:46

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

jrussell wrote:

Could someone help me to get GTK apps to work in wayland/weston? Im not sure if I should start a new thread for this but here I go:
So I read the wayland wiki page and launching weston and weston-launch works 100%, but I cannot open any gtk apps, I get:

(chromium:2336): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: 
child 2336 exited

When trying to open chromium

Thunar says "Cannot open display"
I have no idea what that means

I have set the GDK_BACKEND environment variable to wayland, but perhaps Im not doing it correctly.
I did:

export GDK_BACKEND=wayland

If you have libcanberra installed try removing the package.

Offline

#207 2013-06-07 02:51:51

p90
Member
Registered: 2013-06-07
Posts: 19

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Damn, I have the same problem. Could not yet remove the library to test if this fixes it.

Offline

#208 2013-06-07 05:50:17

jrussell
Member
From: Cape Town, South Africa
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 510

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

p90 wrote:

Damn, I have the same problem. Could not yet remove the library to test if this fixes it.

Sorry, I ment to replay back to this thread but to get GTK to work in wayland you have to set those variables from inside wayland (I think). I was then able to launch some GTK demo app and certain other things.

So from a terminal running inside wayland:

export GDK_BACKEND=wayland

And then it should work. (I think thats what you ment to do)


libcanberra only caused problems in the past (from what I can deduct from the wayland wiki and when libcanberra was last updated)

"Remove libcanberra if you get segmentation faults when running gtk applications. A fix for these segfaults has been committed as of 9 Nov 2012, so presumably as soon as 0.31.0 comes out, this should not be necessary anymore. The AUR contains a working git based libcanberra-git if you want to keep the functionality."

libcanberra was last updated in December,
*Edit
But its still not at 0.31.0

Last edited by jrussell (2013-06-07 05:53:40)


bitcoin: 1G62YGRFkMDwhGr5T5YGovfsxLx44eZo7U

Offline

#209 2013-06-08 11:50:50

p90
Member
Registered: 2013-06-07
Posts: 19

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hi,
I had set the Variable but GTK can still not find a display but is trying to use wayland non the less (before setting the variable it was complaining it did not find an X socket after setting the variable it says it cannot find "Display ". I think this is due to DISPLAY not being set. I tried setting it to :1 and some other values, only change is that GTk cannot find the Display :1 etc.

Offline

#210 2013-07-04 10:24:21

afree10
Member
Registered: 2013-05-23
Posts: 12

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

fsckd wrote:

I ran weston-launch and got this,

Date: 2013-04-18 EDT
[12:47:15.206] weston 1.1.0
               http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
               Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Wayland&component=weston&version=1.1.0
               Build:  
[12:47:15.207] OS: Linux, 3.4.38-1-lts34, #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 3 17:36:42 EDT 2013, i686
[12:47:15.207] Loading module '/usr/lib/weston/drm-backend.so'
[12:47:15.208] initializing drm backend
[12:47:15.218] using /dev/dri/card0
[12:47:15.278] failed to choose EGL config
[12:47:15.278] EGL error state: EGL_SUCCESS (0x3000)
[12:47:15.278] failed to initialize egl
[12:47:15.322] fatal: failed to create compositor

I'm in groups lp wheel games video audio optical storage power users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch.

I got a similar error in a virtual machine, have you got open-source drivers installed?, you need intel/ati/nvidia open source video drivers for it to work. I didn't try to get it working in a virtual machine past that point, but got it working on a new arch install, although I can confirm, that at least on my system, it works under root (haven't tested it much though).

Edit: I am getting that message again, or a similar one, it seems that only root works, perhaps it is because the installation was done on root and therefore is not setup properly on other users.

Last edited by afree10 (2013-07-04 10:57:58)

Offline

#211 2013-07-05 01:45:09

Cory_j
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2012-02-16
Posts: 39

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

afree10 wrote:
fsckd wrote:

I ran weston-launch and got this,

Date: 2013-04-18 EDT
[12:47:15.206] weston 1.1.0
               http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
               Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=Wayland&component=weston&version=1.1.0
               Build:  
[12:47:15.207] OS: Linux, 3.4.38-1-lts34, #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 3 17:36:42 EDT 2013, i686
[12:47:15.207] Loading module '/usr/lib/weston/drm-backend.so'
[12:47:15.208] initializing drm backend
[12:47:15.218] using /dev/dri/card0
[12:47:15.278] failed to choose EGL config
[12:47:15.278] EGL error state: EGL_SUCCESS (0x3000)
[12:47:15.278] failed to initialize egl
[12:47:15.322] fatal: failed to create compositor

I'm in groups lp wheel games video audio optical storage power users vboxusers fsckd weston-launch.

I got a similar error in a virtual machine, have you got open-source drivers installed?, you need intel/ati/nvidia open source video drivers for it to work. I didn't try to get it working in a virtual machine past that point, but got it working on a new arch install, although I can confirm, that at least on my system, it works under root (haven't tested it much though).

Edit: I am getting that message again, or a similar one, it seems that only root works, perhaps it is because the installation was done on root and therefore is not setup properly on other users.

far as i know virtual machine's most of them dont have the Driver support for Wayland atm


Arch Mint Winfail7

Offline

#212 2013-07-25 06:28:58

dWolf
Member
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 11

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Weston (weston-launch) just gives me a black screen and jornalctl gives me exactly the same messages like blackout23's. My video card is ati X550 (RV370).

Last edited by dWolf (2013-07-25 06:29:40)

Offline

#213 2013-07-25 07:40:28

jrussell
Member
From: Cape Town, South Africa
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 510

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Are you in the 'video' group?


bitcoin: 1G62YGRFkMDwhGr5T5YGovfsxLx44eZo7U

Offline

#214 2013-07-25 08:02:23

dWolf
Member
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 11

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Yes, of course. The --log option didn't do anything usefull.

Date: 2013-07-25 EEST
[10:43:56.060] weston 1.2.0
               http://wayland.freedesktop.org/
               Bug reports to: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?produ$
               Build:
[10:43:56.060] OS: Linux, 3.9.9-1-ARCH, #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jul 3 22:45:16 CEST $
[10:43:56.081] Loading module '/usr/lib/weston/drm-backend.so'
[10:43:56.106] initializing drm backend
[10:43:56.117] using /dev/dri/card0

journalctl --since today /usr/bin/weston-launch:

-- Logs begin at нд 2013-06-30 19:10:27 EEST, end at чт 2013-07-25 10:59:17 EEST. --
юли 25 10:28:31 desperado weston-launch[22951]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
юли 25 10:28:31 desperado weston-launch[22951]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user dwolf by (uid=1000)
-- Reboot --
юли 25 10:31:55 desperado weston-launch[531]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed
-- Reboot --
юли 25 10:43:55 desperado weston-launch[527]: pam_loginuid(login:session): set_loginuid failed

Edit:
Btw weston works in xorg.

Edit2:
It seems that weston just freezes. The messages in the journal are harmless. I don't know how to report that bug.

Last edited by dWolf (2013-07-27 18:33:08)

Offline

#215 2013-08-05 10:39:12

surfatwork
Member
Registered: 2012-01-05
Posts: 131

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hi, just trying out wayland/weston on a fresh Arch install. Getting a "failed to initialize egl" error. Here is what I did:

created a new virtualbox guest
installed Arch. logged in etc.
did NOT install X
installed vbox guest additions from pacman
followed instructions on Wayland archwiki (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wa … re_Wayland)
couldnt get it running with weston-launch

tried setting the debug variables i.e. tried running

$ MESA_DEBUG=1 EGL_LOG_LEVEL=debug LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose WAYLAND_DEBUG=1 weston-launch

unfortunately didnt get any debug output. so not sure how to debug now.

Does wayland/weston work on virtualbox without X?
Should I be starting/enabling any additional services using systemd?
Should I be loading any additional modules?

Last edited by surfatwork (2013-08-05 10:50:23)

Offline

#216 2013-08-05 11:24:16

ijanos
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 436

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

surfatwork wrote:

Does wayland/weston work on virtualbox without X?
Should I be starting/enabling any additional services using systemd?
Should I be loading any additional modules?

Wayland needs KMS and I don't think that virtualbox drivers implement kms functionality. It will only work with the open inter/radeon/nouveau drivers.

Offline

#217 2013-08-05 12:31:52

surfatwork
Member
Registered: 2012-01-05
Posts: 131

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

ijanos wrote:

I don't think that virtualbox drivers implement kms functionality. It will only work with the open inter/radeon/nouveau drivers.

I thought vboxvideo did have KMS - https://www.virtualbox.org/changeset/39335/vbox

Offline

#218 2013-08-05 14:03:42

surfatwork
Member
Registered: 2012-01-05
Posts: 131

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I think you are right that vbox doesnt have KMS support

Offline

#219 2013-08-05 22:13:32

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Has anyone tried to install a wayland only system and run, for example, gnome-shell within an xwayland-window?

I'm interested in the subjective performance, my theory is, that on a slow system due to the „every frame is perfect“ principle the animations could be smoother than on a pure x11 window system. Just a theory, but maybe I'm right.

Last edited by D4ve (2013-08-05 23:31:23)

Offline

#220 2013-08-06 09:51:36

zbyshek
Member
Registered: 2011-01-03
Posts: 3

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

D4ve wrote:

Has anyone tried to install a wayland only system and run, for example, gnome-shell within an xwayland-window?

I'm interested in the subjective performance, my theory is, that on a slow system due to the „every frame is perfect“ principle the animations could be smoother than on a pure x11 window system. Just a theory, but maybe I'm right.

Gnome-shell is not yet ported. Red Hat/Fedora took the action to start porting it. https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Changes/Wayland

Offline

#221 2013-08-06 10:58:30

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

zbyshek wrote:

Gnome-shell is not yet ported. Red Hat/Fedora took the action to start porting it. https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Changes/Wayland

I meant running gnome-shell (or any other window manager) within an xwayland-window (fullscreen of course).

Offline

#222 2013-08-06 12:11:19

mar04
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2010-02-08
Posts: 116

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

D4ve wrote:

I meant running gnome-shell (or any other window manager) within an xwayland-window (fullscreen of course).

Read this http://mjg59.dreamwidth.org/26254.html - basically that setup is pointless, unsupported and broken. XWayland is meant to run individual apps only.

Offline

#223 2013-08-06 20:19:05

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

mar04 wrote:

Read this http://mjg59.dreamwidth.org/26254.html - basically that setup is pointless, unsupported and broken. XWayland is meant to run individual apps only.

The post is about Mir and XMir, not wayland. Anyway, interesting to read, thanks.

I'm just interested if anyone has tried that, not if it's useful or works perfect - like a proof of concept. But it seems no one out there ever tried that.

Offline

#224 2013-08-07 05:43:42

mar04
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2010-02-08
Posts: 116

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

D4ve wrote:

The post is about Mir and XMir, not wayland. Anyway, interesting to read, thanks.

I'm just interested if anyone has tried that, not if it's useful or works perfect - like a proof of concept. But it seems no one out there ever tried that.

From what I understand it would require patches to run it that way. Better to wait few more months for gnome 3.10 and native gnome-shell wayland port.

Offline

#225 2013-08-07 09:43:16

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

mar04 wrote:

Better to wait few more months for gnome 3.10 and native gnome-shell wayland port.

Well, gnome 3.10 will maybe have wayland support (they changed their opinion about this a few days ago), i think 3.12 or 3.14 is more realistic.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB