You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-25 11:31:25

frostwind
Member
Registered: 2013-07-23
Posts: 8

Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

I can't hear sounds within wine games but if i open winecfg and click test sounds, i hear a faint sound, so im not sure if my audio is low for wine or what. i don't know how to set the volume for wine if that's what it is because when i open the alsa mixer it has nothing but the speakers actual sounds and not the programs. please help?!
also, i am new so i don't know much yet.

Offline

#2 2013-07-25 11:37:12

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

What's the output of 'amixer'?

What do you mean by "speakers actual sounds"?? If you're using alsa you will have either all sound quiet or all sound loud, it doesn't set the preferences per-app, maybe Pulseaudio can do that. Check if you can change the loudness in the program you're running in wine.

Offline

#3 2013-07-25 11:52:27

frostwind
Member
Registered: 2013-07-23
Posts: 8

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

no i cant and the controll is 'master',0

Offline

#4 2013-07-25 11:56:48

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

Type 'amixer' into the terminal and paste the output here, using the [ code ] tags https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

like this

Offline

#5 2013-07-25 12:37:33

frostwind
Member
Registered: 2013-07-23
Posts: 8

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 65536
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 65536 [100%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 65536 [100%] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 65536
  Front Left: Capture 3479 [5%] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 3479 [5%] [on]

Sorry, was busy.

Offline

#6 2013-07-25 12:53:15

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

That's pulseaudio. To see the card:

alsamixer -c0

Offline

#7 2013-09-06 19:46:35

Primoz
Member
From: Ljubljana-Slovena-EU
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 661

Re: Cant hear sounds from wine ingame?

I really wouldn't be bumping this dead topic, if I wouldn't be experiencing exactly the same (or at least very similar) problems.
There is one major difference though, I didn't notice this problem until I installed Command & Conquer 3, as it's the only game that lacks sound. In the other two games I have, that is Age of Empires 2 and Medieval 2: Total War, sound works.
So I didn't notice it before.
I was trying to solve this by myself, but I just didn't find anything that could be the problem.
So here it's how it is.
If I set sound in winecfg to HD-Audio Generic  ALC889 Digital that is exactly the soundcard I have I have no sound whatsoever in Command & Conquer, but sound works completely okay in other two games.
If I set to default or system default, then there's sound in all but with high latency, a lot of noise and a bit of echo. In AoE this goes away once you get to the actual game the latency, noise and echo disappear, but in C&C it only kind of disappears and can still be heard. It's not just faint or whatever, it's actually quite audible and does make the game unplayable (especially the echo).

So if anyone has any idea what to do, please tell me. I think I once had this problem and managed to solve it, but I can't remember how I did it.


Arch x86_64 ATI AMD APU KDE frameworks 5
---------------------------------
Whatever I do, I always end up with something horribly mis-configured.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB