You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-31 10:29:27

manasij7479
Member
From: Kolkata@India
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 29

Can sshfs be included in the install image ?

I recently installed Arch on a new laptop, and sshfs proved to be very helpful in mounting the package cache of my desktop over there.
I think this suits the use case of a lot of Arch users installing arch on a virtual machine or another machine.
I'd like it to be included in the official image, because it is only only a few kilobytes in size.

If there is a better way to instantly share the package cache, I'd like to hear about it.
(I could set up a local repository, but that seems like a lot of work.)

Offline

#2 2013-07-31 13:58:40

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,032

Re: Can sshfs be included in the install image ?

you should create a feature request for that in the bugtracker.

a workaround would be to install it.
after you got networking up in the live environment, you can use pacman to install anything in the repos.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2013-07-31 14:13:01

manasij7479
Member
From: Kolkata@India
Registered: 2011-10-20
Posts: 29

Re: Can sshfs be included in the install image ?

Yes, that is what I did....after getting confused a little.
As zsh has some sort of completion for sshfs built in and it wouldn't tell me directly that sshfs was not found.

Offline

#4 2013-07-31 14:13:02

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: Can sshfs be included in the install image ?

Lone_Wolf wrote:

you should create a feature request for that in the bugtracker.

I think it was partially an RFC:

manasij7479 wrote:

If there is a better way to instantly share the package cache, I'd like to hear about it.

I sometimes first post on the forums to get feedback and only later send e-mail to the ML or open a bug report.

Offline

#5 2013-09-09 15:59:27

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: Can sshfs be included in the install image ?

Bump.
I don't see any feature request or discussion on the ML. Did I miss it?

manasij7479 wrote:

I'd like it to be included in the official image, because it is only only a few kilobytes in size.

It depends on fuse and glib2 and neither of them is currently on the iso: https://projects.archlinux.org/archiso. … kages.both

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB