You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-03 11:34:17

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Archlinux and HD SSD

I will install Archlinux on a hard disk com SSD OS only. I wonder whether it is advisable to partition this disk. I would also like to know if it is advisable to put swap partition. If you do not want to put swap partition as I have to install Archlinux?

Offline

#2 2013-08-03 11:36:46

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,612
Website

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

Don't understand your questions.  You obviously need to partition your disk, HDD or SDD.  Swap or not depends on how much RAM you have and your typical system usage.  I have 16 G of RAM and do not use a swap partition for example.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2013-08-03 11:36:58

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

coellobranco wrote:

I will install Archlinux on a hard disk com SSD OS only.

What??


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#4 2013-08-03 12:03:02

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

Sorry... i will use a SSD hard disk... and i know that swap partition can damage the disc...and.. as archlinux configure not to use swap? (i have 8gb ram)

Offline

#5 2013-08-03 12:48:57

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

Ah, I think that was the confusion.  You can have a hard disk or a SSD (or perhaps both) but they are different things.  So you only have a SSD.  Whether one needs swap depends both on the amount of memory available, and what the computer is used for.  I have 1Gb of ram on one of my computers, and I've disabled swap - I once temporarily reenabled it when I was compiling a kernel.

Could swap damage a SSD, maybe - I'm not sure.  But it only could if it were actually used.  With 8Gb ram it's unlikly to be used.  A swap partition will not harm a SSD simply by being there.

If you intent to use hibernation you'll need a swap partition (I think), but otherwise I'd say don't bother.  If it's ever needed you can also make a swap file (I don't think these work for hibernation, I could be wrong).


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#6 2013-08-04 13:23:32

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

ok, thanks!

Offline

#7 2013-08-06 01:50:59

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

I believe you can hibernate to a swap file but it is more straightforward if you have a dedicated partition. But maybe it depends on further aspects of your configuration - I've only ever used a swap partition so I'm not sure of the requirements for a swap file. I've just noticed recently that it seems to be possible. Somebody posted here trying to use one and I ended up skimming parts of the wiki about it so if you search the wiki, you can find the information you need if you choose to do it that way. (Of course, if you don't plan to hibernate, it may not be an issue at all.)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2013-08-06 07:59:06

forumache
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 46

Re: Archlinux and HD SSD

I hibernate to swap file and it works great. It is even documented here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Su … _swap_file

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB