You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-06 13:11:36

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

[SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Hi!

I'm trying to follow the instructions from the first page to upgrade but I get this:

pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -
sysvinit 2.88-9
consolekit 0.4.6-4
gadmin-samba 0.3.4-1
initscripts 2012.10.1-1

And I cannot fix these packages. What should I do?

Last edited by eherranzr (2013-08-06 23:48:26)

Offline

#2 2013-08-06 13:14:41

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,096
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Remove them.

Offline

#3 2013-08-06 13:43:43

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

When trying to remove initscripts I'm asked to remove these:

iproute2-3.8.0-1  iptables-1.4.19.1-1  sysvinit-tools-2.88-9  initscripts-2012.10.1-1

Should I continue?

Offline

#4 2013-08-06 14:06:25

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Have you been doing partial upgrades?  You have a recent iptables, but a very old iproute.

I don't know if this is the "best" way, but I would continue, and remove all those, then just reinstall iproute (immediately) after the rest of the update.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2013-08-06 14:09:52

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Yes, I thought that maybe upgrading iptables could help but everything kept the same
So, do you recommend removing all these packages, upgrade the full system, and after this installing iproute and iptables?

Offline

#6 2013-08-06 14:10:32

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

You probably want to change the database entry for iproute2 to "Explicitly Installed", this will prevent it and iptables being removed. If you make use of sysvinit-tools, then do the same for that package too. Use pacman -D for this purpose.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#7 2013-08-06 14:12:58

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

WorMzy wrote:

You probably want to change the database entry for iproute2 to "Explicitly Installed", this will prevent it and iptables being removed. If you make use of sysvinit-tools, then do the same for that package too. Use pacman -D for this purpose.

Wow! I don't know if I'm using sysvinit-tools, any way of doing it?
So, I should run this command?

sudo pacman -D --asexplicit iproute2

Last edited by eherranzr (2013-08-06 14:19:55)

Offline

#8 2013-08-06 14:21:20

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Use pacman -Ql sysvinit-tools to get a list of files that package provides, if none of them look familiar to you, you're probably okay getting rid of it.

There's no space between the - and the D, but yes, that's the command you should run. EDIT: I see you've realised that yourself.

Last edited by WorMzy (2013-08-06 14:21:58)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#9 2013-08-06 14:22:59

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

WorMzy wrote:

Use pacman -Ql sysvinit-tools to get a list of files that package provides, if none of them look familiar to you, you're probably okay getting rid of it.

There's no space between the - and the D, but yes, that's the command you should run. EDIT: I see you've realised that yourself.

I get the following output

sudo pacman -Ql sysvinit-tools
sysvinit-tools /bin/
sysvinit-tools /bin/pidof
sysvinit-tools /sbin/
sysvinit-tools /sbin/bootlogd
sysvinit-tools /sbin/fstab-decode
sysvinit-tools /sbin/killall5
sysvinit-tools /usr/
sysvinit-tools /usr/bin/
sysvinit-tools /usr/bin/last
sysvinit-tools /usr/bin/lastb
sysvinit-tools /usr/include/
sysvinit-tools /usr/include/initreq.h
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man1/
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man1/last.1.gz
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man1/lastb.1.gz
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man8/
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man8/bootlogd.8.gz
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man8/fstab-decode.8.gz
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man8/killall5.8.gz
sysvinit-tools /usr/share/man/man8/pidof.8.gz

Looks great to me, do I continue removing it?

I realised later about the space, thanks

Offline

#10 2013-08-06 14:59:44

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

If you don't need any of those files, yes, let pacman remove the package along with the problematic packages. If you do need those files, change the database entry for the package, and it won't be flagged for removal when you remove the problematic packages. It's up to you.

If you keep the package, it will be updated when you do "pacman -Syu --ignore bash,filesystem", when you get to that point in the instructions.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#11 2013-08-06 15:00:27

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

For this step:
4) Ensure all partitions are mounted if using autofs. They may not automount when needed later in this update.
I've found this solution
Access all mountpounts with cd, ls I guess.
But I don't understand it correctly.
I don't know if I'm using autofs (I don't think so, I mount partitions by fstab)
So, I should just skip this step and do the following?

# pacman -Syu --ignore filesystem,bash
# pacman -S bash
# pacman -Su

Thanks

EDIT: I just finally marked it as Explicitly Installed because of killall

Last edited by eherranzr (2013-08-06 15:01:26)

Offline

#12 2013-08-06 15:18:32

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

You don't need it for killall, that's provided by psmisc. I don't think killall5 has much use on a systemd system.

If you're not using autofs, then you can skip that step. It's just a warning for people who have a separate partition for something, to make sure they're all fully mounted before you start.

If you've followed the instructions through to the final step, then yes, those commands are next. If you skipped over a step because you didn't understand something, then don't do step 5 yet. Step 5 is the point of no return. If you haven't prepared your system correctly, it will fail. Take the opportunity to double-check everything before you start the update proper.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#13 2013-08-06 15:25:56

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

[548][emilio:/home/emilio]$ pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -

Clean output

[549][emilio:/home/emilio]$ sudo cat /etc/pacman.conf
# Pacman won't upgrade packages listed in IgnorePkg and members of IgnoreGroup
#IgnorePkg   =
#IgnoreGroup =

#[testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[core]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[extra]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[community-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[community]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

#[kde-unstable]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# If you want to run 32 bit applications on your x86_64 system,
# enable the multilib repositories as required here.

#[multilib-testing]
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

[multilib]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs

[archlinuxfr]
SigLevel = Never
Server=http://repo.archlinux.fr/x86_64

No packages ignores or non-official repos

[550][emilio:/home/emilio]$ find /bin /sbin /usr/sbin -exec pacman -Qo -- {} + >/dev/null

Clean output

Not using autofs (it's not installed)

So everything looks okay I think, I can proceed with step 5 can't I?

Last edited by eherranzr (2013-08-06 15:35:11)

Offline

#14 2013-08-06 15:36:01

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,096
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

eherranzr wrote:

Not using autofs (it's not installed)

I feel compelled to point out that autofs is a kernel module which happens to have a userland component of the same name. You can use the automounting features of autofs via systemd's x-systemd.automount flag in /etc/fstab -- you don't necessarily need to have the autofs package installed.

Better yet, just run the following:

$ findmnt -t autofs

If you're using autofs, you'll see output.

Offline

#15 2013-08-06 15:40:47

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

No output for

findmnt -t autofs

Thanks, I thought it was just an external peckage

Offline

#16 2013-08-06 15:41:34

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

archlinuxfr is an unoffical repo, you should check that for outdated packages.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#17 2013-08-06 15:46:29

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

WorMzy wrote:

archlinuxfr is an unoffical repo, you should check that for outdated packages.

No output for:

$ paclist archlinuxfr | awk ' { print $1 } ' | pacman -Ql - | grep ' /s\?bin/\| /usr/sbin/'

May I continue now?

Offline

#18 2013-08-06 16:46:33

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Sure. You don't have to ask permission. tongue


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#19 2013-08-06 19:15:16

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

I have big problem now. After upgrading Andes rebooting, grub doesn't load and I'm stucked on GNU GRUB versión 0.97
The one that seems like a bash line.

What can I do?

Offline

#20 2013-08-06 19:21:29

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

I gather that you upgraded from grub 0.97 to grub 2.x, but you didn't setup grub 2, so you now have have grub-legacy MBR code but no menu.lst.

The simplest fix is to boot into a live media, mount your boot partition and `mv /mnt/grub/menu.lst.pacsave /mnt/grub/menu.lst`

This is well covered (many times) in the thread(s) about this issue.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#21 2013-08-06 19:28:50

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Sorry about being so many times solved, but I saw the problem and just wrote about it.
Now I'm starting a live CD and I'm going to move menu.lst. pactsave to menu.lst and rebooting

Offline

#22 2013-08-06 19:31:28

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,380

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

Alternatively, you could try running "configfile /boot/menu.lst.pacsave" from the prompt. I'm not sure if that will work if grub has been "upgraded" to grub2, as the stage1.5, etc. files will be missing, but it's worth a try.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#23 2013-08-06 19:35:18

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

FYI, if/when that boots, you may want to decide if you want to restore grub-legacy or upgrade properly to grub 2.0 (personally I'm not a fan of grub 2.0, but this is just opinion).

Strictly speaking, once you rename that file, you should be fine as long as you don't tinker with the bootloader.  But to be on the safe side you should go one way or the other, so either:
A) install grub-legacy from AUR and remove grub
B) follow the grub (2.x) configuration instructions in the wiki.

Again, this is far from urgent and can be put off for a bit - your system will run just fine as is.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#24 2013-08-06 19:44:33

eherranzr
Member
Registered: 2011-06-28
Posts: 112

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

I am again on grub after the LiveCD, but I get this when booting

http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/6880/k3i8.jpg
When booting from Fallback I get this one

http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/984/85rm.jpg

I think I broke the full system.

EDIT: adding init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd makes the system boot, but Xs don't start neither automatically or manually

Any idea?



-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Last edited by eherranzr (2013-08-06 20:04:46)

Offline

#25 2013-08-06 20:05:36

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,032
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Binaries move to /usr/bin requiring update intervention

So you removed sysvinit, but didn't install sysvinit-compat, so you need to specify systemd as init in your bootloader.

But **again** this has been very thoroughly covered in many places including the wiki.  Don't expect to continue to be "hand-fed" - don't be a help vampire.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB