You are not logged in.

#1 2011-01-09 13:55:09

Hrafnahnef
Member
Registered: 2010-09-02
Posts: 11

No sound troubleshooting

I have a problem with my Arch install having no sound since my last reboot.

I am mainly running KDE and KDE apps, so it *might* be phonon-related, but I'm not conviced that's the issue. In the past, I used to have 7 or 8 soundcards in the KDE settings module for Phonon, and specifically I had hw(0,0), hw(0,1) and hw(1,3). But these no longer shows up. Though, in the past I also had pulseaudio installed. (Which after my reboot caused all sort of errors, so I removed it.) In the really distant past, I didn't have pulseaudio installed and to the best of my memory, hw(0,0), hw(0,1) and hw(1,3) didn't show up in the settings module either.

I have already tried google for all error messages I have got from mpg123, mplayer, xine and aplay, and tried to follow diagnostics and troubleshootings I have found in arch bbs and arch wiki. Of course, I could have overlooked something, so please be kind with me and assume I have forgot to do all the basics... :-(

I have speakers connected to both SPEAKER (green 3.5 mm jack) and LINE OUT (black 3.5 mm jack) in the back panel. I have no speakers attached to my green 3.5 mm speaker jack on the front panel. My user is added to the audio group, and I have also tried to run all music applications as root.

My main theory is that something is blocking the sound card, so ALSA can't use it. But I can't figure out what.

Here is most of what I believe could be of use:

Packages installed:

phonon, gstreamer, xine-lib, esound, jack, alsa, mplayer, vlc, amarok

/proc/asound/version:

Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.22.1

/proc/asound/cards:

0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfe024000 irq 16
1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfdffc000 irq 19

/proc/asound/devices:

2:        : timer
  3: [ 0- 2]: digital audio capture
  4: [ 0- 1]: digital audio playback
  5: [ 0- 1]: digital audio capture
  6: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
  7: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
  8: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  9: [ 0]   : control
10: [ 1- 3]: digital audio playback
11: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
12: [ 1]   : control
13:        : sequencer

/proc/asound/timers:

G0: system timer : 3333.333us (10000000 ticks)
P0-0-0: PCM playback 0-0-0 : SLAVE
P0-0-1: PCM capture 0-0-1 : SLAVE
P0-1-0: PCM playback 0-1-0 : SLAVE
P0-1-1: PCM capture 0-1-1 : SLAVE
P0-2-1: PCM capture 0-2-1 : SLAVE
P0-2-3: PCM capture 0-2-3 : SLAVE
P1-3-0: PCM playback 1-3-0 : SLAVE

/proc/asound/pcm:

00-00: ALC889A Analog : ALC889A Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
00-01: ALC889A Digital : ALC889A Digital : playback 1 : capture 1
00-02: ALC889A Analog : ALC889A Analog : capture 2
01-03: ATI HDMI : ATI HDMI : playback 1

Chipset:

Realtek ALC889A

Volumes on all channels have been confirmed with alsamixer.

aplay -l:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC889A Analog [ALC889A Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC889A Digital [ALC889A Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Thus, I tried aplay on all cards/devices:

aplay -D plughw:0,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
aplay: main:654: audio open error: Device or resource busy

aplay -D plughw:0,1 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav:
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono

aplay -D plughw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav:
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono

Note: Nothing ever played in any speakers, despite the fact that aplay claimed so.

So I thought, maybe sound levels was set to 0 on plughw0,1. So I ran
alsamixer -D plughw:0,1
but it only gave me

ALSA lib control.c:902:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL plughw:0,1
cannot open mixer: File or directory not found

aplay -L:

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=SB
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889A Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=HDMI
    HDA ATI HDMI, ATI HDMI
    HDMI Audio Output

aplay <mp3 file>:

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:654: audio open error: Device or resource busy

xine <mp3 file>:

This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.6-[DEBUG].
jackd 0.118.0
JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
loading driver ..
creating alsa driver ... hw:0|hw:0|1024|2|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
control device hw:0
the playback device "hw:0" is already in use. Please stop the application using it and run JACK again
cannot load driver module alsa
params.c:OpenConfFile() - Unable to open configuration file "/home/ac/.smb/smb.conf":
        Filen eller katalogen finns inte
params.c:OpenConfFile() - Unable to open configuration file "/etc/samba/smb.conf":
        Filen eller katalogen finns inte
xine: could not connect to socket                                                                                                                                                                                                           
xine: Filen eller katalogen finns inte                                                                                                                                                                                                       
Playlist '/home/ac/.xine/xine-ui_old_playlist.tox' saved.

mplayer <mp3 file>:

MPlayer SVN-r31774-4.5.0 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team                                                                                                                                                                                         
158 audio & 340 video codecs                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
mplayer: could not connect to socket                                                                                                                                                                                                         
mplayer: No such file or directory                                                                                                                                                                                                           
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3                                                                                                                                                                                       
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 320.0 kbit/22.68% (ratio: 40000->176400)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
[AO OSS] audio_setup: Can't open audio device /dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_hw.c:1293:(snd_pcm_hw_open) open '/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p' failed (-16): Device or resource busy
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO_ALSA] Playback open error: Device or resource busy
[JACK] cannot open server
[AO SDL] Samplerate: 44100Hz Channels: Stereo Format s16le
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_hw.c:1293:(snd_pcm_hw_open) open '/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p' failed (-16): Device or resource busy
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO SDL] Unable to open audio: No available audio device
DVB card number must be between 1 and 4
AO: [null] 44100Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...

vlc <mp3 file>:
pops up a dialog saying:

Potential ALSA version problem:
VLC failed to initialize your sound output device (if any).
Please update alsa-lib to version 1.0.23-2-g8d80d5f or higher to try to fix this issue.

Also it outputs to tty

VLC media player 1.1.1 The Luggage (revision exported)
Blocked: call to unsetenv("DBUS_ACTIVATION_ADDRESS")
Blocked: call to unsetenv("DBUS_ACTIVATION_BUS_TYPE")
Warning: call to signal(13, 0x1)
[0xa55120] main libvlc: Kör vlc med standardgränssnittet. Använd "cvlc" för att använda vlc utan gränssnitt.
Blocked: call to setlocale(6, "")
Blocked: call to sigaction(17, 0x7f0133433ac0, 0x7f0133433b60)
Blocked: call to setlocale(6, "")
Warning: call to signal(13, 0x1)
Warning: call to rand()
Warning: call to rand()
Warning: call to rand()
Blocked: call to setlocale(1, "C")
Blocked: call to setlocale(1, "sv_SE.UTF-8")
Blocked: call to setlocale(1, "C")
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[0x7f012c013de0] oss audio output error: cannot open audio device (/dev/dsp)
[0x7f012c013de0] jack audio output error: failed to connect to JACK server
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Blocked: call to signal(13, 0x7f012706cad0)
Warning: call to signal(13, (nil))
Blocked: call to sigaction(11, 0x7f0127b74850, (nil))
Blocked: call to sigaction(7, 0x7f0127b74850, (nil))
Blocked: call to sigaction(8, 0x7f0127b74850, (nil))
Blocked: call to sigaction(3, 0x7f0127b74850, (nil))
Warning: call to sigaction(14, 0x7f0127b74850, (nil))
[0x7f012c013de0] main audio output error: couldn't find a filter for the conversion f32l -> mpga
[0x7f012c013de0] main audio output error: couldn't create audio output pipeline
Warning: call to rand()
Warning: call to rand()

I'm unable to update alsa-lib to 1.0.23-2, 1.0.23-1 is the latest I can find in any repo. I tried

sudo pacman -Syu
sudo pacman -S alsa-lib

but it didn't help

Interesting modules loaded (lsmod | grep snd):

snd_seq_dummy           1447  0
snd_seq_oss            28928  0
snd_seq_midi_event      5420  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                50530  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          5241  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            39096  0
snd_mixer_oss          16932  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_hda_codec_atihdmi     2723  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek   267667  1
snd_hda_intel          21906  3
snd_hda_codec          76595  3 snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               6126  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                71653  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              19660  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    57225  16 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               6089  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          7201  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

dmesg | grep -i hda

HDA Intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
hda_codec: ALC889A: BIOS auto-probing.
input: HDA Digital PCBeep as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/input/input3
HDA Intel 0000:01:05.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
HDA Intel 0000:01:05.1: setting latency timer to 64
hda-intel: IRQ timing workaround is activated for card #1. Suggest a bigger bdl_pos_adj.


Any ideas?

Offline

#2 2011-01-09 13:59:23

loafer
Member
From: the pub
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 1,706

Re: No sound troubleshooting

1.0.23-2 has been out for months so if your mirror has 1.0.23-1 it's way out-of-date.  Try changing to an up-to-date mirror.


All men have stood for freedom...
For freedom is the man that will turn the world upside down.
Gerrard Winstanley.

Offline

#3 2011-01-09 14:08:18

Hrafnahnef
Member
Registered: 2010-09-02
Posts: 11

Re: No sound troubleshooting

Also I have mpd and icecast installed, but they are not running. Though, ps -e shows up:

1227 ?        00:00:00 hd-audio0
1230 ?        04:19:35 hd-audio1

Offline

#4 2011-01-09 14:13:01

Hrafnahnef
Member
Registered: 2010-09-02
Posts: 11

Re: No sound troubleshooting

Indeed, my mirror seemed to be f**** up.

I have installed alsa-lib 1.0.23-2 now, but all errors still persist.

I'm trying a pacman -Syu again to see if it might resolv this issue.

Offline

#5 2011-01-10 20:53:13

Hrafnahnef
Member
Registered: 2010-09-02
Posts: 11

Re: No sound troubleshooting

Nope. Still no sound. :-(

Offline

#6 2011-01-12 02:40:09

Rabbit
Member
Registered: 2011-01-12
Posts: 8

Re: No sound troubleshooting

Could it possibly be something with ALSA?

ALSA in the Wiki

I always have problems with Sound at first and have to go in and unmute everything and set ALSA to start at system start.  I was able to fix it from the Wiki guide.

Apologies if you're already past this step.

Offline

#7 2011-01-12 04:32:01

admiralspark
Member
From: Alaska, USA
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 87

Re: No sound troubleshooting

If using X, does the DE load any kind of sound-related software on startup? I had some early issues with sound because I had one of my rc.conf's trying to load a second instance of ALSA (bad editing on my part)


Team Ignition Kernel Developer
linux-ideapad developer/maintainer
Flame Kernel developer for Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S3
Want a cheap, reliable VPS with AWESOME customer service?

Offline

#8 2011-03-09 01:06:30

bkuri
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 13
Website

Re: No sound troubleshooting

The only advice I can give you is to make sure that your PCM channel has volume. That has stumped me in the past. HTH


Dell XPS 13 (9350) // 512GB // 16GB

Offline

#9 2013-08-28 09:19:02

farkaslory
Member
Registered: 2013-08-28
Posts: 5

Re: No sound troubleshooting

I had similar problem. Don't you have something in the front jack (or maybe the card think so)? If so, turn the Auto-Mute mode to disabled with alsamixer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB