You are not logged in.

#26 2013-09-06 21:18:48

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Primoz wrote:

How can I set how many cores could be used for compiling?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Makepkg#MAKEFLAGS

Offline

#27 2013-09-06 21:20:45

Primoz
Member
From: Ljubljana-Slovena-EU
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 661

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

karol wrote:
Primoz wrote:

How can I set how many cores could be used for compiling?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Makepkg#MAKEFLAGS

Oh yeah, damn how could I forgot about makeflags? Thanks!


Arch x86_64 ATI AMD APU KDE frameworks 5
---------------------------------
Whatever I do, I always end up with something horribly mis-configured.

Offline

#28 2013-09-06 23:49:32

msthev
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05
Posts: 177

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

I think there might be something wrong here…

CSMT disabled:
http://i.imgur.com/21hGeVG.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/SB03oVI.jpg

CSMT enabled:
http://i.imgur.com/Q9Y91PO.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/yI7yqQ5.png
http://i.imgur.com/MOliNnn.jpg (loaded the replay again)
http://i.imgur.com/bPZriYT.jpg (…and again)

But hey, I get 50% more frames cool

Offline

#29 2013-09-07 06:21:45

xpander
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 55

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

SC2 is more cpu bound also i think.
what kind of gpu do you have and the drivers?
i havent noticed any regressions yet with those patches and CSMT enabled

so far i have tested: Crysis2, Remember Me, Airbuccaneers, Deus Ex Human Revolution, Mass Effect 3, Skyrim, Borderlands2, Tomb Raider(2013), Guild Wars 2, Neverwinter Online, DaYZ and Fallen Earth

Crysis 2, Tomb Raider, Deus Ex HR and DayZ had graphical glitches before without strictdrawordering and with strictdrawordering the fps took a huge hit, but with those patches there is no strictdrawordering needed and performance has improved a lot.
other games all also had nice performance improvements, not so noticable though because they ran fine before as well.

using GTX560TI, nvidia 325.15

Offline

#30 2013-09-07 08:23:55

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 807

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

@xpander, can you test a call of duty game (whatever you want). As i previously said, on my ati hd5650 i had a drop of performance, about 50%.

Offline

#31 2013-09-07 11:36:58

msthev
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05
Posts: 177

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

xpander wrote:

SC2 is more cpu bound also i think.
what kind of gpu do you have and the drivers?

Might be, as I have an old Phenom II tongue But I'd expect that CPU-caused regressions would be just less fps, not something like that… I tested it a couple more times, with clean cache and wineprefixes (both 32- and 64-bit), and it still doesn't work (I get random colors in the animated parts of the game, sometimes white, sometimes red, blue, etc.):
http://i.imgur.com/C52fyIc.png
http://i.imgur.com/LJlgZvN.jpg
As for the GPU, I have a GTX 560 (not -Ti) with proprietary drivers from the repos (version 325.15-5).

Offline

#32 2013-09-07 13:08:56

dRaiser
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2013-05-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Unfortunatelly no difference with Witcher 2 beyond minimal settings on my desktop.

Offline

#33 2013-09-07 18:59:43

xpander
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 55

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

nierro wrote:

@xpander, can you test a call of duty game (whatever you want). As i previously said, on my ati hd5650 i had a drop of performance, about 50%.

sry dont have any of the call of duty games to test
well i actually have cod 2 and 4 on dvd's somewhere..but i do not have dvd drive on my machine to install/play them.

Last edited by xpander (2013-09-07 19:00:28)

Offline

#34 2013-09-08 08:32:56

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 807

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Ok, thanks anyway for your time!

Offline

#35 2013-09-08 14:28:17

xpander
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 55

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

msthev wrote:
xpander wrote:

SC2 is more cpu bound also i think.
what kind of gpu do you have and the drivers?

Might be, as I have an old Phenom II tongue But I'd expect that CPU-caused regressions would be just less fps, not something like that… I tested it a couple more times, with clean cache and wineprefixes (both 32- and 64-bit), and it still doesn't work (I get random colors in the animated parts of the game, sometimes white, sometimes red, blue, etc.):
http://i.imgur.com/C52fyIc.png
http://i.imgur.com/LJlgZvN.jpg
As for the GPU, I have a GTX 560 (not -Ti) with proprietary drivers from the repos (version 325.15-5).

but if you turn CSMT off from registry - will it work fine then?
also make sure you have strictdrawordering disabled , cause it will cause conflicts with CSMT
there are few games that dont like CSMT - one example seems to be League Of Legends, which just bugsplats wheen thats enabled

Offline

#36 2013-09-14 03:25:57

CyberConan
Member
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 4

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Excellent wine patched!! I found a patch that increase fps in WoW and SC2 with d3d if you want include in next aur update. Thanks!

http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?i … ction=edit

Offline

#37 2013-09-14 08:38:46

xpander
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 55

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

CyberConan wrote:

Excellent wine patched!! I found a patch that increase fps in WoW and SC2 with d3d if you want include in next aur update. Thanks!

http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?i … ction=edit

this needs a separate wine package, because this patch is not part of the d3d command stream patch set

Last edited by xpander (2013-09-14 11:51:37)

Offline

#38 2013-09-14 10:23:36

Thaodan
Member
From: Dortmund, Nordrein-Westfalen
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 434

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

set MAKEFLAGS in makepkg.conf see makepkg.conf(5).


Linux odin 3.13.1-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 5 21:47:28 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#39 2013-09-20 11:16:32

christov84
Member
From: West. Australia
Registered: 2013-08-27
Posts: 27

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

hey how does one get it to work with PlayOnLinux?

I assume there is a way to get PoL to use the /usr/bin/wine patched version right?

would symlinks work?

Offline

#40 2013-09-20 11:35:17

the_shiver
Member
From: Fortress Europe
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 127

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

you can set which version of wine to use in POL's options

Offline

#41 2013-09-20 14:31:12

christov84
Member
From: West. Australia
Registered: 2013-08-27
Posts: 27

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

the_shiver wrote:

you can set which version of wine to use in POL's options


No that is what PoL choses to download and set up. I.E will not use a patched one you have just got off the AUR

Offline

#42 2013-09-21 20:46:54

rage_311
Member
Registered: 2013-04-29
Posts: 9

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

christov84 wrote:

hey how does one get it to work with PlayOnLinux?

I assume there is a way to get PoL to use the /usr/bin/wine patched version right?

would symlinks work?

See this thread: http://www.playonlinux.com/en/topic-896 … n_POL.html
Looks like you might just need to move it into the PoL wine directory (~/.playonlinux/wine/linux-x86/).

Or... I think selecting "System" under WINE version in the PoL configuration will give you what you're looking for.  I'm about to try it out myself.

Offline

#43 2013-09-22 12:11:23

christov84
Member
From: West. Australia
Registered: 2013-08-27
Posts: 27

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

I uninstalled PoL... Howd you go?

On a new kernel and got FGLRX firing so recompiling this and hope it will fix all my *linux* issues haha

Offline

#44 2013-09-22 12:20:20

christov84
Member
From: West. Australia
Registered: 2013-08-27
Posts: 27

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

nope MK Komplete still fails to load under this.. but works with low fps under normal wine171..

Other games say they cannot find directX or graphics cards?

Last edited by christov84 (2013-09-22 12:22:06)

Offline

#45 2013-09-29 17:29:39

rage_311
Member
Registered: 2013-04-29
Posts: 9

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

christov84 wrote:

I uninstalled PoL... Howd you go?

On a new kernel and got FGLRX firing so recompiling this and hope it will fix all my *linux* issues haha

Sorry for the delay.  I haven't had a chance to get back to this for a while.  I tried installing the AUR package on my laptop and it failed for some reason.  I didn't have time to look into it.  But today, I noticed that Wine version 1.7.1-CSMT has been added to the PlayOnLinux Wine repository.  I added that version, disabled StrictDrawOrdering and created and enabled the CSMT registry key (HKCU/Software/Wine/Direct3D/CSMT = "enabled").  It has worked flawlessly for me so far.  My frame rates are up at least 40-50% in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and almost doubled in Diablo 3.  I'm about to test with Starcraft 2, since frame rates have never been great in Wine.

Sorry to hear that you're having issues with it though.  Maybe try reinstalling PoL and give the above method a go?

Offline

#46 2013-09-30 11:03:36

christov84
Member
From: West. Australia
Registered: 2013-08-27
Posts: 27

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Gave PoL a go and FPS is better smile but still slow.

6990 doesnt seem to really be under any load as it doesnt really get any louder when MK is playing.

I checked if Fglrx is loaded and it says direct rendering is definately enabled..

Will see how StarCraft goes as thats meant to be amazingly better under this

Last edited by christov84 (2013-09-30 12:40:28)

Offline

#47 2013-10-18 17:45:54

hpstg
Member
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 34

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

With Catalyst 13.11 and a 7970, I get really weird colors in StarCraft 2, making the game unplayable. The good news is that the framerate appears to have doubled. tongue

Any clues on how to get rid of the artifacts?

Offline

#48 2013-10-18 18:51:42

msthev
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05
Posts: 177

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

You mean this?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 4#p1321724
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 2#p1321842
http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?id=45879

Comments #326 and #329 in the Wine bug report are the only things I got on the topic. (Changing video settings while in game fixes this, but it still lags and breaks when you leave current game).

Offline

#49 2013-10-21 02:49:16

hpstg
Member
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 34

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

Yes, I have artifacts like that. Sometimes there are white screens too. Everything is at default except the registry key to enable the patches.

Offline

#50 2014-01-07 22:39:24

xpander
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 55

Re: Wine with d3d command stream patches

new package in aur

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/wine-d3dstream-git/

based on wine-git pkgbuild and using this git source https://github.com/stefand/wine

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB