You are not logged in.

#1 2004-01-30 04:19:09

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

No audio in mplayer

big_smile  smile

    Cannot get audio to accompany the video in mplayer.

     Gmplayer does not accept .avi probably because of the audio problem but displays a -vo error not.

     Gmplayer shows an audio sub-display when given the command .....gmplayer -zoom -fs but does not start due to ...error in initializing the -vo device....

     What needs to be done to correct either of the two methods of using mplayer?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#2 2004-01-30 06:13:42

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: No audio in mplayer

big_smile  smile

     Discovered a new wrinkle to the problem.  I do get mplayer with audio in alternate user log in.(divx-mp3)

     However, the gmplayer still balks at video display as well as audio.

    Do I have a permissions problem?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2004-01-30 06:26:58

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: No audio in mplayer

maybe you are muted some channels in this user ... check with a good mixer (aumix, kmix ...)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-01-30 17:33:58

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: No audio in mplayer

big_smile  smile dp;

    Kmix is fine no mutes.  Audio and video fine in user log in: not so in root...video but no audio in mplayer.

     Gmplayer  (GUI mode)  neither root nor user mode has video or audio.  Kmix good in both user and root.

     Man mplayer states " gmplayer has same options as mplayer".

      Why no correlation between the two for mplayer but full correlation for gmplayer(both bad).?????

     Need help!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#5 2004-01-30 21:25:56

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: No audio in mplayer

are you maybe running esd or artsd ?

try

killall artsd

if you are running kde3.2rc because it's artsd sometimes cannot suspend properly


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-01-30 22:21:07

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: No audio in mplayer

big_smile  smile

    dp; It must be running correctly or it wouldn't play in user log in which it does do, both video and audio!

    Something isn't right in root for the mplayer audio only. 

     Video plays in root and in user, mplayer.

     Neither user nor root plays any video or audio in gmplayer.

     What causes no audio in mplayer-root mode and why no gmplayer performance in either user or root.?????


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#7 2004-01-30 23:19:09

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: No audio in mplayer

lilsirecho wrote:

     What causes no audio in mplayer-root mode and...

it is a general dangerous idea to use mplayer as root ... at least for me, i would never try to use mplayer as root --- if it works for you in the users, then maybe this no-sound is a feature of mplayer telling root, that it should not run it  (ironically meant wink )


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB