You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-29 06:41:54

fazo96
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

Hello, although netctl works fine, I wanted to handle my connection using a nice GUI, so I have been able to get networkmanager to connect to my cabled lan successfully (I don't have wifi), it starts automatically at boot but this happens:
This is the output of "systemctl status NetworkManager" that i get if I run the command just after boot

08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <info> (enp3s0): device state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none') [90 100 0]
08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <info> NetworkManager state is now CONNECTED_GLOBAL
08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <error> [1380435735.487986] [nm-system.c:965] add_ip4_route_to_gateway(): (enp3s0): failed to add IPv4 route to gateway (-12)
08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <info> Policy set 'Connessione via cavo 1' (enp3s0) as default for IPv4 routing and DNS.
08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <info> Writing DNS information to /usr/bin/resolvconf
08:22:15 NetworkManager[237]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) successful, device activated.
08:22:19 NetworkManager[237]: <info> (enp3s0): device state change: activated -> unavailable (reason 'carrier-changed') [100 20 40]
08:22:19 NetworkManager[237]: <info> (enp3s0): deactivating device (reason 'carrier-changed') [40]
08:22:19 NetworkManager[237]: <info> Removing DNS information from /usr/bin/resolvconf

And then the GUI tells me "cable disconnected" and the connection obviously doesn't work unless I run "systemctl restart NetworkManager": NetworkManager restarts and everything is fixed and it connects perfectly and automatically right after, with this ouput:

08:23:41 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Configure Commit) scheduled...
08:23:41 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) complete.
08:23:41 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) started...
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> (enp3s0): device state change: ip-config -> secondaries (reason 'none') [70 90 0]
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) complete.
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> (enp3s0): device state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none') [90 100 0]
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> NetworkManager state is now CONNECTED_GLOBAL
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Policy set 'Connessione via cavo 1' (enp3s0) as default for IPv4 routing and DNS.
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Writing DNS information to /usr/bin/resolvconf
08:23:42 Fazo-PC NetworkManager[905]: <info> Activation (enp3s0) successful, device activated.

I checked and no other network services such as netctl, netcfg and dhcpd are enabled.
I found this: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … ait_Online but I don't think it's my problem. I think it has something to do with timing and the solution is pretty simple. Or I could just put a script on autorun that restarts it...

Last edited by fazo96 (2013-10-05 23:12:51)

Offline

#2 2013-09-29 08:53:34

jrussell
Member
From: Cape Town, South Africa
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 510

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

It's best to use code tags when posting lots of output:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

Makes things more readable.

What is the actual issue here?

Edit: I cant really see whats wrong from your post
Are you sure NetworkManager.service is enabled?
run:

systemctl enable NetworkManager

This will enable NetworkManager and make it start on boot.
If that doesnt work, could you post the output of:

systemctl status NetworkManager

Last edited by jrussell (2013-09-29 08:57:01)


bitcoin: 1G62YGRFkMDwhGr5T5YGovfsxLx44eZo7U

Offline

#3 2013-09-29 12:31:44

fazo96
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

jrussell wrote:

It's best to use code tags when posting lots of output:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

Makes things more readable.

What is the actual issue here?

Edit: I cant really see whats wrong from your post
Are you sure NetworkManager.service is enabled?
run:

systemctl enable NetworkManager

This will enable NetworkManager and make it start on boot.
If that doesnt work, could you post the output of:

systemctl status NetworkManager

I fixed my post and I explained the issue better. Basically NetworkManager starts on boot, but it doesn't connect properly and then it says my cable is disconnected (it isn't). If I restart it manually using "systemctl restart NetworkManager" it restarts and then connects without issues automatically.
I'm trying to find out why it fails the first time.

Offline

#4 2013-09-29 16:11:53

torors
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

Check "systemctl status dhcpcd". If dhcpcd is enabeled, disable when using NetworkManager.
You may also try netctl to see if the problem is related ony to NetworkManager.

Offline

#5 2013-09-30 12:25:44

fazo96
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

torors wrote:

Check "systemctl status dhcpcd". If dhcpcd is enabeled, disable when using NetworkManager.
You may also try netctl to see if the problem is related ony to NetworkManager.

I already know the problem is related to networkmanager only (netctl works fine) and as I mentioned before, I have already disabled netctl, netcfg, dhcpd.

Offline

#6 2013-09-30 22:00:20

torors
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

Sorry. I probably read your post too fast.
Looks like a bug in NM. Wicd provides a nice GUI and is a good alternative to NM and netctl

Offline

#7 2013-10-03 10:02:29

fazo96
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

torors wrote:

Sorry. I probably read your post too fast.
Looks like a bug in NM. Wicd provides a nice GUI and is a good alternative to NM and netctl

Yes I know, I tried it on my laptop smile But I wanted something that integrates really well with gnome's GUI and theme, and networkmanager is perfect. I only turn on my PC in the morning and turn it off in the evening, so I don't mind having to write one command in the terminal every time. Maybe someone has a solution though.

I will post again if I find out how to fix it or if it's fixed, and then I'll mark it as solved.

Offline

#8 2013-10-05 23:12:28

fazo96
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] I have to manually restart NetworkManager every time I boot

Turns out I was an idiot for not disabling "netctl@profile" in systemd. Doing that solved the problem. This thread can be deleted since there was no issue to begin with, just me not doing what the wiki said.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB