You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-13 21:23:51

ceauke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 7

Cant use search in surf

Hi guys

I can't believe I ask this but here goes.
I'm using arch 64, dwm and surf. (inside vmware)
However, I can only start surf with a web addres:  (ALT-P)surf www.archlinux.org(ENTER)
and then from there navigate with mouse clicks. All good.
I noticed that CTRL-F lets me type in the dmenu status bar but when I press ENTER nothing happens. No searching, no CTRL-N results.
First I thought that maybe the find is broken but then I realised that I can't give a new url to surf with ATL-G.
Again, I can type in the statusbar but when I press enter, it just shows the tabs again and it's not loading the page.
It's like it's ignoring my enter presses, or treating them like ESC.

Any ideas?
I read the man pages for both dwm and surf and none mentions even my ENTER key :-)

Also not easy to search for surf as an app considering that it's a verb as well :-s

Last edited by ceauke (2013-05-13 21:38:00)

Offline

#2 2013-05-13 21:32:22

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,352
Website

Re: Cant use search in surf

Please edit your thread title to make it specific and remove the leet speek stuff: it just annoys people...

So dmenu works to launch surf, but doesn't work after that? Ctrl-f must be a surf keybinding, because it is not a (default) dwm or dmenu one... It sounds like you are confusing applications and their input methods.

Paste your configs so people can get a sense of how you have set things up.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2013-05-13 21:40:59

ceauke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 7

Re: Cant use search in surf

The thing is, I'm not sure how it is supposed to work.

The man page says Ctrl-F and Ctrl-G will open the search bar and URL-Bar respectively. All I see is that it allows me to type where the tab numbers are. I assumed that's the status bar.

Which config files can I investigate? I didn't modify any though.

Thansk.

Offline

#4 2013-05-13 21:59:39

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,352
Website

Re: Cant use search in surf

So Ctrl-f searches within the opened web page for a text match and Ctrl-g opens the URL bar to navigate to another page? That is what it sounds like to me.

I haven't used surf, so you will have to wait for someone who has to show up...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2013-07-13 16:11:13

gagnonlg
Member
Registered: 2013-05-15
Posts: 2

Re: Cant use search in surf

If anybody still has this problem, installing the 'xorg-xprop' package fixed the issue for me.

Offline

#6 2013-07-13 19:01:41

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Cant use search in surf

In that case xorg-xprop is a missing dependency!! I've added it in my surf-git package. Thanks!!

Last edited by Army (2013-07-13 19:05:13)

Offline

#7 2013-07-14 12:18:27

ceauke
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 7

Re: Cant use search in surf

gagnonlg wrote:

If anybody still has this problem, installing the 'xorg-xprop' package fixed the issue for me.

Thanks, this worked for me

Offline

#8 2013-10-01 01:41:19

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 181
Website

Re: Cant use search in surf

I already have xorg-xprop and dmenu installed, but gith ctrl+f I write what I want to search, enter, but nothing happens..

Last edited by hariskar (2013-10-01 05:25:36)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB