You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-03 21:21:58

Marcus_78
Member
Registered: 2013-10-03
Posts: 5

Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Hi everybody,

im am new to Arch Linux and got a problem. I use the Nvidia proprietary driver and changed the resolution in the grub file (/etc/default/grub) for the grub menu and updated grub (grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg). The problem is that i can choose arch in the grub menu but the system freezes at the output "Loading initial ramdisk" now. So I booted the System with a Live-CD and tried to edit the grub.cfg in the /boot/ directory but the directory is empty now.

I hope you can help me with that. I am using EFI.

Thank you in advance for your help,
Marcus

Last edited by Marcus_78 (2013-10-03 21:22:16)

Offline

#2 2013-10-03 21:27:37

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Are you using a separate partition for /boot? Is it properly mounted?

Offline

#3 2013-10-03 21:27:42

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,364
Website

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Is /boot a separate partition? Some details about your setup would help.


Not a Sysadmin issue, moving to NC...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2013-10-03 21:33:44

Marcus_78
Member
Registered: 2013-10-03
Posts: 5

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

No, I don't use a separate partition for /boot.
Sorry for posting in the wrong category.

Offline

#5 2013-10-04 01:09:40

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Well is / properly mounted e.g. at /mnt? And are you looking in /mnt/boot?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2013-10-04 08:47:11

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Marcus_78 wrote:

So I booted the System with a Live-CD and tried to edit the grub.cfg in the /boot/ directory but the directory is empty now.

You are probably looking at the /boot directory of the Live-CD instead of the /boot directory of your installation. See post #5 by cfr.

Offline

#7 2013-10-04 21:33:03

derekArch
Member
Registered: 2013-02-02
Posts: 22

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

Sometimes I get this error, and I fix it like this: take out the LiveCD and try letting grub boot up on timeout, meaning don't explicitly select an OS, don't press or click anything, just let it auto boot.

Last edited by derekArch (2013-10-04 21:34:00)

Offline

#8 2013-10-05 09:39:01

dabholkarsa
Member
From: Chandannagar, India
Registered: 2013-10-02
Posts: 18

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

teateawhy wrote:
Marcus_78 wrote:

So I booted the System with a Live-CD and tried to edit the grub.cfg in the /boot/ directory but the directory is empty now.

You are probably looking at the /boot directory of the Live-CD instead of the /boot directory of your installation. See post #5 by cfr.

teateawhy is probably correct. Insert your Arch Live CD/USB again,

mkdir -p /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sdX /mnt
mount /dev/sdY /mnt/boot
arch-chroot /mnt
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot --bootloader-id=arch_grub --recheck
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

You can edit the grub.cfg as you want to before the grub-mkconfig.

Last edited by dabholkarsa (2013-10-05 15:28:25)


Keep It Simple, Stupid

Offline

#9 2013-10-05 10:13:41

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

dabholkarsa wrote:

mount /dev/sdX /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sdY /mnt

Correct me if i am wrong, but you have to mount in the correct order, see
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Be … partitions

Offline

#10 2013-10-05 15:29:04

dabholkarsa
Member
From: Chandannagar, India
Registered: 2013-10-02
Posts: 18

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

teateawhy wrote:
dabholkarsa wrote:

mount /dev/sdX /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sdY /mnt

Correct me if i am wrong, but you have to mount in the correct order, see
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Be … partitions

Yup, sorry! Corrected my mistake!


Keep It Simple, Stupid

Offline

#11 2013-10-05 21:11:27

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: Updated Grub -> /boot/ is empty

dabholkarsa wrote:

You can edit the grub.cfg as you want to before the grub-mkconfig.

Strictly speaking, this is true. You can. It is just pointless since grub-mkconfig will overwrite your edits. You want to edit /etc/default/grub and/or /etc/grub.d/* if you are going to use grub-mkconfig.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB