You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-07 09:44:25

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Update broke sane

Some update over the weekend seems to have broken sane on my system
The error message is

strlst.c:426: avahi_string_list_get_pair: Assertion `l' failed.

I googled the error but could only find a suggestion to remove --enable-avahi and recompile.

Can anyone help?

Linux 3.11.4-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Oct 5 21:22:51 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Epson scanner
Avahi daemon running
Groups includes scanner

Thanks

Andrew

Last edited by fdservices (2013-10-08 11:22:04)

Offline

#2 2013-10-07 09:55:06

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,662

Re: Update broke sane

See thread - check you are in "lp" group.

Offline

#3 2013-10-07 11:16:42

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

Yes I am in the lp group and my sane was working up until last weekend with no problems. So I do not think that post is relevant.

Thanks anyway

Andrew

Offline

#4 2013-10-07 12:24:47

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

Well, panic over, I downgraded to the 1.0.23 version of Sane and it worked. I then upgraded again through 1.0.24-1 to 1.0.24-2 and it is all working again.

Don't ask me why, must have been a problem with my upgrade, but there was no error noted.

Andrew

Offline

#5 2013-10-08 11:24:19

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

Well sane broke again today, no idea what is going on. Downgraded to 1.0.23-6 and it is working again.

I will leave it at this package for the moment and see if it breaks again.

Andrew

Offline

#6 2013-10-15 08:25:47

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

This is strange, does no one else have the same problem?

Annoyingly I cannot file a bug report since the bug reporting site, alioth.debian.org, won't let me complete my registration. Anyone know how to file a bug about a bug site? smile

Andrew

Offline

#7 2013-10-15 11:25:36

cjazz
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 47

Re: Update broke sane

I had the same problem, with the same error message you reported, after updating sane from 1.0.23-7 to 1.0.24-1 last week. The subsequent update to 1.0.24-2 failed to solve the problem. I'm in a rough patch right now, as far as work is concerned, but when I get my head above water, I'll visit the bug site and try to file a bug report.

In the meantime, however, the "solution" made reference to in the first post works fine for me. Removing the line "--enable avahi" from the package build has worked flawlessly, both when I recompiled sane using abs and when installing sane-git from the AUR. You never mentioned whether you had tried that.

Offline

#8 2013-10-15 11:50:17

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

No, I did not try that, but downgrading has revealed no problems for me.

Sorry/Glad to hear you had the same problem though. Thought it was just me.

Andrew

Offline

#9 2013-10-15 11:53:39

DingoStar
Member
Registered: 2013-10-15
Posts: 2

Re: Update broke sane

I had exactly the same problem. Once I added my user to the scanner group, logged out, logged back in, the issue was resolved!

Offline

#10 2013-10-15 11:57:12

mzneverdies
Member
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 147

Re: Update broke sane

Same problem, luckily I haev another un-updated machine on my network from where I can scan.

I had exactly the same problem. Once I added my user to the scanner group, logged out, logged back in, the issue was resolved!

I'm already on the scanner group, but I haven't tested sane for a few days now, so I'll try again, but witouth much hope.

Last edited by mzneverdies (2013-10-15 11:58:44)

Offline

#11 2013-10-15 12:20:41

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

You can downgrade by running

# pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/sane-1.0.23-7-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

or whichever version is in your  /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ cache

Andrew

Offline

#12 2013-10-15 12:22:40

DingoStar
Member
Registered: 2013-10-15
Posts: 2

Re: Update broke sane

Spoke too soon. I rebooted the PC and now I am getting the same error again! I had to downgrade sane to 1.0.23-7 for now till a resolution is found.

Offline

#13 2013-10-15 13:01:12

cjazz
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 47

Re: Update broke sane

fdservices wrote:

Sorry/Glad to hear you had the same problem though. Thought it was just me.

Andrew

Sorry/Glad to oblige smile

Offline

#14 2013-10-15 20:39:46

Pafrapé
Member
Registered: 2010-10-25
Posts: 13

Re: Update broke sane

Good evening.

If it reassures you, I have exactly the same problem since the update sane.
I had to reinstall the previous version.

My scanner is an all in one EPSON XP-750.

Offline

#15 2013-10-16 08:17:04

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

That might be relevant, mine is also an Epson All-in-One DX4400

Andrew

Offline

#16 2013-10-16 08:19:51

Pafrapé
Member
Registered: 2010-10-25
Posts: 13

Re: Update broke sane

I posted the error message on the site designers sane.
While waiting for their response, so I'll stay on the old version.

Offline

#17 2013-10-16 21:44:38

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Update broke sane

Same problem here with both Hewlett Packard all-in-one 6500 and Xerox Workcentre 3119.

Downgrading sane has not fixed the problem. Now xsane is starting but both scanners are not recognized.

Last edited by hifi25nl (2013-10-16 21:44:52)

Offline

#18 2013-10-17 08:23:05

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

Did you downgrade to 1.0.23-?

Andrew

Offline

#19 2013-10-17 09:37:24

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Update broke sane

Yes, but same problem.

Offline

#20 2013-10-17 09:58:52

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

That is very odd, HP is usually pretty straightfoward

Have you checked that the printer has been found
$ lsusb
Is the scanner there? what is returned by
$ scanimage -L
Can you check the sane version installed
$ scanimage -V

Andrew

Offline

#21 2013-10-17 12:33:42

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Update broke sane

sorry..moving computer the cable were disconnected...
Version 1.0.23 is working fine!

Offline

#22 2013-10-17 13:14:21

fdservices
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-02-06
Posts: 399

Re: Update broke sane

Excellent

Andrew

Offline

#23 2013-10-19 12:11:22

jbernardo
Member
From: http://systemd-free.org/
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 26

Re: Update broke sane

I had the same issues with a Epson Office BX305FW Plus, the downgrade seems to work for now for XSane, but iscan is still broken, gives an error claiming the scanner gave a timeout.

Offline

#24 2013-10-20 14:52:30

lasombra
Member
From: Luzern
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 66

Re: Update broke sane

Downgrading to 1.0.23 helped. Thanks a lot

Offline

#25 2013-10-27 17:11:17

splats
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 12

Re: Update broke sane

This problem exists for sane-1.0.24-2-x86_64  on an HP 8600.    Downgrading to sane-1.0.23-7-x86_64 corrects the problem.

(just weighing in)


-- Splats.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB