You are not logged in.

#1 2003-10-20 00:32:15

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

hotplug??

hi
i`ve run hwd and it tells me that hotplug is not running, so its probably quite simple (i hope) but how do i run it ??
i`m gettin a bit desperate to run my usb modem now.

another small problem i have is how to get my wheel to work on my ms mouse, i`ve enabled it  but still no joy.

Offline

#2 2003-10-20 01:37:16

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: hotplug??

Well, install Hotplug using the package from ftp.archlinux.org/incoming

Untar the tarball, and do:

pacman -A [packagename].pkg.tar.gz

Then to run it, do (as root):

/etc/rc.d/hotplug start


No idea about your modem.


And on your mouse, read the Arch FAQ, it explains it nicely.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#3 2003-10-20 01:58:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: hotplug??

pcs333 wrote:

.....to run my usb modem .....to get my wheel to work on my ms mouse

1. USB MODEM
HWD's expert mode will not setup your modem automatically but shows what usb modules are available. Currently I am developing one net & modem script, but I am still studying how its done manually.

2. WHEEL MOUSE
HWD creates one sample XF86Config.hwd file. Rename to /etc/X11/XF86Config. If you have an USB mouse, add module usb-ohci or usb-uhci (according to your system) in /etc/rc.conf. To test, run:
# modprobe usb-ohci (or usb-uhci)

Offline

#4 2003-10-20 10:40:02

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

Re: hotplug??

thanks for the info guys i`ll give it a go  big_smile

Offline

#5 2003-10-20 10:43:08

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: hotplug??

If you run hotplug with HWD, no need to run: /etc/rc.d/hotplug start.
HWD does it automatically.

Offline

#6 2003-10-21 10:14:26

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

Re: hotplug??

thanks for the help guys
i`ve managed to get my mouse working ok now, ohh and my soundcard.
rasat; your hwd was a great help  big_smile 

only trouble i`ve got now is still my usb modem, think this 1 is gonna take me a while to sort out, but i`ll get there.......eventually.  lol

Offline

#7 2003-10-21 11:47:35

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: hotplug??

pcs333 wrote:

only trouble i`ve got now is still my usb modem, think this 1 is gonna take me a while to sort out, but i`ll get there.......eventually.

If you get your modem to work, please let me know.

Offline

#8 2003-10-27 10:29:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: hotplug??

Maybe this will help to setup usb modem:
http://www.linux-usb.org/USB-guide/x332.html

Run in root:
# modprobe acm
# mknod /dev/usb/ttyACM0 c 166 0
# ln -s /dev/usb/ttyACM0 /dev/modem

Open Kppp (KDE dial up)
Select <Device> and set /dev/modem, <Setup><Modem><Query Modem>

<b>OR try this page:</b>
http://freewebhosting.hostdepartment.co … blist.html

PS.
I bought one USB modem Aztech UM9100-U. The module and setup I got from the above page. Works fine.

Offline

#9 2003-11-06 16:29:45

pcs333
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 31

Re: hotplug??

thanks rasat
mines a webstar cable modem will this work with cable modems ??
i`ll give it a try anyway cheers  big_smile

Offline

#10 2004-01-31 22:52:05

cbozic
Member
From: Morgantown, WV, USA
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 77

Re: hotplug??

I also have a usb modem and have recently installed the 2.6 kernel.  When I follow rasat's instructions and run

#modprobe acm

...I get the error message: "FATAL: Module acm not found."

What is the best way for me to get this module in the 2.6 kernel?

Thanks

Offline

#11 2004-01-31 23:46:07

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: hotplug??

look through /lib/modules/2.6.1 for the module or what it has been renamed to.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#12 2004-01-31 23:54:25

cbozic
Member
From: Morgantown, WV, USA
Registered: 2004-01-31
Posts: 77

Re: hotplug??

Module acm is called cdc_acm under the 2.6 kernel.

Thanks for the help!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB